new berlin wisconsin
M
Mr T2U Offline
master
Mr T2U  Offline
master
M

new berlin wisconsin
i have converted over 100 cars from DOT 3 &4 to DOT 5 over the last 30+ years without problems. i am still no expert on the subject.

as far as the comments about DOT 5 uses. in my OPINION it basically a niche product usually reserved for the resto cars where they don't want the paint messes up.

there are much better brake fluids designed for racing with high boiling points than DOT 5 that are probably cheaper also.
as far as OEM using it. the OEM want cheap and easy to use over most other things. DOT 5 doesn't have either of those qualities.

my comments about it not causing problems are directed at residual amounts of the old causing problems with the new. never seen a problem with this. now mix a larger amount of the 2 in a car you are asking for troubles.
in my OPINION people who are commenting about negative comments about mixing the 2 are confusing the 2 and thinking they are the same thing.

as far as the water trapped in the brake line freezing causing problems. i THINK the freezing part will just force fluid thru the lines like pushing the pedal down before it will crack a brake line open.

perception is 90% of reality
Re: DOT 5 brake fluid - Eberg vs. Internet [Re: Mr T2U] #3026550
03/22/22 08:53 PM
03/22/22 08:53 PM
Park Forest, IL
slantzilla Offline
Too Many Posts
slantzilla  Offline
Too Many Posts

Park Forest, IL
When I worked at the Hyster dealership we had a new model come out that used DOT 5. Hyster sent out a service bulletin stating it was acceptable to use DOT 3 to add to or top off DOT 5. They claimed that even though it looked bad when it coagulated into goo, their research found no affect on performance.

That being said, I don't mix them.

"Everybody funny, now you funny too."
Re: DOT 5 brake fluid - Eberg vs. Internet [Re: Mr T2U] #3026617
03/23/22 12:08 AM
03/23/22 12:08 AM
Someplace you aren't
S
SomeCarGuy Offline OP
I Live Here