Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Intake for 500cube 440 [Re: moparx] #2956056
08/21/21 05:28 PM
08/21/21 05:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,053
Central NC
gch Offline
master
gch  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,053
Central NC
Originally Posted by moparx
Originally Posted by lewtot184
hemi carbs are further apart. you'll probably to get a little creative. it may be possible to take the edelbrock air cleaner base and adapt it to a factory base. the manifold height for the ch28 is noticeably taller than a stock iron 4bbl, and i think about 1/2" taller than a ch4b but shorter than a ch6 or RPM intake.



i forgot about the CH28 being taller than the CH4B. i already have a drop base air cleaner [moroso] on the T-Quad with the 5/8" thick adapter needed for the CH4B, and the stock hood on my charger barely shuts now. i guess the CH28 is out of the question to use.
i don't want to cut my hood for a scoop, so unless i can find a taller flat hood, i'm out of luck.
beer


Not having to use the 5/8 thermoquad adapter won't help enough?

Re: Intake for 500cube 440 [Re: gch] #2956244
08/22/21 11:34 AM
08/22/21 11:34 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,957
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 15,957
north of coder
not using the adapter WOULD help, but i would like to try a pair of T-quad carbs without hacking on the intake, plus use an air cleaner of some sorts other than a pair of tiny diameter ones that have only 1 1/2" thick elements.
the other option would be to use my '62 max wedge intake with it's small factory [3407 ?] carbs.
once again, height may come into play, as i would like a good air cleaner without hacking up my flat hood.
beer

Re: Intake for 500cube 440 [Re: moparx] #2956252
08/22/21 12:06 PM
08/22/21 12:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 26,197
Florida STAYcation
dOc - 3.0 ! Offline
still the village idiot
dOc - 3.0 !  Offline
still the village idiot

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 26,197
Florida STAYcation
A pair of Plastic Fantastics ? ... I didn’t know the apimp from Coder was a wanna beez member of the ThermoSquad !

I had a DUAL QUAD intake for a pair of TQs .....

But it was way WAY YESTERtech !

Kinda like most of the apimp from Puttsylvania laugh2

Re: Intake for 500cube 440 [Re: moparx] #2956360
08/22/21 03:42 PM
08/22/21 03:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,699
usa
L
lewtot184 Offline
master
lewtot184  Offline
master
L

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,699
usa
Originally Posted by moparx
not using the adapter WOULD help, but i would like to try a pair of T-quad carbs without hacking on the intake, plus use an air cleaner of some sorts other than a pair of tiny diameter ones that have only 1 1/2" thick elements.
the other option would be to use my '62 max wedge intake with it's small factory [3407 ?] carbs.
once again, height may come into play, as i would like a good air cleaner without hacking up my flat hood.
beer
pretty sure you would need to cut the under hood bracing out to fit a cross ram with air cleaners. the plenum under the carbs of a ch28 isn't large and would take some work to get those 2 1/4" throttle bores in there. 1 11/16" throttle bores are pretty much the limit on my intake.

Page 3 of 3 1 2 3






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1