Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame #2792050
07/02/20 09:29 PM
07/02/20 09:29 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
V
Vert Offline OP
master
Vert  Offline OP
master
V

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
My car had a k-frame replaced years ago..It had 7/16x1.5 bolts holding the brackets to the k-frame. It had 5/16 bolts holding the sway bar clamps to the bracket. I swapped the k-frame for an Al Debevic converted hemi k-frame. The sway bar bracket holes have flash and won't take a bolt currently w/o opening up (PS steering box was very difficult to fit also, and motor mount has to be cut for oil pump clearance w/motor mount, so not an easy swap). Trying to determine if 7/16 or 3/8 is actual size to use before I open holes.
*** So can somebody please tell me the bolt size for the mount-to-k-frame pieces? ***

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792365
07/03/20 03:51 PM
07/03/20 03:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
the first question i would ask is, what size hole is in your bar mounting brackets.
i'm not trying to be a smartazz. this simple question will determine the size needed in the K.
beer

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: moparx] #2792403
07/03/20 06:24 PM
07/03/20 06:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
V
Vert Offline OP
master
Vert  Offline OP
master
V

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
No Prob. 7/16 is what the bracket is. I'm just curious as I have 2 K-frames, one with holes, and one with weld-splash choking the holes. And the one that the sway bar was on had been replaced, likely when the car lived in the UK.

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792409
07/03/20 06:58 PM
07/03/20 06:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 27,245
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 27,245
Oregon
If this is a restoration question then post it in the resto forum and somebody will tell you the size of the bolt as well as the correct head marking and coating. If this is just a driver then it doesn't matter. Use what fits. Factory bolts were probably 3/8-16. The FSM might tell you and show torque specs.

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: AndyF] #2792448
07/03/20 08:58 PM
07/03/20 08:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
H
hemirdrnnr Offline
top fuel
hemirdrnnr  Offline
top fuel
H

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fits-Mopar-64-69-Sway-Bar-Support-Mount-Bolts-SuperBee-RoadRunner-Dart-Charger/293523810207?hash=item445761e79f:g:j5UAAOSwJiReespP

These are the original style bolts I can't get to my car right now, if this doesn't help maybe tomorrow I can get to it.

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792611
07/04/20 12:33 PM
07/04/20 12:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
if the brackets have 7/16" holes, then more than likely, it uses 3/8" bolts. just standard engineering practice to ensure assembly is possible with tolerance stack ups.
i would use 3/8" bolts, grade 5 at least, of the correct length needed.
beer

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792625
07/04/20 12:59 PM
07/04/20 12:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,155
New Jersey Bada Bing
bremotorsports Offline
top fuel
bremotorsports  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,155
New Jersey Bada Bing

Go to my website, and separately punch these numbers into the green search button:


1718


1719


Both types were used for your application.


Bill Rolik


www.billrolikenterprises.com

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: hemirdrnnr] #2792701
07/04/20 04:41 PM
07/04/20 04:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
H
hemirdrnnr Offline
top fuel
hemirdrnnr  Offline
top fuel
H

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
Originally Posted by hemirdrnnr
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fits-Mopar-64-69-Sway-Bar-Support-Mount-Bolts-SuperBee-RoadRunner-Dart-Charger/293523810207?hash=item445761e79f:g:j5UAAOSwJiReespP

These are the original style bolts I can't get to my car right now, if this doesn't help maybe tomorrow I can get to it.


Are these the brackets you are talking about, if so the bolts are 5/16 - 18 thread and thread is 1"

sway bar mount.jpg
Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: hemirdrnnr] #2792710
07/04/20 05:15 PM
07/04/20 05:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
V
Vert Offline OP
master
Vert  Offline OP
master
V

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
Thanks for the pict and info. I was unclear in my description. I have an 71 E-body. Mine look totally different. Those are self-locking nuts. 7/16 and 5/16. The straps may be homemade for all I can tell. 7/8 bar. I have two 1.125 bars, but they wont fit with the skidplate.

IMG_8577.JPGIMG_8578.JPGIMG_8579.JPGIMG_8580.JPG
Last edited by Vert; 07/04/20 05:29 PM.
Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792758
07/04/20 08:21 PM
07/04/20 08:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
H
hemirdrnnr Offline
top fuel
hemirdrnnr  Offline
top fuel
H

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,638
Mobile Al
Sorry I should have ask , now I need to find a new good deed before dark Good Luck! runaway

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: hemirdrnnr] #2792776
07/04/20 08:57 PM
07/04/20 08:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
V
Vert Offline OP
master
Vert  Offline OP
master
V

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,272
Annapolis, MD, USA
You did a good deed! It counts!

Re: Bolt size - e-body - sway bar to k-frame [Re: Vert] #2792902
07/05/20 10:47 AM
07/05/20 10:47 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,105
north of coder
i am not familiar with an E-body, but i have seen that type of mounting setup before.
if you want to use what you have, and the brackets fit your hole spacing, just drill your K holes to the size needed for the bolts you have.
just my opinion, nothing more.
if factory correctness is your goal, a FSM is necessary, and the restoration forum can help you find the answer.
beer





Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1