Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 #3033124
04/13/22 12:25 PM
04/13/22 12:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
C
calif67rt Offline OP
member
calif67rt  Offline OP
member
C

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
I have a 2006 Magnum SRT8, 6.1 L engine, a little over 111,000 miles. Yesterday afternoon, when the car is idling (regardless whether in park, reverse or drive) the low oil light comes. When the rpm gets to 1200 and higher the oil light goes off.
1. Is the oil pump going or is it a sensor problem? Is this a issue with the Hemi engines of that time period?
2. Will a service diagnostic check tell me what the problem is?
3. Is it okay to drive and not harm the motor with this issue?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Bill

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: calif67rt] #3033129
04/13/22 12:36 PM
04/13/22 12:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,251
Rio Linda, CA
John_Kunkel Offline
Too Many Posts
John_Kunkel  Offline
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,251
Rio Linda, CA
Does the car have EVIC? If so, you can read the actual oil pressure from the display....press and hold the two lower inner steering wheel buttons for about 5 seconds to display the "hidden menu".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0MQHuqnQJg


The INTERNET, the MISinformation superhighway
Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: John_Kunkel] #3033142
04/13/22 01:15 PM
04/13/22 01:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
C
calif67rt Offline OP
member
calif67rt  Offline OP
member
C

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
I accessed the hidden menu then started the car. The idle oil pressure was 27 psi. As the motor warmed up the oil pressure started to drop. When the temp got to 160 the oil pressure dropped to 5 psi. When it got to 170, the oil pressure was down to 1 psi. When I increased the rpms, the oil pressure went to 35 psi.

Is the oil pump going bad? I had already checked the oil level and it was in the "safe" zone.

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: calif67rt] #3033185
04/13/22 02:28 PM
04/13/22 02:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,799
Calgary, Alberta Canada
a12rag Offline
master
a12rag  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,799
Calgary, Alberta Canada
is it possible to check with a mechanical gauge to confirm ??? I have 2006 RT AWD with 135k miles on it, and still shows 20psi @ idle and anything above 1400RPM is 50 . . .

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: a12rag] #3033212
04/13/22 03:37 PM
04/13/22 03:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 438
Central NY
G
GarageDodge Offline
mopar
GarageDodge  Offline
mopar
G

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 438
Central NY
check with mechanical gauge I work on alot of these&only seen one go bad it had 240,000 miles,usually its the sender seen many over 150k&no problem with pump.Rember the same sender feeds the evic system.

Last edited by GarageDodge; 04/13/22 03:39 PM.
Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: GarageDodge] #3033228
04/13/22 04:31 PM
04/13/22 04:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 820
Avondale AZ
Prodart440 Offline
super stock
Prodart440  Offline
super stock

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 820
Avondale AZ
It is common for the sending unit to go bad, but as stated above, verify it with a mechanical gauge if possible.


Aaron

68 Roadrunner 383/AT
69 Dart GT Conv. 383/AT
05 Dodge Ram 4x4 Cummins
06 GoManGo R/T Daytona #757
68 Coronet 440
Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: Prodart440] #3033254
04/13/22 04:58 PM
04/13/22 04:58 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,333
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Twostick Offline
Still wishing...
Twostick  Offline
Still wishing...

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 6,333
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Is the Check Engine Light on? Sensor can throw a code.

No code, I'd spin a new filter on it and see what happens. No change, cut the filter open and see if there is any bearing trash in it. No trash, I'd guess the relief valve in the pump might be stuck.

Kevin

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: Twostick] #3033331
04/13/22 08:05 PM
04/13/22 08:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,200
Freeport IL USA
P
poorboy Offline
master
poorboy  Offline
master
P

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,200
Freeport IL USA
I would change out the OP sending unit first, then change the oil and the filter.
Last year we were getting strange readings on the gauge in our PT, we checked the op sending unit and found it was leaking oil, so we replaced the sending unit, and cleaned up the sending unit connecter. About a month or so ago, the op would be fine on a first run, any distance, but if you shut the car off, then restarted it before it got stone cold, there wasn't any oil pressure. Happened on every restart if the motor wasn't stone cold. It was never low on oil, and the motor never made any sounds like a motor with low op would. One day it happened when my wife was driving, she drove it home 30 miles with the gauge reading 0 and the light on. Not a sound out of the motor, no indication the oil pressure was low.
We replaced the sending unit again (the new one was leaking already), with a new switch that cost 2x what the first one cost, and cleaned up the electrical connector again. So far, everything is great! If it happens again, its getting a real mechanical oil pressure gauge.

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: poorboy] #3033478
04/14/22 11:15 AM
04/14/22 11:15 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
C
calif67rt Offline OP
member
calif67rt  Offline OP
member
C

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
I have family in town and had to leave the thread yesterday. I talked to my mechanic this morning and he says it is most likely the send ing unit. I am going to take it over to him now and have him check the oil pressure and replace the sending unit. I will let you know what happens.

Thanks for all of the help.

Bill

Re: Oil Pressure light 06 Magnum SRT8 [Re: calif67rt] #3033789
04/15/22 10:49 AM
04/15/22 10:49 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
C
calif67rt Offline OP
member
calif67rt  Offline OP
member
C

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Sin City
My mechanic changed the sending unit and I now have 26 psi at idle and 48 psi at higher rpm. But he also noticed that the water pump was leaking and changed that also. Strange how that works. But all is working good now. Hard teaching an old dog new tricks but it does work sometimes. Thanks.







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1