Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Modman with Dominator #3065951
08/07/22 12:21 AM
08/07/22 12:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 338
Ontario, Canada
H
Hyper Henry Offline OP
enthusiast
Hyper Henry  Offline OP
enthusiast
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 338
Ontario, Canada
Maybe a dumb question but I already have a Modman intake for a 400(500ci race only) motor I am getting built and was wondering if anyone has run a single dominator with good success? If one is good than is two better?? LOL . I do have two matching dominators sitting on the shelf looking to be used....:o) Thanks for any constructive feedback.

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: Hyper Henry] #3065968
08/07/22 04:47 AM
08/07/22 04:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,564
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
gregsdart Offline
master
gregsdart  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,564
Frostbitefalls MN (Rocky&Bullw...
No experience here, just the knowledge that nobody has bragged about how well thier motor runs with one. Consider the fact that there is no tuned length, and cylinder to cylinder distribution may be poor? Open plenum single four intakes make serious power, and then there is the tunnelram option. I hope you go with one of those. There has got to be somebody out there looking for a modman so they can put what they want on top of thier motor,. IMHO, go with an intake that will perform up to your expectations.


8.77 153 mph best, 3055 lbs 528 indy 440-1 alky
Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: gregsdart] #3065978
08/07/22 08:19 AM
08/07/22 08:19 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,048
MI, usa
dvw Offline
master
dvw  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,048
MI, usa
My son tried. Holley carbs won't fit on a Mod Man even side ways. Even with the new spread lid. The carb pads are too close together.
Doug

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: dvw] #3065982
08/07/22 08:41 AM
08/07/22 08:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,529
Oakland, MI
D
dizuster Offline
master
dizuster  Offline
master
D

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,529
Oakland, MI
I wouldn't say that it's IMPOSSIBLE to do, but it would be a lot of effort for sure to make 2 holleys work on a ModMan in my opinion.

The plenum footprint is just really small to try and squeeze two holleys on it without a unique lid and some creative CNC tapered plenum spacer work.

HardcoreB (Sean) and I have been devising a plan for months trying to figure out how to reasonably get holleys onto my new build. At the end of the day we just decided that it's getting AFB's, and if I want to run Holleys it would just be better to build a tunnel ram in the future for it.

As mentioned the box stock intake has some distribution, runner length, line of sight, issues that HardcoreB is taking action on as we speak. I certainly am in no position to brag about the intake mods yet though since it hasn't' gone down the track yet!

That said I think we have a good action plan and I will share in the future once we get some results.

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: Hyper Henry] #3065993
08/07/22 09:32 AM
08/07/22 09:32 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,063
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
I Win
AndyF  Offline
I Win
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,063
Oregon
Originally Posted by Hyper Henry
Maybe a dumb question but I already have a Modman intake for a 400(500ci race only) motor I am getting built and was wondering if anyone has run a single dominator with good success? If one is good than is two better?? LOL . I do have two matching dominators sitting on the shelf looking to be used....:o) Thanks for any constructive feedback.


If you really want to run a Modman intake then talk to Kenny at Indy and follow his advice. Personally I don't think it is a very good intake manifold for a Dominator. If I wanted to run a Dominator on a low deck I'd use a 400-3 intake. On a race engine a well prepped 400-3 intake will probably be 25 hp ahead of a ModMan.

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: AndyF] #3066007
08/07/22 10:41 AM
08/07/22 10:41 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,606
anywhere@ anytime
A
actionange Offline
top fuel
actionange  Offline
top fuel
A

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,606
anywhere@ anytime
I’ve this. Purchased some years ago from Andy F. Was within 4 hundredths on me 540 against an Indy single plane.
Billet top and Max Wedge ports. 1050 ish Thumper carb. Haven’t been out with the new car yet.

C8CC7463-D2B8-42B9-AAA8-7BA428B765DF.jpeg
Last edited by actionange; 08/07/22 10:41 AM.
Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: actionange] #3066022
08/07/22 11:36 AM
08/07/22 11:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,063
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
I Win
AndyF  Offline
I Win
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 30,063
Oregon
Yeah that was an experiment to see if a ModMan could be made to work okay. It cost a fortune to carve out of billet but it worked pretty well. The net result of all of that testing was that it is just cheaper and easier to use a good single plane intake. Glad you have that bad boy mounted up. It looks killer. You can always tell people it is an AR Engineering prototype. One off, custom part.

514modman (Large).JPG
Last edited by AndyF; 08/07/22 11:39 AM.
Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: Hyper Henry] #3066161
08/08/22 08:52 AM
08/08/22 08:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,449
Shelby Twp. Mi
HardcoreB Offline
master
HardcoreB  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,449
Shelby Twp. Mi
Originally Posted by Hyper Henry
Maybe a dumb question but I already have a Modman intake for a 400(500ci race only) motor I am getting built and was wondering if anyone has run a single dominator with good success? If one is good than is two better?? LOL . I do have two matching dominators sitting on the shelf looking to be used....:o) Thanks for any constructive feedback.

The intake REALLY needs the runners extended for any application other than supercharged. As has been said we've done a bunch of thinking about what to do. A lot of the thinking went into what can be done that is relatively easy to duplicate. But, after i got into the porting, I felt I have an even better understanding and it's morphed into something a little different. I think that it'll work better than a single 4 FOR HIS APPLICATION. To aid in distribution the plenum gets bigger than a single 4, and for this it'll like the pump shot that a Holley has. I'd have no problem and wanted to retrofit TWO 4150's onto this intake but for a number of reasons (at least for now) it'll get the AFB's. With that said, i still feel it'll be as good or better than a single 4...We'll see and we'll share. Brent Wheeler is running very fast with his ported Modman with minor easy-to- duplicate changes. This intake will be different than his however.

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: HardcoreB] #3066165
08/08/22 08:59 AM
08/08/22 08:59 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,449
Shelby Twp. Mi
HardcoreB Offline
master
HardcoreB  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,449
Shelby Twp. Mi
I also think a single 4500 similar to the way AndyF has his can work well but, I revert to my first post for what it'd "need". NSS does not allow 4500 carbs, and I wouldn't bother with two on this intake anyway.

Re: Modman with Dominator [Re: HardcoreB] #3066191
08/08/22 10:59 AM
08/08/22 10:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 338
Ontario, Canada
H
Hyper Henry Offline OP
enthusiast
Hyper Henry  Offline OP
enthusiast
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 338
Ontario, Canada
Thanks everyone for the feedback; much appreciated! Originally I was going to build a blower motor hence the reason I have the Modman with the blower top. With money being tight now was just going to stick with naturally aspirated so I did get the single carb topper for the Modman and was going to put the 4150 to 4500 spacer on with a Dominator that I already have. I may just run it and see what it does then down the road put a 'better' single carb intake on and see how it compares?







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1