Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
No brake lights #2859302
12/13/20 10:46 AM
12/13/20 10:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
LimeliteAero Offline OP
master
LimeliteAero  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
it's my turn.....I searched our achieves and found it's most likely the turn signal switch on my 70 Coronet causing my no brake light condition. My question is has anyone had any good luck with the aftermarket switches? I hear a lot of "they're crap" stories.

Re: No brake lights [Re: LimeliteAero] #2859303
12/13/20 10:50 AM
12/13/20 10:50 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,016
JERSEY
RJS Offline
master
RJS  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,016
JERSEY
Do yourself a favor and search e-bay for an original.
Ron

Re: No brake lights [Re: LimeliteAero] #2859326
12/13/20 11:28 AM
12/13/20 11:28 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,911
Hamtramck, PA
Alaskan_TA Offline
Fluffy Balladeer
Alaskan_TA  Offline
Fluffy Balladeer

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 28,911
Hamtramck, PA
I went through that with a pal's Superbird and it was a failure inside the hazard area of the turn signal switch.

The good news is that you can test any possible replacement just by unplugging the old harness under the dash, then plug in the replacement to test it.

That way if the replacement is bad, you did not take your column apart for no reason.

Re: No brake lights [Re: RJS] #2859338
12/13/20 11:44 AM
12/13/20 11:44 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,951
Central Florida
larrymopar360 Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.
larrymopar360  Offline
I'm tired...Very tired.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,951
Central Florida
Originally Posted by RJS
Do yourself a favor and search e-bay for an original.
Ron
Yes!


Facts are stubborn things.
Re: No brake lights [Re: larrymopar360] #2859347
12/13/20 11:56 AM
12/13/20 11:56 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,199
Columbus, GA
Michael Ecks Offline
super stock
Michael Ecks  Offline
super stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,199
Columbus, GA
Before you go disassembling the dash does your car have a separate hazard flasher? My Challenger has one under the right side of the dash in addition to the one at the fuze box.. Mine under the dash below the ashtray went out and took my brake lights with it, replaced it and brake lights came back simple as that.


"The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of
your thoughts" ~ Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius
Re: No brake lights [Re: Michael Ecks] #2859665
12/13/20 11:18 PM
12/13/20 11:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,640
Freeport IL USA
P
poorboy Offline
master
poorboy  Offline
master
P

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,640
Freeport IL USA
After checking the fuses I think I would start by checking to see if there is power to the brake light switch and power through the brake light switch. The power passes through the brake light switch before it goes to the turn signal switch. Gene

Re: No brake lights [Re: poorboy] #2859775
12/14/20 10:35 AM
12/14/20 10:35 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,897
Lincoln Nebraska
R
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track
RapidRobert  Offline
Circle Track
R

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,897
Lincoln Nebraska
what Gene said then I would jump fire to the brake light switch terminal & with the stalk in neutral see if the brake lights are on then try it with the stalk up then with the stalk down


live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth
Re: No brake lights [Re: Michael Ecks] #2859812
12/14/20 12:17 PM
12/14/20 12:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
LimeliteAero Offline OP
master
LimeliteAero  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
Thanks everyone! I have checked the fuses and tried another switch at the pedal. any suggestions on where to grab power to bypass the switch? sorry if that sounds simple but I dislike working under the dash. I don't know how you big boys do it.





Originally Posted by Michael Ecks
Before you go disassembling the dash does your car have a separate hazard flasher? My Challenger has one under the right side of the dash in addition to the one at the fuze box.. Mine under the dash below the ashtray went out and took my brake lights with it, replaced it and brake lights came back simple as that.


I tried another flasher but I found a three pronged piece, I have no idea what that is. The emergency flasher I found was close to the Ebrake pedal the second three pronger was right of the column.

