Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
AlphaOBD #2963232
09/12/21 01:15 PM
09/12/21 01:15 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 5,406
Super Spudsville
Mr PotatoHead Online rolleyes OP
Half Baked
Mr PotatoHead  Online Rolleyes OP
Half Baked

Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 5,406
Super Spudsville
Anyone use it, thoughts, opinions???

Thanks.

For ones not knowing....

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.AlfaOBD.AlfaOBD&hl=en_US&gl=US


STOP POTATO HATE!
Re: AlphaOBD [Re: Mr PotatoHead] #2963344
09/12/21 06:45 PM
09/12/21 06:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,305
Laveen, Arizona
GTSDart340 Offline
pro stock
GTSDart340  Offline
pro stock

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,305
Laveen, Arizona
https://www.lxforums.com/board/general-lx-discussion-3rd-gen-2015-/412142-alfaobd-master-thread.html

https://www.ramforum.com/threads/alfaobd.123982/

There's a couple resources for the app. I have used it a little, really only to add a couple features to my Magnum. It's also the only way I can read the codes on my Durango. I haven't even scratched the surface of it yet.


1949 International KB-2 "Mater" - 302/T5

1968 Dodge Dart GTS "The Drat" - 340/727

2006 Dodge Magnum R/T - Hemi

2016 Dodge Durango Limited - 3.6
Re: AlphaOBD [Re: GTSDart340] #2963471
09/13/21 12:26 AM
09/13/21 12:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
5
5thAve Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5thAve  Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
What do you want it for? It's great for the newer Mopars to get a list of options or or to enable factory options like fog lights or backup camera without having to go to the dealer. If you're only driving your car and not doing anything to it it's not worth getting.

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: 5thAve] #2963491
09/13/21 07:19 AM
09/13/21 07:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,548
USA
3
360view Offline
master
360view  Offline
master
3

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,548
USA
Can it read the OBD-II on Chryslers as early as 2005 ?
1996 ?

Does it require a Bluetooth module,
WiFI module,
or possibly use a USB to OBD-II plug direct cable?

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: Mr PotatoHead] #2963918
09/14/21 08:44 AM
09/14/21 08:44 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 588
Mass.
8
80fbody Offline
mopar
80fbody  Offline
mopar
8

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 588
Mass.
I've wanted to get this for my 2018 Ram. It's just a software I believe and you still need a bluetooth OBDII "dongle". Concern I have is making an adjustment and then taking it to the dealer for a service and they wipe it out as it updates from the dealer cloud. Just seems like a hassle. I want to install the factory trailer brake module as well as upgrade to Keyless Entry.

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: 80fbody] #2964115
09/14/21 06:23 PM
09/14/21 06:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,635
Harriman NY
7
71GTX471 Offline
top fuel
71GTX471  Offline
top fuel
7

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,635
Harriman NY
Funny I thought this was going to be about an Out Board Drive unit.

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: 71GTX471] #2964590
09/15/21 11:21 PM
09/15/21 11:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
5
5thAve Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5thAve  Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
I think it does 2005 very limitedly. I think it's whenever the body styles changed after that that it's usefullness really kicks in. Like 2009+ trucks and 2011+300 and Charger etc.

You do need an OBD2 bluetooth adapter to make it work and the forums say the android version gets updated more then the computer version.

I think it's been said that the dealer only reflashes the computer if there are updates or a reason to and yeah you'd loose the changes you make but it's easy enough to go back and re-enable what you want. I've only used it once but it's pretty interesting what information it can grab from your car.

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: Mr PotatoHead] #2964622
09/16/21 08:00 AM
09/16/21 08:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,621
OH
Red383 Offline
top fuel
Red383  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,621
OH
I used it on my 2014 Ram to adjust the Tire Pressure monitor system to PSI levels that would not set off an alarm every time the weather changed. That alone was worth it to me!

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: 5thAve] #2964634
09/16/21 09:18 AM
09/16/21 09:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,305
Laveen, Arizona
GTSDart340 Offline
pro stock
GTSDart340  Offline
pro stock

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,305
Laveen, Arizona
Originally Posted by 5thAve
I think it does 2005 very limitedly. I think it's whenever the body styles changed after that that it's usefullness really kicks in. Like 2009+ trucks and 2011+300 and Charger etc.

You do need an OBD2 bluetooth adapter to make it work and the forums say the android version gets updated more then the computer version.

I think it's been said that the dealer only reflashes the computer if there are updates or a reason to and yeah you'd loose the changes you make but it's easy enough to go back and re-enable what you want. I've only used it once but it's pretty interesting what information it can grab from your car.


I found that it doesn't support most 05 models, but starting in 06 there's lots of support. I've used it on my 06 Magnum, but my brother's 05 truck it wouldn't work. There are more things you can do on the newer stuff for sure, but it does work on 06+.


1949 International KB-2 "Mater" - 302/T5

1968 Dodge Dart GTS "The Drat" - 340/727

2006 Dodge Magnum R/T - Hemi

2016 Dodge Durango Limited - 3.6
Re: AlphaOBD [Re: 360view] #2965493
09/19/21 02:41 PM
09/19/21 02:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,548
USA
3
360view Offline
master
360view  Offline
master
3

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,548
USA
For $8 bought a still shrink wrapped Konnwei KW681 at a Goodwill Store.
I had very low expectations it would even turn on.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/3635030711...msclkid=006e32f356b81496a04f53b4d5ef5e4e

Tried KW681 this morning.
It worked, at least on a 2005 T&C van.

Has a built in battery tester too, which also seems to work and can do multiple types of load tests, SAE, DIN, Japanese JIS, etc.
Calculates CCA and internal battery impedance.
Graphs charging “AC ripple” above alternator DC voltage.

OBD-II read codes,
including mode $07 “impending error codes” where not enough faults have yet occurred to turn on the check engine light.

Not bad for $8

Re: AlphaOBD [Re: GTSDart340] #2966178
09/21/21 10:24 PM
09/21/21 10:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
5
5thAve Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5thAve  Offline
Doesn't care what this says anyway
5

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,645
Canada -- Posts: 4034 -Registe...
Originally Posted by GTSDart340
Originally Posted by 5thAve
I think it does 2005 very limitedly. I think it's whenever the body styles changed after that that it's usefullness really kicks in. Like 2009+ trucks and 2011+300 and Charger etc.

You do need an OBD2 bluetooth adapter to make it work and the forums say the android version gets updated more then the computer version.

I think it's been said that the dealer only reflashes the computer if there are updates or a reason to and yeah you'd loose the changes you make but it's easy enough to go back and re-enable what you want. I've only used it once but it's pretty interesting what information it can grab from your car.


I found that it doesn't support most 05 models, but starting in 06 there's lots of support. I've used it on my 06 Magnum, but my brother's 05 truck it wouldn't work. There are more things you can do on the newer stuff for sure, but it does work on 06+.


There's also a free trial you can use before you buy it. It only works for 15 or 30 minutes or something and I don't think it lets you change stuff but you can at least try it to see how much it can or can't do with your car.







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1