Moparts

Installing vinyl stripe questions

Posted By: HemiStan

Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/21/15 03:25 PM

I am going to install the stripe on my Super Bee this afternoon. I was reading the instructions and it states to leave the paper on the stripe for approximately 3 hours after installation before removing it to allow for proper adhesion.
I have installed a few stripes and I do not ever remember having to leave the paper on for three hours before removing it.

Does that sound right?

Thanks!

Stan
Posted By: stumpy

Re: Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/21/15 03:55 PM

Seems the manufacture would best know how to apply there own product.
Posted By: ChallengerGary

Re: Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/23/15 01:47 PM

That is basically to allow any moisture that may still be in there to evaporate and to prevent an amateur/novice from doing something bad. I do vinyl graphics for a living and never leave the paper on because I know "the feel" of the material and don't worry about ruining the graphics by lifting/stretching the material away from the car while removing the transfer tape. I've had plenty of do-it-yourself people come to me and watch me do it and say, "man, you make it look so easy, I already ruined one set of graphics trying to do it myself."
Posted By: screamindriver

Re: Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/23/15 03:35 PM

Best advice for a first time I can give is : Don't pull the paper off straight up perpendicular to the car's surface..Angle it back almost against itself while peeling the paper it has less of a chance to lift the decal....
Posted By: mopargem

Re: Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/23/15 05:15 PM

I've done a lot of stripes and this is good advice to remove at a sharp angle. Also never wait three hours
Posted By: Challenger 1

Re: Installing vinyl stripe questions - 08/23/15 05:23 PM

Originally Posted By ChallengerGary