03/25/23 08:11 PM
Castlegar, BC, Canada
That AMC Guy Offline OP
master
That AMC Guy  Offline OP
master

Castlegar, BC, Canada
Originally Posted by lilcuda

My question is, why didn’t you do the work yourself and save the headache?

#1 I don't have a lift.
#2 I don't have a welder
#3 I'm a very poor welder even if one were provided to me.

In regards to the brakes:

#1 I don't have the tool to cut swedges
#2 I don't have a drill press to be able to cleanly drill out the old studs
#3 I figure since it was at the shop to get some welding done.... why not?

And this has been the crux of my existence. I have the skill to do all the mechanical stuff, but I lack the tools necessary to do so. I wish I were rich enough to afford all this stuff and maybe that's why I'm thinking about staying where I am. Sure, it's minimum wage, BUT the boss has said he'd consider giving me Saturday's off to attend car show stuff AND the staff discount we get is cost +10%. That's on both auto parts AND tools, be they Makita, Jet, Milwaukee, etc.

I'm actually still eyeing a full-size, 2.5 ton floor jack that'll only set me back about $300. And a drill press my cost is only $500. So, there's perks to staying where I am.

I think I've made my decision. Like some of you have said, there's always gonna be "that guy" and sometimes working somewhere where it's calm and quiet is worth a lot more than having to deal with an idiot at work all day for more money. Funny how a lot of us here think alike. I too had labelled this guy with the "Chevy" mentality.

Last edited by That AMC Guy; 03/25/23 08:14 PM.

Bloody Mary, Full of Vodka, Blessed art thou among cocktails....

Re: Ever have one of those experiences.... [Re: That AMC Guy] #3132324
03/25/23 09:24 PM
03/25/23 09:24 PM
Fresno, CA
Jim_Lusk Offline
I Live Here
Jim_Lusk  Offline
I Live Here

Fresno, CA
Let's see, been doing this for "50 years". Means he's pushing 70...