Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working #2835482
10/21/20 08:58 AM
10/21/20 08:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
on my wifes 2010 Challenger, the touch screen on her radio isnt working.
its got the sirius radio + sound system, but no gps

the touch screen doesnt work and therefore cant control much besides whatever is accessible thru the steering wheel which works.

so do i need to buy another radio?
is there a fix for this?
or if i do need to buy another radio, can i get one with a built in gps without adding anything else?

help

thanks

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2835609
10/21/20 12:14 PM
10/21/20 12:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,434
Blair County,PA
62maxwgn Offline
master
62maxwgn  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,434
Blair County,PA
Tony,did the car come with a CD ? My suburban did the same thing,all I had to do was run the disc.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: 62maxwgn] #2835629
10/21/20 12:34 PM
10/21/20 12:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
yes, what disc are you refering to?

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2835634
10/21/20 12:35 PM
10/21/20 12:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
ok, found the factory disc, but we cant run it cause the touch screen doesnt work

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2835651
10/21/20 01:02 PM
10/21/20 01:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,903
Iowa
burdar Offline
Owen's Dad
burdar  Offline
Owen's Dad

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,903
Iowa
Good luck. The touch screen on my 14 Ram stopped working when the truck only had 30k miles.(was out of warranty because of time) I ordered a new one in May 2019. In February or March of this year, it finally arrived at the dealer.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: burdar] #2835700
10/21/20 03:02 PM
10/21/20 03:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
MD-USA
D
Dodgeguy101 Offline
mopar
Dodgeguy101  Offline
mopar
D

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
MD-USA
My 2011 Ram radio did the same thing. I just went on ebay and got a radio, but I got the EXACT same part number on the radio, unhooked the plugs, plugged the new one in and all is well at the moment. Jegs I think has radios, just have to know the one you have to get the exact same one. No flashing, no nothing, it just worked. At least mine did.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: Dodgeguy101] #2835743
10/21/20 04:41 PM
10/21/20 04:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,047
fredericksburg,va
C
cudaman1969 Offline
master
cudaman1969  Offline
master
C

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,047
fredericksburg,va
I would like to turn my 2015 SRT one off for good, but they can’t be. You’re lucky

Last edited by cudaman1969; 10/21/20 04:42 PM.
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2835786
10/21/20 06:05 PM
10/21/20 06:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,517
Highland, MI.
Sunroofcuda Offline
master
Sunroofcuda  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,517
Highland, MI.
Hello high-tech touchscreen stuff! Everything is fun & games until it stops working.


No Man With A Good Car Needs To Be Justified
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: Sunroofcuda] #2836022
10/22/20 10:01 AM
10/22/20 10:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,471
at work
Grizzly Offline
master
Grizzly  Offline
master

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,471
at work
Mmm, programmed to fail. What a nice feature.

You can thank the smart phone and computer industry for creating the disease. I would imagine by now they make a vehicle just gradually get slower and slower and cook you out of the cab until you throw it away and get another phone, I mean, car. laugh

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2836230
10/22/20 06:44 PM
10/22/20 06:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,248
home of the Buckeyes
Butterscotch71 Offline
Lost Title
Butterscotch71  Offline
Lost Title

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,248
home of the Buckeyes
Should be able to find one fairly cheap on ebay. When I had my 2009 I upgraded from the base radio to the touch screen and it was plug and plan. Just beware that there are two different bus speeds. I believe the ones in the Rams have the different speed. They aren't interchangeable. On the 2010s, you need more than just the radio to add GPS...need the antenna too.


addict:to devote or surrender (oneself) to something habitually or obsessively ....hmmmm
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: Butterscotch71] #2836442
10/23/20 10:41 AM
10/23/20 10:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
thanks for the help

i guess once i find a radio then ill need to figure out how to get the sirius subscription switched over to the new radio

does anyone know if thats automatic, or do i need info off of the new radio?

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2836446
10/23/20 10:49 AM
10/23/20 10:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 31,471
Grand Prairie,Texas
stumpy Offline
I Win
stumpy  Offline
I Win

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 31,471
Grand Prairie,Texas
You will need the code on the new radio. Should be on a sticker.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: stumpy] #2836496
10/23/20 12:33 PM
10/23/20 12:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 622
Central Pa
M
moparjim79 Offline
mopar
moparjim79  Offline
mopar
M

Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 622
Central Pa
Originally Posted by stumpy
You will need the code on the new radio. Should be on a sticker.


I'm pretty sure if after you install it, and Sirius doesn't work, select channel 1. It should have your name, account and Sirius number that they can patch remotely. Had to have this done once in a grand cherokee.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2836654
10/23/20 05:17 PM
10/23/20 05:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,248
home of the Buckeyes
Butterscotch71 Offline
Lost Title
Butterscotch71  Offline
Lost Title

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,248
home of the Buckeyes
this will help with bus speed and part # info
http://www.wkjeeps.com/Mygig_parts.htm


addict:to devote or surrender (oneself) to something habitually or obsessively ....hmmmm
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2838270
10/28/20 09:33 AM
10/28/20 09:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,094
Addison Twp, Mi.
RobG Offline
top fuel
RobG  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,094
Addison Twp, Mi.
Contact United Radio in Syracuse NY. They will repair or swap it out.


Not to get technical - but according to CHEMISTRY - Alcohol is a SOLUTION!

It is almost impossible to remember how tragic a place the world is when one is playing golf. -- Robert Lynd

Having a dirty mind makes ordinary conversations more interesting!
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: RobG] #2838302
10/28/20 11:06 AM
10/28/20 11:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
Originally Posted by RobG
Contact United Radio in Syracuse NY. They will repair or swap it out.


ok thanks

do you know what their prices are?

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: TONY_DAGOSTINO] #2838317
10/28/20 11:51 AM
10/28/20 11:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,094
Addison Twp, Mi.
RobG Offline
top fuel
RobG  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,094
Addison Twp, Mi.
Tony, United Radio is one of three FCA (and other OEMs) approved repair facilities for audio and clusters. You want to have them provide a "customer Pay" swap of your audio head unit. The cost of the refurbished unit should fall in the $250 to $300 range.

You will need to transfer your Sirius acct to the new unit.


Not to get technical - but according to CHEMISTRY - Alcohol is a SOLUTION!

It is almost impossible to remember how tragic a place the world is when one is playing golf. -- Robert Lynd

Having a dirty mind makes ordinary conversations more interesting!
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: RobG] #2838338
10/28/20 12:41 PM
10/28/20 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,001
Niles , Ohio
T
therocks Offline
Its Lost
therocks  Offline
Its Lost
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,001
Niles , Ohio
Touch screen on my Journey did the same thing.There was a sit on Google that said to hold the eject button Cant remember how long etc.Started wotking.Guess it must be pretty much common.Rocky


Chrysler Firepower
Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: therocks] #2838621
10/29/20 04:46 AM
10/29/20 04:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,336
Port Huron, Michigan
MI_Custumz Offline
master
MI_Custumz  Offline
master

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,336
Port Huron, Michigan
If you have Max Care Warranty, should be covered and only $100 deductible.

Re: 2010 Challenger touch screen radio not working [Re: MI_Custumz] #2838677
10/29/20 09:13 AM
10/29/20 09:13 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
TONY_DAGOSTINO Offline OP
master
TONY_DAGOSTINO  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,720
DELAWARE
its a 2010, so its way out of warranty, but thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1