Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rear brakes #3097424
11/26/22 11:08 PM
11/26/22 11:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,371
CA.
RAY1969CARS Offline OP
pro stock
RAY1969CARS  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,371
CA.
Hi guys I'm running drums on the rear

Question is do I have too have the e brake cables or mechanism attached and if I don’t, what are the pros and cons

Re: Rear brakes [Re: RAY1969CARS] #3097427
11/26/22 11:24 PM
11/26/22 11:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 872
C
CrazyD Offline
super stock
CrazyD  Offline
super stock
C

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 872
May be required to be operational to pass state inspection.

Re: Rear brakes [Re: CrazyD] #3097464
11/27/22 08:16 AM
11/27/22 08:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,457
Niles , Ohio
T
therocks Offline
Its Lost
therocks  Offline
Its Lost
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,457
Niles , Ohio
As said might be needed for inspection if its required.Here in Ohio we dont have them.If an auto car not a lot they do.Stick they are almost a requirement.Didnt have them on my 65 for a few years was a pain.


Chrysler Firepower
Re: Rear brakes [Re: RAY1969CARS] #3097512
11/27/22 11:12 AM
11/27/22 11:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,527
central il.
S
second 70 Offline
pro stock
second 70  Offline
pro stock
S

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,527
central il.
No they don't need to be attached. They have no affect on normal braking. Con you won't have a brake in case the hyd brakes fail.

Re: Rear brakes [Re: second 70] #3097602
11/27/22 05:52 PM
11/27/22 05:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,414
Rittman Ohio
fourgearsavoy Offline
I Live Here
fourgearsavoy  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,414
Rittman Ohio
If everything is in good shape why not hook them up shruggy There is absolutely no downside.

Gus beer


64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60
Re: Rear brakes [Re: fourgearsavoy] #3097813
11/28/22 02:14 PM
11/28/22 02:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,823
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,823
Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted by fourgearsavoy
If everything is in good shape why not hook them up shruggy There is absolutely no downside. Gus beer
iagree I try and keep mine adjusted so they start to work as soon as I start to pull on the handles on A bodies or push on the E brake pedal on the rest of the street cars I drive up wrench scope I want them to hold the car on a downhill grade by themselves before putting the automatic equip cars in park


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Rear brakes [Re: RAY1969CARS] #3097833
11/28/22 02:47 PM
11/28/22 02:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,324
N.E. OHIO, USA
A12 Offline
Too Many Posts
A12  Offline
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,324
N.E. OHIO, USA
Originally Posted by RAY1969CARS
Hi guys I'm running drums on the rear

Question is do I have too have the e brake cables or mechanism attached and if I don’t, what are the pros and cons



If it's a MANUAL transmission it's IMO a good thing to have a "parking" brake. My '69 GTX is a 4-speed and my driveway has an ever so slight tilt or grade to it and there is no way that I trust letting the car sit and warm up as I close the garage up, maybe put things back that I had to move to get the GTX out without putting the parking brake on. As mentioned, there's more reasons to have it working properly than not. Also if you have kids that ride in your car, just think how easy it is to bump an old automatic into gear that doesn't have the "put foot on brake pedal" safety feature.

Re: Rear brakes [Re: A12] #3097841
11/28/22 03:29 PM
11/28/22 03:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,726
WI
Dcuda69 Offline
master
Dcuda69  Offline
master

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,726
WI
Great thread. So my 69 B'cuda Fastback has never had a parking brake.......all the hardware is missing. Being a 4spd car I'd like to make it function again. The handle in the car is there...that's it. All the cables and drum hardware...gone. Doing a quick search it looks like they configured the cables 2 ways...1 w/intermediate cable and 1 without. How do I know if it's all missing? Also...currently running an 8 1/4 rear....most likely came with 8 3/4...rear cables should be interchangeable? Thoughts? Sorry for the hijack..this just got me thinking about making it work after forever without one.







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1