Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Tie rod install issue #2836114
10/22/20 01:23 PM
10/22/20 01:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
4
4406forPOWER Offline OP
pro stock
4406forPOWER  Offline OP
pro stock
4

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
Ok rebuilding the front end on my 70 Coronet. I went to install the tie rod to the lower control arm. And the tie rod stud is spinning. It looks like the nut might be to the end of the threads without pulling the tie rod in. Because the hole for the cotter pin is higher then where the castle nut is now. Anyone had this issue. Am I suppose to use some sort of spacer on the tie rod? These were form a DR. Diff rebuild kit. The centerlink side had no issues. Thanks in advance.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2836124
10/22/20 01:46 PM
10/22/20 01:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 35,914
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 35,914
Bend,OR USA
The taper on the threaded end needs to be push down into the hole hard enough for it to be held tight while you tighten the nut, they are a interference fit that will have to be forced apart with a special tapered tool to remove them like you had to do when you took them apart.
Don't oil or grease those surfaces tsk
Clean and dry only up wrench


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: Cab_Burge] #2836147
10/22/20 02:32 PM
10/22/20 02:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,903
Iowa
burdar Offline
Owen's Dad
burdar  Offline
Owen's Dad

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,903
Iowa
Can you post a picture? From your description, it sounds like you have the nut all the way down to the end of the threads but the tie rod is still loose in the LBJ. If that's the case, you might have an incorrect part.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: burdar] #2836264
10/22/20 07:48 PM
10/22/20 07:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,952
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
master
TJP  Offline
master
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,952
Omaha Ne
Originally Posted by burdar
Can you post a picture? From your description, it sounds like you have the nut all the way down to the end of the threads but the tie rod is still loose in the LBJ. If that's the case, you might have an incorrect part.

Or a worn socket that can happen if a car has been driven for an extended period with a loose nut on the stud wink

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2836331
10/22/20 10:27 PM
10/22/20 10:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 123
Ohio
C
carteravs Offline
member
carteravs  Offline
member
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 123
Ohio
I have seen older NOS tie rod end packages that included a flat washer, with instructions that said to only use the washer if it had one on it before. Evidently there were some ball joints, centerlinks, etc. with OS holes on some cars.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: carteravs] #2836445
10/23/20 10:46 AM
10/23/20 10:46 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 990
Apollo, PA.
B1MAXX Offline
super stock
B1MAXX  Offline
super stock

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 990
Apollo, PA.
give it a smack on the bottom side of the tie rod to seat the taper then tighten the nut. or at least run the nut off and see if your out of threads.

Last edited by B1MAXX; 10/23/20 10:51 AM.
Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: B1MAXX] #2836729
10/23/20 08:09 PM
10/23/20 08:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,473
Freeport IL USA
P
poorboy Offline
master
poorboy  Offline
master
P

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,473
Freeport IL USA
If the nut is bottoming out and not tightening the tie rod in the tapered end, you will need a washer/spacer under the nut. If you can't locate an oem washer/spacer, you may get by with a grade 8 washer. Be sure you get one with a large enough hole to fit down over at least the top 1/2 of the taper on the tie rod end. The washer will go between the top of the tapered part and the bottom side of the nut. Gene

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2839347
10/30/20 02:40 PM
10/30/20 02:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
4
4406forPOWER Offline OP
pro stock
4406forPOWER  Offline OP
pro stock
4

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
OK finally got back out to see what's going on. It looks like I ran the nut to the end of the threads. I figured that due to where the cotter pin hole was in relation to where the nut was. Both the tie rod and lower ball joint are new. Is it ok to put a small spacer on the nut side to tighten it to spec? I hate doing this. I guess I could try a different tie rod end. Ideas? Thanks

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2839396
10/30/20 05:04 PM
10/30/20 05:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 457
Los Osos, Ca
C
CKessel Offline
mopar
CKessel  Offline
mopar
C

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 457
Los Osos, Ca
Looks like the rod ends are being consolidated by the manufactures like the ball joints. I found out a few years ago that the manufactures started using the tapered studs from other applications so they could cut down logistic/maunfacturing costs. What you have to do is put washer/washers under the nut now as the studs can be longer and the nut goes past where the pin gets set. There is a possibility that your center link had enlarged holes but it sounds more like parts issue. Another discovery I made on the ball joints was that the stud length could be different box to box or manufacture to manufacture which made it necessary to verify the stud length on the joints if you were replacing them as singles or pairs.


