Moparts

hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed.

Posted By: mopar muscle7271

hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 12:55 AM

I have no back brakes on my 71 dart.non brake booster car.I got one of those brake vacuum bleeder kits.still couldnt no fluid to come out of bleeder.tried havin someone pump the brake pedal still nothing.the brake pedal is very stiff i have a new brake master cylinder on and lines.what could it be?
Posted By: aspenrt360

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:01 AM

did you bleed the master before install? is it a disc or drum brake car? there are different masters for them one has a larger piston and one is smaller on manual brakes the diference will affect pedal feel. i have also have blocked lines and distribution blocks before.
Posted By: stumpy

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:05 AM

First thing is are you getting pressure out of both master cylinder ports? If you are then work your way from there back to the rear brakes to see where the stoppage is. If not be sure the rod from the pedal to the MC is adjusted right. Has this always been a manual brake car?

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:10 AM

I had a shop put in while it was gettin painted,redid lines to.car was always a manual brake car.disc in front and drum in rear.

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:16 AM

Seems if the shop put it in then they should make it work correctly.

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:26 AM

Definitely right on that,they didn't.though they just needed to bleed.seems to be more than that now.

Re: hard brake pedal and cant get the back brakes to bleed. - 02/27/19 01:29 AM

Like I said start at the master cylinder and work your way back.
Posted By: Supercuda