Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? #2742931
02/14/20 06:39 PM
02/14/20 06:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Unwind it or leave it at your last setting?

I unwind mine

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742932
02/14/20 06:42 PM
02/14/20 06:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,796
Northern NJ
StukaJU87 Offline
master
StukaJU87  Offline
master

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,796
Northern NJ
I unwind mine also.


Scott

1969 Super Bee, 383/4 speed


Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742934
02/14/20 06:47 PM
02/14/20 06:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18,826
It's a dry heat
gtx6970 Offline
I Live Here
gtx6970  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18,826
It's a dry heat
Unwind it, ALWAYS

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742940
02/14/20 07:15 PM
02/14/20 07:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,518
W. Kentucky
justinp61 Offline
I Live Here
justinp61  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,518
W. Kentucky
I was told by the guy who used to do the calibration tests to store my clickers on the lowest settings, so thats what I do.

Last edited by justinp61; 02/14/20 07:15 PM.
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: justinp61] #2742951
02/14/20 07:40 PM
02/14/20 07:40 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,528
nowhere
S
Sniper Offline
pro stock
Sniper  Offline
pro stock
S

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,528
nowhere
Depends on what the manufacturer says. Some don't require it, Stahlwille for example.

But I generally store them at zero.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742960
02/14/20 08:01 PM
02/14/20 08:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 626
Usa
A
A39Coronet Offline
mopar
A39Coronet  Offline
mopar
A

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 626
Usa
I store mine at 5ft/lbs or in/lbs depending on units. When working at a DoD contractor, one of our mechanics said that's what he did. I have no validity to it's benefit but that's what I've always done.


Follow my G3 Hemi Barracuda build on Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSDAWczXoZw&list=PLTus_wQu8POADHEeJNJp2nr4NMHEyB9EK

2015 Tri-State Stock Super Stock Champion
2017 Monster Mopar Pro Winner
2018 Monster Mopar No Box Winner
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Sniper] #2742973
02/14/20 08:31 PM
02/14/20 08:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,841
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Offline
master
DrCharles  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,841
West Plains, MO
Unwind to zero for me too.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742993
02/14/20 09:19 PM
02/14/20 09:19 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 792
Phila
P
PhillyRag Offline
super stock
PhillyRag  Offline
super stock
P

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 792
Phila
How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ?

What's a clicker wrench? Ratchet tipe?

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: PhillyRag] #2742997
02/14/20 09:22 PM
02/14/20 09:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,841
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Offline
master
DrCharles  Offline
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,841
West Plains, MO
Two basic types of mechanical torque wrenches that I know of:

Beam-type (bends with increasing torque, pointer on a scale);
Click-type (something inside gives a loud "click" when the torque setting is reached).

What do they call them in Philly? shruggy

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: DrCharles] #2743034
02/14/20 11:45 PM
02/14/20 11:45 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,528
nowhere
S
Sniper Offline
pro stock
Sniper  Offline
pro stock
S

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 1,528
nowhere
You forgot the dial type, I have one that reads up to 1200 in/lbs.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: DrCharles] #2743063
02/15/20 02:15 AM
02/15/20 02:15 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14,989
California
BloFish Offline
I Live Here
BloFish  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14,989
California
Unwind


It doesn't really matter whether you win or loose...
as long as you look good doing it!

‘65 A100
‘69 Barracuda
‘06 Mega Cab 2500
‘14 Mercedes-Benz SLK
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: BloFish] #2743129
02/15/20 10:47 AM
02/15/20 10:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,996
Niles , Ohio
T
therocks Offline
Its Lost
therocks  Offline
Its Lost
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,996
Niles , Ohio
My SnapOns areat zero.Been that way since I bought them 40 years ago.Rocky


Chrysler Firepower
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: therocks] #2743132
02/15/20 10:53 AM
02/15/20 10:53 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Originally Posted by therocks
My SnapOns areat zero.Been that way since I bought them 400 years ago.Rocky


fIxEd !

You were the service manager in Fred flintstones rock quarry ? wave

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: StukaJU87] #2743134
02/15/20 11:01 AM
02/15/20 11:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,022
Minn
S
SportF Offline
super stock
SportF  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,022
Minn
I have a quality click wrench that I thought I should oil after having it for 20 years or so, It immediately quit working.

So, I call up a calibration company and ask if they can calibrate. After giving the model and such he said yes, send it in. I told him what I did and he exploded on the phone and so badly want to call me a dip chip, but caught himself. He said, send it in, I can fix it.

Don't oil it, ever.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743136
02/15/20 11:03 AM
02/15/20 11:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 999
Slidell, La.
D
doctor_mopar Offline
super stock
doctor_mopar  Offline
super stock
D

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 999
Slidell, La.
Unwind to Zero on my Snap On torque wrenches, as per instructions . Used occasionally for the past 30 years I am going to test the calibration this year.


------------------------ It doesn't matter what you do.........As long as you look good doing it !
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: doctor_mopar] #2743137
02/15/20 11:07 AM
02/15/20 11:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
King of the thread hijackers

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,345
Florida STAYcation
Originally Posted by doctor_mopar
Unwind to Zero on my Snap On torque wrenches, as per instructions .


... as per ...Galina ?

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743146
02/15/20 11:19 AM
02/15/20 11:19 AM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,235
Morristown Tn.
7
71birdJ68 Offline
master
71birdJ68  Offline
master
7

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,235
Morristown Tn.
Un wind to the lowest setting, per USAF

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: 71birdJ68] #2743174
02/15/20 12:39 PM
02/15/20 12:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,254
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,254
north of coder
unwind to zero.
see where the beam type rests ? zero as well.
beer

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743187
02/15/20 01:11 PM
02/15/20 01:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,932
Mt Morris Michigan
mopar dave Offline
master
mopar dave  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,932
Mt Morris Michigan
I always store on lowest setting. Mine are 20ftlb.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: moparx] #2743213
02/15/20 02:16 PM
02/15/20 02:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,518
W. Kentucky
justinp61 Offline
I Live Here
justinp61  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,518
W. Kentucky
Originally Posted by moparx
unwind to zero.
see where the beam type rests ? zero as well.
beer


Neither of my clickers go to “zero”, one is 20 fp and the other is 20 ip IIRC. So I undwind them to their lowest setting.

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1