Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? #2742931
02/14/20 05:39 PM
02/14/20 05:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
Too Many Posts
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Unwind it or leave it at your last setting?

I unwind mine

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742932
02/14/20 05:42 PM
02/14/20 05:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,776
Northern NJ
StukaJU87 Offline
master
StukaJU87  Offline
master

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,776
Northern NJ
I unwind mine also.


Scott

1969 Super Bee, 383/4 speed


Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742934
02/14/20 05:47 PM
02/14/20 05:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18,185
It's a dry heat
gtx6970 Online content
I Live Here
gtx6970  Online Content
I Live Here

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 18,185
It's a dry heat
Unwind it, ALWAYS

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742940
02/14/20 06:15 PM
02/14/20 06:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,211
W. Kentucky
justinp61 Offline
I Live Here
justinp61  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,211
W. Kentucky
I was told by the guy who used to do the calibration tests to store my clickers on the lowest settings, so thats what I do.

Last edited by justinp61; 02/14/20 06:15 PM.
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: justinp61] #2742951
02/14/20 06:40 PM
02/14/20 06:40 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 981
nowhere
S
Sniper Offline
super stock
Sniper  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 981
nowhere
Depends on what the manufacturer says. Some don't require it, Stahlwille for example.

But I generally store them at zero.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742960
02/14/20 07:01 PM
02/14/20 07:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 528
Usa
A
A39Coronet Offline
mopar
A39Coronet  Offline
mopar
A

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 528
Usa
I store mine at 5ft/lbs or in/lbs depending on units. When working at a DoD contractor, one of our mechanics said that's what he did. I have no validity to it's benefit but that's what I've always done.


Follow my G3 Hemi Barracuda build on Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSDAWczXoZw&list=PLTus_wQu8POADHEeJNJp2nr4NMHEyB9EK

2015 Tri-State Stock Super Stock Champion
2017 Monster Mopar Pro Winner
2018 Monster Mopar No Box Winner
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Sniper] #2742973
02/14/20 07:31 PM
02/14/20 07:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,667
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Online content
master
DrCharles  Online Content
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,667
West Plains, MO
Unwind to zero for me too.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2742993
02/14/20 08:19 PM
02/14/20 08:19 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 496
Phila
P
PhillyRag Offline
mopar
PhillyRag  Offline
mopar
P

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 496
Phila
How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ?

What's a clicker wrench? Ratchet tipe?

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: PhillyRag] #2742997
02/14/20 08:22 PM
02/14/20 08:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,667
West Plains, MO
DrCharles Online content
master
DrCharles  Online Content
master

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,667
West Plains, MO
Two basic types of mechanical torque wrenches that I know of:

Beam-type (bends with increasing torque, pointer on a scale);
Click-type (something inside gives a loud "click" when the torque setting is reached).

What do they call them in Philly? shruggy

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: DrCharles] #2743034
02/14/20 10:45 PM
02/14/20 10:45 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 981
nowhere
S
Sniper Offline
super stock
Sniper  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 981
nowhere
You forgot the dial type, I have one that reads up to 1200 in/lbs.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: DrCharles] #2743063
02/15/20 01:15 AM
02/15/20 01:15 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14,714
Lake Oroville
BloFish Offline
I Live Here
BloFish  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14,714
Lake Oroville
Unwind


It doesn't really matter whether you win or loose...
as long as you look good doing it!

‘65 A100
‘69 Barracuda
‘06 Mega Cab 2500
‘14 Mercedes-Benz SLK
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: BloFish] #2743129
02/15/20 09:47 AM
02/15/20 09:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,876
Niles , Ohio
T
therocks Offline
Its Lost
therocks  Offline
Its Lost
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 19,876
Niles , Ohio
My SnapOns areat zero.Been that way since I bought them 40 years ago.Rocky


Chrysler Firepower
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: therocks] #2743132
02/15/20 09:53 AM
02/15/20 09:53 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
Too Many Posts
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Originally Posted by therocks
My SnapOns areat zero.Been that way since I bought them 400 years ago.Rocky


fIxEd !

You were the service manager in Fred flintstones rock quarry ? wave

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: StukaJU87] #2743134
02/15/20 10:01 AM
02/15/20 10:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 969
Minn
S
SportF Offline
super stock
SportF  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 969
Minn
I have a quality click wrench that I thought I should oil after having it for 20 years or so, It immediately quit working.

So, I call up a calibration company and ask if they can calibrate. After giving the model and such he said yes, send it in. I told him what I did and he exploded on the phone and so badly want to call me a dip chip, but caught himself. He said, send it in, I can fix it.

Don't oil it, ever.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743136
02/15/20 10:03 AM
02/15/20 10:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 996
Slidell, La.
D
doctor_mopar Offline
super stock
doctor_mopar  Offline
super stock
D

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 996
Slidell, La.
Unwind to Zero on my Snap On torque wrenches, as per instructions . Used occasionally for the past 30 years I am going to test the calibration this year.


------------------------ It doesn't matter what you do.........As long as you look good doing it !
Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: doctor_mopar] #2743137
02/15/20 10:07 AM
02/15/20 10:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Doc Fiberglass Offline OP
Too Many Posts
Doc Fiberglass  Offline OP
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 20,180
...in Florida on a permanent S...
Originally Posted by doctor_mopar
Unwind to Zero on my Snap On torque wrenches, as per instructions .


... as per ...Galina ?

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743146
02/15/20 10:19 AM
02/15/20 10:19 AM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,198
Morristown Tn.
7
71birdJ68 Offline
master
71birdJ68  Offline
master
7

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,198
Morristown Tn.
Un wind to the lowest setting, per USAF

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: 71birdJ68] #2743174
02/15/20 11:39 AM
02/15/20 11:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,344
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 12,344
north of coder
unwind to zero.
see where the beam type rests ? zero as well.
beer

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: Doc Fiberglass] #2743187
02/15/20 12:11 PM
02/15/20 12:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,573
flint michigan
mopar dave Offline
master
mopar dave  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,573
flint michigan
I always store on lowest setting. Mine are 20ftlb.

Re: How do YOU store your clicker torque wrench ? [Re: moparx] #2743213
02/15/20 01:16 PM
02/15/20 01:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,211
W. Kentucky
justinp61 Offline
I Live Here
justinp61  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,211
W. Kentucky
Originally Posted by moparx
unwind to zero.
see where the beam type rests ? zero as well.
beer


Neither of my clickers go to “zero”, one is 20 fp and the other is 20 ip IIRC. So I undwind them to their lowest setting.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Moparts Newest Topics
Data request, what is your cranking PSI?
by 73DAD. 02/20/20 10:43 AM
New Lil Red Truck Prop nut screws!
by cdp. 02/20/20 07:31 AM
Looks like I’m done
by -Cuda. 02/19/20 09:20 PM
Moparts Recent Posts
Anyone have a recommendation for an inexpensive sonic
by mgoblue9798. 02/20/20 11:56 AM
1970 CUDA Vintag for sale.
by Pacnorthcuda. 02/20/20 11:41 AM
Race timing
by JAKE68. 02/20/20 11:36 AM




Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1