Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Turbo Actuator or replacement 2015 3500 #2891445
02/21/21 12:45 PM
02/21/21 12:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,053
Tulsa OK
Bad340fish Offline OP
master
Bad340fish  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,053
Tulsa OK
My Sister has a 15 3500 with the cummins in it. It has 115K and started to have some turbo problems and threw a code for a turbo actuator. They had it cleared and it was fine for awhile but came back after a low power problem. The truck normally doesn't some heavy towing but hasn't in awhile so they have not been using the exhaust brake. I told them to start using that more often and hopefully it might clear up the issue? They got quoted $6000 for a new turbo!

Say the turbo does need replacing what kind of job is that? Something that can be done at home or does it require a scan tool to set it up?


68 Barracuda Formula S 340
Re: Turbo Actuator or replacement 2015 3500 [Re: Bad340fish] #2892005
02/22/21 09:01 PM
02/22/21 09:01 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 12,456
aZLiViN
J
J_BODY Offline
I Live Here
J_BODY  Offline
I Live Here
J

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 12,456
aZLiViN
You can change the actuator on that turbo without replacing the whole unit. Just requires a re-cal process. Kind of a pain with coolant in the turbo... bit of a messy job.

The deal breaker can be when the actuator is off. You want to be able to grab the actuator gear and sweep it lock to lock without to much effort. If it’s sticky.... then yes, turbo time.

Re: Turbo Actuator or replacement 2015 3500 [Re: J_BODY] #2892572
02/24/21 08:36 AM
02/24/21 08:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,053
Tulsa OK
Bad340fish Offline OP
master
Bad340fish  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,053
Tulsa OK
does the recal have to be done with a Chrysler tool or can it be done other ways?


68 Barracuda Formula S 340






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1