Moparts

LCA's worn out/junk?

Posted By: 83hurstguy

LCA's worn out/junk? - 03/19/20 01:20 PM

I am new to Mopar, we are working through our first front suspension rebuild on a '70 Challenger. We put new bushings in the LCA, put it back on the car, and realized we still have a bunch of play out near the spindle.

Take a look at this video... the LCA hole appears to be oversized where the torsion bar sleeve passes through it, and it has slop there. Is this a common issue with these? I'm assuming it's not fixable, the arm is junk and we'll need a replacement? There's no play from the new bushing that's on the pin in the K-member from what we can tell, it's all in this area.

Thanks in advance!
Posted By: burdar

Re: LCA's worn out/junk? - 03/19/20 01:37 PM

Pretty common. The LCA isn't "worn out". It was just built that way. (sloppy) Those two pieces don't move independently from each other once the ride height it set. My Dart LCA was the same way. I welded a small strap to the back side to tighten things up. Not sure that it actually does much of anything but it made me feel better. Once there is a load on the LCA from the torsion bars and the strut rod is installed, my guess is that movement will go away.
Posted By: Kowal

Re: LCA's worn out/junk? - 03/19/20 02:16 PM

I just had to pull one because the bushing had failed. A friend had a NOS piece, with the stock tag still on it. Similar slop. I think your piece is fine.