Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
No oil pressure after oil change #3086480
10/16/22 12:41 PM
10/16/22 12:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
71redcuda Offline OP
pro stock
71redcuda  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
Oil pressure lamp is on after i changed oil & filter (wix) in my aar cuda.

I started the car just before the change and all was fine..

No other work was done.

after the change the oil lamp was on for maby 5-10sec before i turned the car off.

I replaced the filter again with a new one and tried to start again.. with no difference..

Any suggestions ?

20221016_151455.jpg
Last edited by 71redcuda; 10/16/22 12:47 PM.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086486
10/16/22 01:00 PM
10/16/22 01:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,860
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,860
Bend,OR USA
Always fill the oil filter up (add oil several times until it won't take anymore, be patient while doing that twocents) before using them scope wrench
It takes time for the oil pump to fill the filter shruggy


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: Cab_Burge] #3086490
10/16/22 01:06 PM
10/16/22 01:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
I see it's a small block, is filter relocated or at angle? How much oil can you put in filter and install? I have mine relocated vertically so I can completely fill filter and install. Seems light may be on for 5-10 normally to gain pressure after change. No gauge? Any engine noise?

One of the best things I ever did on my 408 small block was relocate filter up front behind bumper attached to rad support with nice stainless lines. No dumping of oil on headers and I can use taller filter and fill filter completely before install, and oil changes so much easier!

I stopped using WIX filters long time ago. No longer highly rated and stopped be produced in USA and I had heard of some internal clogging. Amsoil, Royal Purple, and K&N get high ratings. Not saying you have a clogged filter necessarily just some added info.

Edit: I think I see the filter in it's stock location on 340 with 90 degree adapter. My screen kind of dark. I'd consider relocation! I know you may want stock appearance and I can understand but it's so much better.

Last edited by larrymopar360; 10/16/22 01:12 PM.

Facts are stubborn things.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: larrymopar360] #3086542
10/16/22 02:21 PM
10/16/22 02:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
71redcuda Offline OP
pro stock
71redcuda  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
Yes filter is in stock position. I filled it half way up when i installed it..

Any more and the oil will drip out because of the angle.

How long before building up the pressure?

Dont want to risk anything..

Last edited by 71redcuda; 10/16/22 02:30 PM.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086575
10/16/22 03:55 PM
10/16/22 03:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
Originally Posted by 71redcuda
Yes filter is in stock position. I filled it half way up when i installed it..

Any more and the oil will drip out because of the angle.

How long before building up the pressure?

Dont want to risk anything..
Before I relocated mine I would sometimes have lifter noise for about 10 seconds and then it would start quickly quieting. I wouldn't feel comfortable any longer than that. Cut that first filter open if you still have it. Take a saws all and cut it right in the middle just for heck of it and make sure you don't have bad batch of WIX. I would. No harm. I doubt it's that but simple enough to check.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: larrymopar360] #3086586
10/16/22 04:44 PM
10/16/22 04:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,963
Fulton County, PA
C
CMcAllister Offline
Mr. Helpful
CMcAllister  Offline
Mr. Helpful
C

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,963
Fulton County, PA
At this point, you have to pull the distributor and drive, and prime the pump. Turn the ignition on and see if the light goes out.

Did it make any noise? Any doubts, take the sender out and plug a wet gauge in to see what's really going on. Don't start it until it's right.


If the results don't match the theory, change the theory.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: CMcAllister] #3086607
10/16/22 05:51 PM
10/16/22 05:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 12,673
Central Florida
Originally Posted by CMcAllister
At this point, you have to pull the distributor and drive, and prime the pump. Turn the ignition on and see if the light goes out.

Did it make any noise? Any doubts, take the sender out and plug a wet gauge in to see what's really going on. Don't start it until it's right.
Yes, I'm wondering about the noise too. Hasn't said but I feel certain there'd been lifter noise if oil wasn't getting pumped. Like you said, prime with a drill. I'd still cut the previous filter open and see what's inside and yes check the light's operability.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: CMcAllister] #3086656
10/16/22 08:11 PM
10/16/22 08:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,729
WI
Dcuda69 Offline
master
Dcuda69  Offline
master

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,729
WI
Originally Posted by CMcAllister
At this point, you have to pull the distributor and drive, and prime the pump. Turn the ignition on and see if the light goes out.

Did it make any noise? Any doubts, take the sender out and plug a wet gauge in to see what's really going on. Don't start it until it's right.


Agree! NEVER do any lube system repairs without putting a mechanical gauge on the system and measuring actual system pressure. Lights and electrical gauges are useless!

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086683
10/16/22 09:35 PM
10/16/22 09:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,414
Rittman Ohio
fourgearsavoy Offline
I Live Here
fourgearsavoy  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,414
Rittman Ohio
I would pull the plugs and crank it until the light goes out. Then put the plugs in and send it twocents

Gus beer


64 Plymouth Savoy
493 Indy EZ's by Nick at Compu-Flow
5-Speed Richmond faceplate Liberty box
Dana 60
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086706
10/17/22 12:43 AM
10/17/22 12:43 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,860
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,860
Bend,OR USA
If you do fill it up all the way it will only drip out a little bit when turned sideways to installed, maybe an ounce or two max scope
I've owned a bunch of early (pre-1972 ) A body small blocks with that oil filter adapter on them I started out half filling them and saw no oil loss at all when installing them, ended up filling them all the way up to the bottom of the steel adapter and lost a little bit of oil, that loss was worth having instant oil pressure after changing the oil and filters up twocents