Carl Kessel
Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: CKessel] #2839629
10/31/20 08:24 AM
10/31/20 08:24 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 990
Apollo, PA.
B1MAXX Offline
super stock
B1MAXX  Offline
super stock

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 990
Apollo, PA.
Usually the ones that are like that come with washers for under the nuts.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: B1MAXX] #2839666
10/31/20 09:49 AM
10/31/20 09:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 457
Los Osos, Ca
C
CKessel Offline
mopar
CKessel  Offline
mopar
C

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 457
Los Osos, Ca
Yup. Plus I found on the ball joints that some were a different length above the taper. Kind of like the Howe or QA1 circle track units though not loose like them.


Carl Kessel
Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2839699
10/31/20 10:49 AM
10/31/20 10:49 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,915
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Offline
master
DrCharles  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,915
West Plains, MO
Originally Posted by 4406forPOWER
These were form a DR. Diff rebuild kit. The centerlink side had no issues. Thanks in advance.


Sorry if this is a silly question, but have you called Cass (Dr. Diff) yet? shruggy

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: DrCharles] #2839815
10/31/20 04:01 PM
10/31/20 04:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
4
4406forPOWER Offline OP
pro stock
4406forPOWER  Offline OP
pro stock
4

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
No I haven't. I in no means meant to say it's Dr. Diffs fault. Or complain about him. I just mentioned that just in case someone had a similar issue with his tie rods. I'll just try to find a washer that will work.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2839842
10/31/20 05:16 PM
10/31/20 05:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
4
4406forPOWER Offline OP
pro stock
4406forPOWER  Offline OP
pro stock
4

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
Looks like the metal washer from the idler arm will be about perfect. Does anyone just sell the idler arm washer? As I only had one spare.

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2839895
10/31/20 07:27 PM
10/31/20 07:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,915
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Offline
master
DrCharles  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,915
West Plains, MO
Originally Posted by 4406forPOWER
No I haven't. I in no means meant to say it's Dr. Diffs fault. Or complain about him. I just mentioned that just in case someone had a similar issue with his tie rods. I'll just try to find a washer that will work.


I am not saying that either rolleyes The point I was trying to make is that since he sells the tie rods, he has probably seen this before and will help you out!

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2840297
11/01/20 04:31 PM
11/01/20 04:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
4
4406forPOWER Offline OP
pro stock
4406forPOWER  Offline OP
pro stock
4

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,433
Nebraska
Just an update. Used a grade 8 washer to allow it to tighten without running out of threads. The pass side went together fine with no need for the washer. So My guess is the lower ball joint taper was a little loose on that side. Do you think I'll have any issues with the tie rod being about 1/4 further up in the ball joint? Binding? Thanks

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2840666
11/02/20 12:01 PM
11/02/20 12:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,498
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,498
north of coder
nothing to worry about if the tie rod stud is tight in the taper.
beer

Re: Tie rod install issue [Re: 4406forPOWER] #2840788
11/02/20 03:32 PM
11/02/20 03:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,379
Seattle, WA
3
375inStroke Offline
Special needs person
375inStroke  Offline
Special needs person
3

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,379
Seattle, WA
Originally Posted by 4406forPOWER
Just an update. Used a grade 8 washer to allow it to tighten without running out of threads.


Exactly. Even the washers in the box might not be hardened, and the nut will just dig through it, and you'll never get it torqued to spec.

[Linked Image]







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1