06/10/10 02:44 PM
06/10/10 02:44 PM
garden grove, CA
J
justchillin562 Offline OP
justchillin562  Offline OP
J

garden grove, CA
first i would like to say that im new to moparts and to the classic car scene... i would like to say that id just purchase a 1950 dodge coronet gyromatic trans... and would like to know what kind of motor swap can i do to the car without modifying any engine brackets just to make fit.. i want a straight swap... i herd that you can swap out to a small block hemi... but would that do any good...as you all know the coronet is very very slow... obviously its a cruiser car.. but i would like to make it go at least past 70mph at times... and where can i get upgraded suspensions... cos i feel like im driving a big o boat on the street....hahaha... but please if you guys out there can help me out and give me some suggestions or links to where i can get these that would be nice.... thank you all and hope to hear from yallz... i live here in orange county california... so any place here close would be nice... thanks again

Re: hey guys i need help [Re: justchillin562] #720617
06/10/10 09:54 PM
06/10/10 09:54 PM
Freeport IL USA
poorboy Offline
I Live Here
poorboy  Offline
I Live Here

Freeport IL USA
Welcome to Moparts.

You will find, nearly anything you might ever want to do with your car has been covered here before. For all practical purposes, almost all info you find covering any Mopar between 38 or 39 and 54 will be able to be applied to your car. There is a bunch of info on here covering the 46-48 cars, most of that info applies to your car.

The flathead 6 was a good reliable motor. It can be upgraded to increase the power output, as long as its in good shape. Splitting the exhaust manifold and adding a second exhaust exit to make your exhaust into dual exhaust helps a lot. You can also split the intake manifold and add a second carb.