Moparts

Is this a real tag

Posted By: gygeneral

Is this a real tag - 10/27/20 01:03 PM

Something on this tag bothers me, is it me? Its the 26, i've never seen it positioned in that location. Always on the top near the END.

Attached picture rr  tag sold at barrett.jpg
Posted By: Mastershake340

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/27/20 01:15 PM

I'm no expert but the way the "5" in J52 and the R in R11 are offset higher looks fishy to me, I believe on legit tags the characters are always aligned horizontally.

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/27/20 01:17 PM

This car sold at Barrett Jackson over the weekend for 110k, that will make 71B body guys happy. The only thing I am thinking this is a Windsor built car, maybe their tags were different
Posted By: fastmark

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/27/20 02:21 PM

I’m sure Dan will chime in but nothing about that one looks correct to me.
Posted By: Butterscotch71

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/28/20 01:08 AM

Norm. looks like a repop, but I don't see anything wrong with the codes (or order of the codes). SPD and VON seem to fall in line with other Windsor cars I have with close VINs.
Posted By: MoparMike1974

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/28/20 06:06 AM

It also does not have the crease from where it was folded over for painting. Most (not all) tags will have this.
Posted By: Slotts

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/28/20 09:24 AM

When the car at the factory was being painted, the fender tag was first mounted with the right screw in place and bent up slightly to allow the underneath of the inner fender surface to be painted. Then the left screw was fastened with another swipe of paint. The upper right hand corner usually had a 45 degree angle crease by the right screw from bending the tag.

Jim
Posted By: MI_Custumz

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/28/20 09:52 AM

First thing that stuck out to me (no expert by any means), was the C all by itself to the left of the 26.

Re: Is this a real tag - 10/28/20 12:51 PM

Originally Posted by MI_Custumz