Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
T400 into E Body #3036645
04/24/22 04:49 PM
04/24/22 04:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
T
T-bar Offline OP
member
T-bar  Offline OP
member
T

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
Who here has done or seen how much you have to take out of the trans tunnel on an E body to fit a T400 trans? Or do they fit straight in?

Re: T400 into E Body [Re: T-bar] #3037144
04/25/22 11:56 PM
04/25/22 11:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,337
Chesterfield Twp. Mi.
4
493_john Online content
pro stock
493_john  Online Content
pro stock
4

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,337
Chesterfield Twp. Mi.
Bump for you!

Re: T400 into E Body [Re: 493_john] #3037167
04/26/22 08:16 AM
04/26/22 08:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,767
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Online content
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Online Content
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,767
Marion, South Carolina [><]
I have no info for you, other than you're probably not gonna get an answer on this here.
I'm curious myself, although if I was to change I'd go w/ a powerglide just because of the size difference. twocents


CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: an8sec70cuda] #3037170
04/26/22 08:33 AM
04/26/22 08:33 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,383
On the parachute mount
N
n20mstr Offline
master
n20mstr  Offline
master
N

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,383
On the parachute mount
A Turbo 400 fits into an A body tunnel...But most likely the t bar crossmember needs to be trimmed or even removed at the top of the tunnel. The Turbo 400 is larger at the tail than the 727 is. In my a body i sliced the crossmember and boxed it back in to make it shorter. Now , i just took it out completely. Other than that i have the stock trans tunnel.


....BAD A$$ STREET CAR.....
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: T-bar] #3037187
04/26/22 09:59 AM
04/26/22 09:59 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,375
northern,Ohio,USA
C
Clanton Offline
master
Clanton  Offline
master
C

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,375
northern,Ohio,USA
I did a th400 in my 69 b body with only mode on the x member and posted pics 2 yrs ago. and had lots of room(1" min all over clearence) here is my link th400 topic

S1080002.JPG20200821_155005-(2).jpgth400 trans brace 2.jpg
Last edited by Clanton; 04/26/22 10:12 AM.

GOTBOOST!New improved with Victor heads.
http://www.enginelabs.com/mopar-big-bloc...t-of-necessity/
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: Clanton] #3037256
04/26/22 02:02 PM
04/26/22 02:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
T
T-bar Offline OP
member
T-bar  Offline OP
member
T

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
Thanks for the info.

Re: T400 into E Body [Re: T-bar] #3037583
04/27/22 12:02 PM
04/27/22 12:02 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,375
northern,Ohio,USA
C
Clanton Offline
master
Clanton  Offline
master
C

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,375
northern,Ohio,USA
To check things more yourself I used a coat hanger bent around a 727 at its widest point(center) and down past the center line of the in/out shaft and then held it to my trans tunnel in witch it showed lots of room.The ultra bell is a little more bulge in its center more than the 727 and the tail shaft was closer than I figured but with just a couple fittings of the trans mount to the tail shaft it fit good for me.If I can guide you in any way like this lmk.I hope this was helpful.


GOTBOOST!New improved with Victor heads.
http://www.enginelabs.com/mopar-big-bloc...t-of-necessity/
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: T-bar] #3037621
04/27/22 02:55 PM
04/27/22 02:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,025
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 40,025
Bend,OR USA
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: Cab_Burge] #3037663
04/27/22 04:34 PM
04/27/22 04:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,628
A shed in England
Tig Offline
master
Tig  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,628
A shed in England
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy


Hmmm......I only know of 2 mopars that have done that swap. Both cars were big tyre chassis cars and they both improved ET with no other changes. But....was it down to a better converter.... or the more efficient 2-3 gear change shruggy All I know is a TH400 and a 9" are both considered options on my long term upgrade list work .