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086712
10/17/22 03:19 AM
10/17/22 03:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 156
Anchorage, Alaska
metallicareload Offline
member
metallicareload  Offline
member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 156
Anchorage, Alaska
Did you notice if the filter was pressurized after you shut the engine off? I had a filter clog? when testing the oil system on a 440 on a stand. Primed the pump, no oil flow, squeezed the oil filter and felt like something "popped," all good after that drive


440, 4-Speed, 3.54
1968, when Dinosaurs ruled the Earth
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: metallicareload] #3086716
10/17/22 05:33 AM
10/17/22 05:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,963
Fulton County, PA
C
CMcAllister Offline
Mr. Helpful
CMcAllister  Offline
Mr. Helpful
C

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,963
Fulton County, PA
Oil pressure should come up and light go out in a few seconds. 30 seconds? Not right. Wet gauge. Or stick a new switch in it. Spin the pump with a drill. Don't start or crank it until you find the issue. It's already been run enough, if it really doesn't have pressure.

I have had enough senders go bad to suspect a bad one in your situation.

Last edited by CMcAllister; 10/17/22 05:34 AM.

If the results don't match the theory, change the theory.
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: CMcAllister] #3086742
10/17/22 08:02 AM
10/17/22 08:02 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4,299
Florida
BDW Offline
master
BDW  Offline
master

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4,299
Florida
Also check wiring to sensor, mine frayed and broke, easy check, it’s right by distributor on SB.

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: BDW] #3086790
10/17/22 09:47 AM
10/17/22 09:47 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
71redcuda Offline OP
pro stock
71redcuda  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
The oilfilter had oil in it when i changed it the first time so i think it might be the oil sending unit.

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: CMcAllister] #3086797
10/17/22 09:55 AM
10/17/22 09:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,868
North Dakota
6PakBee Offline
master
6PakBee  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,868
North Dakota
Originally Posted by CMcAllister
At this point, you have to pull the distributor and drive, and prime the pump. Turn the ignition on and see if the light goes out.

Did it make any noise? Any doubts, take the sender out and plug a wet gauge in to see what's really going on. Don't start it until it's right.


Agreed. You can tell by the load on the priming drive if you have oil pressure or not. You should also be able to see oil flowing around the distributor gear bushing.


"Only the best and brightest"
Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 71redcuda] #3086823
10/17/22 10:47 AM
10/17/22 10:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,459
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
I Live Here
TJP  Offline
I Live Here
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 13,459
Omaha Ne
Originally Posted by 71redcuda
The oilfilter had oil in it when i changed it the first time so i think it might be the oil sending unit.

Do not replace the sending unit and start the motor to see if the sending unit suddenly took a dump or you may risk engine damage>
It's more effort but the correct and only way to address the issue at this point is as everyone has suggested,
Pull the distributor and oil pump drive. Install a mechanical gauge and run the pump with a priming rod and drill motor. the correct direction is CW. (clockwise) twocents beer

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: 6PakBee] #3086861
10/17/22 12:39 PM
10/17/22 12:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,159
Wichita
G
GY3 Offline
master
GY3  Offline
master
G

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,159
Wichita
Originally Posted by 6PakBee
Originally Posted by CMcAllister
At this point, you have to pull the distributor and drive, and prime the pump. Turn the ignition on and see if the light goes out.

Did it make any noise? Any doubts, take the sender out and plug a wet gauge in to see what's really going on. Don't start it until it's right.


Agreed. You can tell by the load on the priming drive if you have oil pressure or not. You should also be able to see oil flowing around the distributor gear bushing.


Yep, you will feel it "grab" and pull the drill down once it gets pressure.

I've had a couple of BB's lose their prime for no good reason. Pull the distributor, intermediate shaft and primed them with the drill. No further issues.


'63 Dodge 330
11.19 @ 121 mph
Pump gas, n/a, through the mufflers on street tires with 3.54's. 3,600 lbs.
10.01 @ 133mph with a 250 shot of nitrous an a splash of race gas. 1.36 60 ft. 3,700 lbs.

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: GY3] #3086915
10/17/22 04:15 PM
10/17/22 04:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,193
NEW JERSEY
AARCONV Offline
master
AARCONV  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,193
NEW JERSEY
use a multimeter and check the sender as it is now.

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: Cab_Burge] #3087031
10/18/22 12:35 AM
10/18/22 12:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Long Island, New York
57Fury440 Offline
member
57Fury440  Offline
member

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Long Island, New York
He said he only ran it for 5 to 10 seconds. I don't think it had enough time to build up pressure.

Re: No oil pressure after oil change [Re: TJP] #3087111
10/18/22 09:40 AM
10/18/22 09:40 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
71redcuda Offline OP
pro stock
71redcuda  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,531
Sweden
Originally Posted by TJP
Originally Posted by 71redcuda
The oilfilter had oil in it when i changed it the first time so i think it might be the oil sending unit.

Do not replace the sending unit and start the motor to see if the sending unit suddenly took a dump or you may risk engine damage>
It's more effort but the correct and only way to address the issue at this point is as everyone has suggested,
Pull the distributor and oil pump drive. Install a mechanical gauge and run the pump with a priming rod and drill motor. the correct direction is CW. (clockwise) twocents beer


Will do, thanks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1