Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
1406 to TQ extension lever #2992271
12/05/21 01:17 PM
12/05/21 01:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Going from Edelbrock 1406 to Thermoquad on 360 and wondering if I'll need different throttle extension lever and stud or likely one on the 1406 will transfer over. Probably would help to have a pic I know just not at the truck right now. Thanks.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: larrymopar360] #2992295
12/05/21 02:28 PM
12/05/21 02:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 15,705
Mesa, Arizona
dart4forte Offline
I Live Here
dart4forte  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 15,705
Mesa, Arizona
You have the bolt on extension on the 1406. You should have a extension on the Tquad.

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: dart4forte] #2992306
12/05/21 03:08 PM
12/05/21 03:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Originally Posted by dart4forte
You have the bolt on extension on the 1406. You should have a extension on the Tquad.
Ok thanks I got to take a second look.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: larrymopar360] #2992312
12/05/21 03:30 PM
12/05/21 03:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,439
Florida STAYcation
dOc - 3.0 ! Offline
Public Enema Bag
dOc - 3.0 !  Offline
Public Enema Bag

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,439
Florida STAYcation
larryLOVEit a member of the ThermoSquad ?


Damn it ....,, rant

Noooo way .... tsk ...WE have principles... you know xmaseek


Enema bag .. ? ... aren’t you in a Xmas spirit ! .... real classy and mature label that you deserve more than I do ! ..... Either get a big box of tissues OR stick the BUSINESS END of that bag ... IN YUR EAR !
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: dOc - 3.0 !] #2992344
12/05/21 05:04 PM
12/05/21 05:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Originally Posted by dOc - 3.0 !
larryLOVEit a member of the ThermoSquad ?


Damn it ....,, rant

Noooo way .... tsk ...WE have principles... you know xmaseek
Had one for years on my A38/E58 Aspen and loved it. Never had an issue with it. My Power Wagon (In which I'm trying to be patient with builder to start on the 440 it's getting) was purchased with the 1406 and not the TQ it had from factory.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: larrymopar360] #2992365
12/05/21 06:09 PM
12/05/21 06:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 15,705
Mesa, Arizona
dart4forte Offline
I Live Here
dart4forte  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 15,705
Mesa, Arizona
Ever since I ran a TQ on my 452 strokes I’ve been a fan.

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: dart4forte] #2992533
12/06/21 11:21 AM
12/06/21 11:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,306
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,306
north of coder
you don't need an extension for the T-Quad like you do for the edelbrock [er, i mean, eLDEbrock biggrin] carb.
the only thing i'm not sure of, is any factory applications for international engines. i don't know what kind of linkage they tad.
beer

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: moparx] #2992626
12/06/21 04:15 PM
12/06/21 04:15 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 15,428
Florida
S
scratchnfotraction Offline
I Live Here
scratchnfotraction  Offline
I Live Here
S

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 15,428
Florida
thermobogs will have correct mopar throttle shaft and you just need the stud for throttle cable/PTK lever which you should have on the eddy adaptor bolted on the 1406. like the Q-jet on the dippy, a mopar q-jet has the correct throttle lever you just need a throttle stud for it.

only thing else you need is the correct tools and knowledge for tuning on a thermobog. I have only saw a couple that someone else had that worked great but I have never got anything out of any I had to bolt on my junk other than a fire.. or 2. but then again I just about burnt my truck up this yr with a holley double pumper. so I guess any carb can do a fire with easy?..

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: scratchnfotraction] #2992675
12/06/21 07:17 PM
12/06/21 07:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,439
Florida STAYcation
dOc - 3.0 ! Offline
Public Enema Bag
dOc - 3.0 !  Offline
Public Enema Bag

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,439
Florida STAYcation
Originally Posted by scratchnfotraction
thermobogs will have correct mopar throttle shaft and you just need the stud for throttle cable/PTK lever which you should have on the eddy adaptor bolted on the 1406. like the Q-jet on the dippy, a mopar q-jet has the correct throttle lever you just need a throttle stud for it.

only thing else you need is the correct tools and knowledge for tuning on a thermobog. I have only saw a couple that someone else had that worked great but I have never got anything out of any I had to bolt on my junk other than a fire.. or 2. but then again I just about burnt my truck up this yr with a holley double pumper. so I guess any carb can do a fire with easy?..



TRACTIONless ... just what YOU SAID ..... correct tools and real basic knowledge will get the BOG outa that Plastic Fantastic tsk


Enema bag .. ? ... aren’t you in a Xmas spirit ! .... real classy and mature label that you deserve more than I do ! ..... Either get a big box of tissues OR stick the BUSINESS END of that bag ... IN YUR EAR !
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: scratchnfotraction] #2993011
12/07/21 06:47 PM
12/07/21 06:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Originally Posted by scratchnfotraction
thermobogs will have correct mopar throttle shaft and you just need the stud for throttle cable/PTK lever which you should have on the eddy adaptor bolted on the 1406. like the Q-jet on the dippy, a mopar q-jet has the correct throttle lever you just need a throttle stud for it.

only thing else you need is the correct tools and knowledge for tuning on a thermobog. I have only saw a couple that someone else had that worked great but I have never got anything out of any I had to bolt on my junk other than a fire.. or 2. but then again I just about burnt my truck up this yr with a holley double pumper. so I guess any carb can do a fire with easy?..

Thanks Mike and I'm taking it to the same guy who hoisted the 318 into the bed of your truck so I'm pretty confident he can tune it proper....despite his preference for chebbies he's seen a lot of Mopars up


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: larrymopar360] #2993176
12/08/21 09:56 AM
12/08/21 09:56 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,306
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,306
north of coder
it took me many years to figure out T-quads, but i like 'em !
i gather up all the orphans from the junk piles any time i can.
one of these times, i want to try a 2-4 setup using them.
beer

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: moparx] #2993775
12/09/21 06:54 PM
12/09/21 06:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Originally Posted by moparx
it took me many years to figure out T-quads, but i like 'em !
i gather up all the orphans from the junk piles any time i can.
one of these times, i want to try a 2-4 setup using them.
beer
That would be a nice setup to have on something other than a 426, like a 440 or stroked 400/451 cubic incher up

I filled my truck with ethonal free gas last night. I've been using 10% E and 93 octane for where I have timing set so no pinging. Highest E free they have here is 89 octane and it's same price as the 93 octane 10% which was 3.89/gallon. I don't know how TQ would handle the corny gas. Hate to commit to corn free gas and 89 octane as well. Dropped truck off to mechanic today to install and tune carb.


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: larrymopar360] #2993853
12/09/21 08:50 PM
12/09/21 08:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,250
So Near, Yet So Far
topside Offline
I Live Here
topside  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,250
So Near, Yet So Far
Ran mine on Calif ethanol-laced pump premium for years, zero issues with its TQ.

Re: 1406 to TQ extension lever [Re: topside] #2994168
12/10/21 07:51 PM
12/10/21 07:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline OP
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 10,073
Central Florida
Glad to hear that^

Installed it today and wouldn't start. Opened it and floats were set so bad barely let any fuel in. Adjusted floats and runs good. Pretty happy with it so far. I've missed that sound. Right now it has the 89 octane but I haven't heard any pinging so thinking I might be able to get a little more timing in it if I go back to 10% E and 93 octane.

I do need to adjust shift points now. Shifting much to early now so got to get under the truck and adjust throttle pressure rod.


Facts are stubborn things.






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1