Moparts

AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question

Posted By: VITC_GTX

AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 01:04 AM

I've never used AN fittings before (don't care for the look). I'm doing some oiling mods to an AMC engine and need to use AN.

Question is: Can you interchange different brands of fittings and hoses as long as they are all the same size (e.g. -6)?
Posted By: topside

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 01:18 AM

I prefer to use the same brand. Years ago I had a Russel-to-Earl's connection and they were slightly different enough male/female threads that I could tell.

That may have been an anomaly.
Surely others will reply.
Posted By: BloFish

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 01:38 AM

You can, but I don’t.
Posted By: moparjim79

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 01:56 AM

If you want to keep it simple and cheap, and have quick, highly availible parts, go to a hydraulic shop and get jic fittings

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 02:26 AM

Thanks guys.

Van
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 06:10 AM

Make sure and use the same brand for the hose and fittings, I use the Teflon line hoses for all oil and fuel lines, it will hold a lot more pressure and with stand a lot more heat than the other non-Teflon line type AN hoses will up scope wrench It is smaller in diameter and lighter also up Not as flexible though shruggy work
Posted By: 6PakBee

Re: AN Fittings/Hose - Quick Question - 02/05/24 02:10 PM

Originally Posted by VITC_GTX
I've never used AN fittings before (don't care for the look). I'm doing some oiling mods to an AMC engine and need to use AN.

Question is: Can you interchange different brands of fittings and hoses as long as they are all the same size (e.g. -6)?

Answer: Yes. The dimensions of AN fittings are determined by specifications that all vendors adhere to.