Re: No brake lights [Re: LimeliteAero] #2859840
12/14/20 01:14 PM
12/14/20 01:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,843
UPPER MICHIGAN, MARQUETTE COUN...
N
NITROUSN Offline
I Live Here
NITROUSN  Offline
I Live Here
N

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,843
UPPER MICHIGAN, MARQUETTE COUN...
The flasher's have nothing to do with the brake lights working. Do you have power at the brake light switch? When activating the brake switch do you have power going out of the switch. Two simple tests you need to verify.

Re: No brake lights [Re: NITROUSN] #2859867
12/14/20 02:16 PM
12/14/20 02:16 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,940
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,940
north of coder
the brake light switch only has two wires.
one is power in, and the other gets that power [out] when the pedal is depressed, completing the circuit.
a very easy and necessary test to do before delving into the turn signal switch.
please keep us updated on your progress.
beer

Re: No brake lights [Re: moparx] #2859961
12/14/20 04:40 PM
12/14/20 04:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
NachoRT74 Online content
master
NachoRT74  Online Content
master

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
Pink AT BRAKE PEDAL SWITCH is constant hot, white is output to turning switch which is NC with dark green and brown wires running to tail lights ( one on each side ) while TS is in rest position.

That's the full circuit.

Last edited by NachoRT74; 12/15/20 05:17 AM.
Re: No brake lights [Re: NachoRT74] #2859988
12/14/20 05:53 PM
12/14/20 05:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,897
Lincoln Nebraska
R
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track
RapidRobert  Offline
Circle Track
R

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,897
Lincoln Nebraska
seperate the TS harness. see if the white wire in the body half of the connector is hot with the brake pedal depressed. jump 12V to the 2 wires Nacho mentioned in the same body half of the connector & see of the brakes lights light up


live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth
Re: No brake lights [Re: RapidRobert] #2860039
12/14/20 07:26 PM
12/14/20 07:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,640
Freeport IL USA
P
poorboy Offline
master
poorboy  Offline
master
P

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,640
Freeport IL USA
It may also sound pretty dumb, but I've seen times when both brake light bulbs were bad. It sucks to go through a bunch of testing just to find out the bulbs were bad. Been there, done that. Its the simple stuff that trips us up sometimes. Gene

Re: No brake lights [Re: RapidRobert] #2860170
12/15/20 05:00 AM
12/15/20 05:00 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
NachoRT74 Online content
master
NachoRT74  Online Content
master

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
Originally Posted by RapidRobert
seperate the TS harness. see if the white wire in the body half of the connector is hot with the brake pedal depressed. jump 12V to the 2 wires Nacho mentioned in the same body half of the connector & see of the brakes lights light up


Actually wouldn't need to disconect the plug, it can be made with plug conected and jump them out from back of conector with a small wire.

Once it happened to me the white wire on TS plug was broken down the wire cover, but TS itself was still good.

About the replacement TS available... several brands but to me all are made by the same manufacturer. They get all same wiring color codes ( way diff from the original ones ) and same yellow canceling cam. Is about luck, some came out from factory better than others. A friend of mine got one with couple of wires swapped out at turning switch riveted terminals. He had to cut and splice correctly those to make it work as it must ( or swap them out at plug ). It took us around 20 minutes to find the reason why it wasn't working good untill decide to track wire by wire from an original one and comparing with the replacement piece. Then also compare with other replacement TS pics on the web which confirmed that. A factory assembly mistake. Sure these chinesium pieces won't last long the same than originals NOS, but for the price of NOS one you can get 3 or 4 of the chinesium pieces, AND usually now our cars are not driven like before so they can hold the new use for a decent time. SO if you don't get the chance to get a NOS one, the chinesium replacements are still a "decent "option.

Used ones are a good option, BUT is also a random luck, unless you certainly now the use or abuse of those units... would be great to get them from a JY car with speedo still there and low mileage.

One way to certify the low use of used ones is the horn ring contact roller conditions. Is not weird the roller getting stuck and beginning to get flat out by the horn ring friction down the steering wheel.

Later Mopar replacements ( incorrectly being sold as NOS ) and chinesium replacements are not anymore with the roller stud, but a flat stud... still spring loaded thought.

