Moparts

Bias Ply Balancing

Posted By: njmopar

Bias Ply Balancing - 04/16/19 02:00 AM

I am no expert but I have balanced my share of radial tires in the past. I am lucky enough to have access to a Hunter road force machine and got quite good at force matching tires to minimize the mass of wheel weights. I like the challenge of getting a true wheel balance.
With this said I decided to put E70-14 Goodyear Redlines (Kelsey) on my GTS. I just plain like the look of the bias on the older cars. I know the benefits of radials, just wanted that vintage sidewall look. I checked the trueness of my bare rims and 4 were very good, one had a slight runout variation, but still within spec. I decided to use that one on my spare tire.
Today I finally got around to mounting and balancing the tires. I did the spare rim today and was faced with a major challenge. Road force was a massive 48 lbs. After some runout checks and spinning on the rim I got it down to 31 lbs. I just cant get it any better after about an hours on one rim (lost count of how many times I broke the bead to spin the tire). The spin balance reading is about 350g on the inner and 400g on the outer. That is pretty crazy. No way I am putting that much weight on my rims, that would look ridiculous.
Are bias ply repros that out of balance? I can see the sidewall variations as the road force drum does its work. I just ordered a pack of Counteract balancing beads in an attempt to cut down on the weight.
Posted By: calrobb2000

Re: Bias Ply Balancing - 04/16/19 03:40 AM

hi try another tire that one mabe defective , ad a goodyear polyglass that was wayyy off once !
Posted By: GTX MATT

Re: Bias Ply Balancing - 04/16/19 03:51 AM

I don't have any firsthand experience with the Kelsey/Goodyears but I've HEARD from several people they are really bad to balance.

I didn't balance myself but my Cokers haven't had what I thought was excessive weight on them, and my bias slicks haven't either.
Posted By: 71birdJ68