'74 Challenger..9.46 and 145.9 so far. 4023lb!!!# N/A, Marsh performance 655ci, Indy Maxx, T/R, Indy 600-13 X's, Street legal, pump gas, full interior, Cal-Tracs, mufflers, 3:73's and real 10.5 radials.
9.51 @142.4 with our old mule 580 wedge
RHD '68 Barracuda Fastback 323ci street/strip. Best ET 13.88 @ 99.03
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: Tig] #3037672
04/27/22 04:47 PM
04/27/22 04:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,337
Chesterfield Twp. Mi.
4
493_john Online content
pro stock
493_john  Online Content
pro stock
4

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,337
Chesterfield Twp. Mi.
Originally Posted by Tig
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy


Hmmm......I only know of 2 mopars that have done that swap. Both cars were big tyre chassis cars and they both improved ET with no other changes. But....was it down to a better converter.... or the more efficient 2-3 gear change shruggy All I know is a TH400 and a 9" are both considered options on my long term upgrade list work .


The Reid case is another nice option you cant get for a 727.

Re: T400 into E Body [Re: 493_john] #3037853
04/28/22 02:59 AM
04/28/22 02:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
T
T-bar Offline OP
member
T-bar  Offline OP
member
T

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Queensland,Australia
Well the main reason for looking at the 400 was in the future I will be going procharger and looking at 1800 hp at the motor so not huge horse power but more than i think a 727 would handle. I've got new 1st and 2nd gears ( reduce the SLR) for my current box and after talking my trans guy we will be going a billet output shaft as well. Unfortunately i have already put a lot of money into this box so now the new gears have shown up i will stick with this one. I wish i had done more research when i got this motor together and went to the 400 first.

Re: T400 into E Body [Re: 493_john] #3037855
04/28/22 05:10 AM
04/28/22 05:10 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,628
A shed in England
Tig Offline
master
Tig  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,628
A shed in England
Originally Posted by 493_john
Originally Posted by Tig
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy


Hmmm......I only know of 2 mopars that have done that swap. Both cars were big tyre chassis cars and they both improved ET with no other changes. But....was it down to a better converter.... or the more efficient 2-3 gear change shruggy All I know is a TH400 and a 9" are both considered options on my long term upgrade list work .


The Reid case is another nice option you cant get for a 727.


Indeed, the SFi case is another advantage. After reading another post on how some manufacturers are discontinuing parts for Dana 60's, I think fitting a 9" has moved to the short term upgrade list grin


'74 Challenger..9.46 and 145.9 so far. 4023lb!!!# N/A, Marsh performance 655ci, Indy Maxx, T/R, Indy 600-13 X's, Street legal, pump gas, full interior, Cal-Tracs, mufflers, 3:73's and real 10.5 radials.
9.51 @142.4 with our old mule 580 wedge
RHD '68 Barracuda Fastback 323ci street/strip. Best ET 13.88 @ 99.03
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: Tig] #3037878
04/28/22 08:25 AM
04/28/22 08:25 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,767
Marion, South Carolina [><]
an8sec70cuda Online content
I Live Here
an8sec70cuda  Online Content
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,767
Marion, South Carolina [><]
Originally Posted by Tig
Originally Posted by 493_john
Originally Posted by Tig
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy


Hmmm......I only know of 2 mopars that have done that swap. Both cars were big tyre chassis cars and they both improved ET with no other changes. But....was it down to a better converter.... or the more efficient 2-3 gear change shruggy All I know is a TH400 and a 9" are both considered options on my long term upgrade list work .


The Reid case is another nice option you cant get for a 727.


Indeed, the SFi case is another advantage. After reading another post on how some manufacturers are discontinuing parts for Dana 60's, I think fitting a 9" has moved to the short term upgrade list grin

I saw that too. blush
If money weren't an issue, I'd already have a glide in my car. Parts start getting scarce and I'll be ditching the Dana too.
At this point in life, my car has become way less of a priority/moneypit to me. It is what it is. It'll run what it runs w/ what I have already.


CHIP
'70 hemicuda...8 sec street car
'69 road runner 440 w/ Indy SRs
'69 road runner 440-6, 4 speed
'71 Demon 340
'73 Chrysler New Yorker
'90 Chevy 454SS Silverado
'06 GMC 2500HD LBZ Duramax...toy hauler
Re: T400 into E Body [Re: Cab_Burge] #3037929
04/28/22 11:28 AM
04/28/22 11:28 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,265
Tulsa, Oklahoma
340Cuda Offline
master
340Cuda  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,265
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Originally Posted by Cab_Burge
Why do you want to run one of those power robbing turbo 400 trannies in a Mopar? shruggy
Ask Chrysler they but them in many of the Drag Pack Challengers.







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1