ON A SIDE NOTE:

If the test shows/confirms a damaged TS A canceling cam replacement ( which is also available and cheaper ) could make the fix job! And wouldn't need to replace the full switch. The canceling cam section is which carries the brakes contacts same as turnings of course. So would worth the try.

Last edited by NachoRT74; 12/16/20 08:27 AM.
Re: No brake lights [Re: NachoRT74] #2860601
12/16/20 07:19 AM
12/16/20 07:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
LimeliteAero Offline OP
master
LimeliteAero  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,548
SE Pa.
Thanks everyone, seems like I have a fighting chance on narrowing it down over the next dew days.

Re: No brake lights [Re: Michael Ecks] #2860623
12/16/20 08:36 AM
12/16/20 08:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
NachoRT74 Online content
master
NachoRT74  Online Content
master

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
Originally Posted by Michael Ecks
Before you go disassembling the dash does your car have a separate hazard flasher? My Challenger has one under the right side of the dash in addition to the one at the fuze box.. Mine under the dash below the ashtray went out and took my brake lights with it, replaced it and brake lights came back simple as that.


that makes no sense. Hazzard and brakes circuit runs through diff routes up to TS. Hazzard runs through a pink wire at TS plug, while brakes runs through the white wire ( and turning flasher on the red wire ). Is true tipically both ( brakes and Hazzard flasher ) share same fuse, but they still runs on diff routes between fuse and TS.

then at TS they share part of the wiring to feed rears high intensity filaments.

So if fuse went out, both will be lost, but if Hazzard flasher gets damaged, brakes will still work.

If rear wiring section ( dark green and brown ) &/or bulbs fail, will loose both too. Or either just one side or the other.

IF you turn on hazzards &/or turning switch to both sides and high intensity light works ( not parking ), wiring and bulbs are good. So will point out to a TS ( or candeling cam ) failure or brake pedal switch failure.

Re: No brake lights [Re: LimeliteAero] #2860627
12/16/20 08:47 AM
12/16/20 08:47 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
NachoRT74 Online content
master
NachoRT74  Online Content
master

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,780
Caracas, Venezuela, SouthAmeri...
Originally Posted by LimeliteAero
Thanks everyone! I have checked the fuses and tried another switch at the pedal. any suggestions on where to grab power to bypass the switch? sorry if that sounds simple but I dislike working under the dash. I don't know how you big boys do it.


you can jump out the pedal switch between red and white wires... that will keep on the brakes if TS and rest of circutery is good... and pink wire is hot of course.


Originally Posted by LimeliteAero

Originally Posted by Michael Ecks
Before you go disassembling the dash does your car have a separate hazard flasher? My Challenger has one under the right side of the dash in addition to the one at the fuze box.. Mine under the dash below the ashtray went out and took my brake lights with it, replaced it and brake lights came back simple as that.


I tried another flasher but I found a three pronged piece, I have no idea what that is. The emergency flasher I found was close to the Ebrake pedal the second three pronger was right of the column.


Stock blinker flashers are just 2 prongs both ends handling positive, one is input the other one is output. They get heat by the load caused by the bulbs power going throught when activating switches making the bimetallic to break out the points inside, cut the power untill cools off and close points again. Than makes the blinking work again and again... heat and cool, heat and cool.

There are two kind of these flashers, one to handle turnings able to handle 3-4 bulbs, and hazzards able to handle up to 6-8 bubs and called heavy duty. Usually labeled with a green band. Factory ones were squared.

There is a 3 prongs flasher, about the size and shape of a wine bottle cork seal, but that's for the ign switch light courtesy light ( and some years also for seatbelt warning light, usually 70s and 71s ), but has nothing to do with hazzards or brakes.

Re: No brake lights [Re: NachoRT74] #2860631
12/16/20 08:58 AM
12/16/20 08:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,747
Gilbertsville, PA 19525
P
Pntastar69 Offline
master
Pntastar69  Offline
master
P

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,747
Gilbertsville, PA 19525
Hey Dave. Time to update your avatar.







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1