01/13/21 11:40 PM
01/13/21 11:40 PM
Massachusetts
Faust Offline OP
top fuel
Faust  Offline OP
top fuel

Massachusetts
We see more and more adhesives in cars, roof panels, door skins, etc. Makes me wonder about gluing in floor pans. I know the welding is not that bad. But, if you're paying for it; there is cost/benefit. Thoughts?

Re: Gluing in floor pans? [Re: Faust] #2874087
01/14/21 12:55 AM
01/14/21 12:55 AM
Freeport IL USA
poorboy Offline
I Live Here
poorboy  Offline
I Live Here

Freeport IL USA
Let me start with the fact that I'm a retired welder that has replaced 1,000s of floor pans over the last 28 years.

Bonding floor pans can be done if you are replacing individual pans as long as you don't need to replace the body structure that the pans are attached to. If its just the floor pans, it may even have an advantage bonding the pans in because the process seals the pan to the metal they are bonded to which likely will prevent future rust forming at the seam.

There is at least one disadvantage to bonding in a floor pan, the bonded area is an overlap. The new pan has to over lap the original pan by about a 1/2" all the way around the old pan, and that seam will be visible from under the car, if that is something that would concern you. Bonded panels are not butt welds that so many here are concerned about. A properly done bonded pan would have to have all of any paint or surface protection removed from both bonding surfaces all around the pan. Properly done, the bond is suppose to be as strong as any weld.

If body structure that supports the floor pan needs to be replaced, that replacement floor support needs to be welded into place, then the pan can be bonded to the welded in support.