Moparts

replacing ammeter with a volt meter?

Posted By: NEVjr

replacing ammeter with a volt meter? - 09/30/14 12:16 AM

i am looking to upgrade the alternator on my 62 valiant, and i would like to make the ammeter into a volt meter.

i am an electrician by trade and i understand the theory of both types of meters, and i know how to do the conversion on a portable analog ammeter, but i am baffled by the spare ammeter i have in front of me, it seems to have no coil, and the shunt is the aluminium gauge face?

i would like to keep the original gauge, is there a conversion kit or anything available?

thanks
Posted By: Cudajon

Re: replacing ammeter with a volt meter? - 09/30/14 01:34 AM

Amp to volts Try this, see if it helps.

Re: replacing ammeter with a volt meter? - 09/30/14 03:38 AM

that is a pretty good solution if you ask me
Posted By: ahy

Re: replacing ammeter with a volt meter? - 09/30/14 05:38 AM

Two basic approaches I know of. 1) Pull the guts of an aftermarket voltmeter and install in your cluster 2) Have gauge shop do it (and silkscreen the volt markings).

Both can work... I did the latter and it works great. MA had an article on the DIY method... maybe check back issues.
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: replacing ammeter with a volt meter? - 09/30/14 08:32 AM