Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline OP
I Live Here
TJP  Offline OP
I Live Here
T

Omaha Ne
I'm a bit of a novice in the area so I am hoping for a bit of advice.
I have a external hard drive setup but am not 100% sure it is set up properly. Also, knowing they can fail I set up an acct. with I-drive.
I later found out that they do not back up the "system" but rather just documents/ folders etc. that are non system related. OK
So then I opened another with Carbonite that supposedly backs everything up. Recently I keep getting notices that the weekly back ups are failing even though I have it set for daily. When I call support it' usually someone who can't speak english very well frown down

What I a trying to accomplish is When the system dies, I buy a new one and transfer all the files onto it. Not quite sure how that will work with Windows 11 as I am running 10. I have no issues with 10 but a new system will likely come loaded with 11. Obviously I know very little about this area. In the past i have gone to a small businessthattook care of my needs. However, they have now become a bigger businness and are focusing on corporate accounts frown So My idea is to not have to rely on an outside source. Any help ?
TIA beer

Re: Online backups ???? [Re: TJP] #3080805
09/26/22 12:00 PM
09/26/22 12:00 PM
A
Andrewh Offline
master
Andrewh  Offline
master
A

a few questions.

do you truly want a back up solution, or just copies of your files somewhere?

do you need off site backup? or was that just convenient?

how much data do you need to back up?

do you just want to pay someone to take care of your data? or would you do it yourself if it were simple?

what kind of budget?

Re: Online backups ???? [Re: Andrewh] #3080858
09/26/22 03:04 PM
09/26/22 03:04 PM
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
5thAve Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5thAve  Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway

Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...