Moparts

Figuring out pushrod length for roller cam

Posted By: bigblk66_coronet

Figuring out pushrod length for roller cam - 12/26/22 11:39 PM

Hey guys i need some guidence here. I'm building a 512 and was talked into switching to a roller cam not realizing what all was involved in doing that, I bought a Howards 565 lift hydraulic roller can and i ordered 1.5 Harland Sharp Roller rockers. I need to figure out pushrod length and i have no clue how to go about it. from what i understand you have to have an adjustable pushrod tool right? Well it looks like there is different lengths? How do i figure all this out. This roller can stuff is all new to me. I've been running a 292 purple shaft for 30 years. Im an old school guy and just sticks with what works. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The pushrods are the only thing left before i can finish the motor. Anyone? I'm an old school guy and don't like change and man have i paid for it...lol
Posted By: Stanton

Re: Figuring out pushrod length for roller cam - 12/27/22 12:07 AM

The adjustable pushrods have about a 1/2" of adjustment so "close" will work.

Snug down a bank of rockers. Pick a rocker and adjust it so there are two threads showing on the bottom. Get the corresponding lifter on the cam base circle. with the rocker firm against the valve, use a thin tape measure to measure from the pushrod cup in the lifter the the bottom of the adjuster. Whatever that measurement is you'll want an adjustable pushrod with that measurement at the midpoint. This will give you wiggle room either way to determine the exact length you're going to need.
Posted By: AndyF

Re: Figuring out pushrod length for roller cam - 12/27/22 01:13 AM

Take one of your old pushrods and try it. It will most likely be too long but it will give you an idea. If you have a buddy with some tools you can turn an old pushrod into an adjustable pushrod. You just cut it in half and then thread it and use a long set screw as the adjuster.