Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? #2735331
01/21/20 04:37 PM
01/21/20 04:37 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,915
Finally a HUSKER again
Moparnut426 Offline OP
I Live Here
Moparnut426  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,915
Finally a HUSKER again
SO I like the rapid air maxline kits, but debating on if I need the 3/4 line kit or if the 1/2 line kit will do enough.

I think Ill buy a base 100' 3/4 kit, and add on later if needed, advise or other experience is appreciated.

RIP Stu!

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735345
01/21/20 05:21 PM
01/21/20 05:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,659
Northern MN
1E2C Offline
master
1E2C  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,659
Northern MN
That's what I bought last year but I still haven't had a chance to install it....... lemme know how it works for you.

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: 1E2C] #2735351
01/21/20 05:47 PM
01/21/20 05:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,915
Finally a HUSKER again
Moparnut426 Offline OP
I Live Here
Moparnut426  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,915
Finally a HUSKER again
I cant see spending 135 bucks for a straightener roller set up so Im gonna make mine,

Ill keep you all posted

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735415
01/21/20 08:53 PM
01/21/20 08:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,851
Milford, OH
markz528 Offline
master
markz528  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,851
Milford, OH
You running an air dryer? If not, in my opinion you want copper in order to cool the air to let the water separator work. The recommendation is 50 feet (I used 3/4) of copper pipe before the first drop/separator otherwise you are setting yourself up for water issues. When I went with the 50 ft of 3/4 copper it solved my water issues. It was bad in the summer.

I personally would never use this stuff.


67 Coronet 500 9.610 @ 139.20 mph
67 Coronet 500 (street car) 13.300 @ 101.75 mph
69 GTX (clone) - build in progress......
Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735417
01/21/20 08:57 PM
01/21/20 08:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,827
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
master
TJP  Offline
master
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,827
Omaha Ne
The bigger line is always a better choice even if you don't need the flow now. You may later. I also agree on the copper twocents beer

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735430
01/21/20 09:22 PM
01/21/20 09:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 576
Central Pa
M
moparjim79 Offline
mopar
moparjim79  Offline
mopar
M

Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 576
Central Pa
Lots of questions here, but what are you doing in your shop? We use the maxxair stuff all the time at work. It is so easy to work with and is super rugged. Most of our installs' go --air comp, jt drier, desiccant filter, and maybe a quick and dirty drip leg.

If copper is thought cheaper look at ALL the costs involved in both systems. I like how you can place a used fitting anywhere and it wont leak, and the maxxair line is easy and super quick to cut and bend.

Something else to note- we use all 1/2" stuff, but we supplement our runs with 3-5 gallon stainless tanks to provide immediate air pressure/volume to the direct source, and the system works! The tanks are bought cheap off ebay/amazon( for lowriders w air bag suspensuon) and we plumb for what the customer requires..

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735495
01/22/20 06:49 AM
01/22/20 06:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,325
Kentucky
D
dfsmopars Offline
top fuel
dfsmopars  Offline
top fuel
D

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,325
Kentucky
Did mine over the winter with a heat exchanger from an AC unit and ran 3/4" black iron.


‘72 Charger, 5.9 Magnum, Tremec 5 spd., Pro-Touring
‘14 Big Horn, Quad Cab, 4x4, 1500
Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: dfsmopars] #2735505
01/22/20 08:47 AM
01/22/20 08:47 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,262
north of coder
moparx Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Offline
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,262
north of coder
what do you guys use for a "vibration coupling" [i don't know what the correct name is] from the compressor to the hard line/drier/piping ?
i use[d] 1" black iron for long runs. as is the case around my shop, this "project" is still incomplete.
beer

Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: Moparnut426] #2735517
01/22/20 09:48 AM
01/22/20 09:48 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,804
Spahn Ranch
RMCHRGR Offline
top fuel
RMCHRGR  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,804
Spahn Ranch
Originally Posted by Moparnut426
SO I like the rapid air maxline kits, but debating on if I need the 3/4 line kit or if the 1/2 line kit will do enough.

I think Ill buy a base 100' 3/4 kit, and add on later if needed, advise or other experience is appreciated.

RIP Stu!


Originally Posted by 1E2C
That's what I bought last year but I still haven't had a chance to install it....... lemme know how it works for you.


I got a 100' rapid air system myself. Sadly mine is still in the box too as I am trying to finish the last pieces in my garage. It will get installed once everything else is where I want it. Seems like decent stuff though!

I chose 1/2" line. 3/4" will lose more pressure over longer runs and the compressor will run more often to keep up the volume.

Probably obvious but plan to have a few different points where you can connect to so you're not wrangling hoses from one end of the shop to another. Consider putting one near a door so you can extend it outside when needed.

A drier/separator is a must! Until my Rapid Air system gets installed, I run an air hose directly from the compressor tank and A LOT of water gets into my tools. Surprised me the first time I saw how much there was, it was like turning on a hose instead of an air ratchet. Clearly not the best practice and only use it that way every so often.


'68 Coronet
'71 Duster
'17 Ram 1500
Re: getting ready to buy air line kit few ???? [Re: moparx] #2735561
01/22/20 12:19 PM
01/22/20 12:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,827
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
master
TJP  Offline
master
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,827
Omaha Ne
Originally Posted by moparx
what do you guys use for a "vibration coupling" [i don't know what the correct name is] from the compressor to the hard line/drier/piping ?
i use[d] 1" black iron for long runs. as is the case around my shop, this "project" is still incomplete.
beer


Rubber hose and fittings rated for the pressure + 50% or more. We have a hose supply nearby that handles our needs. I'm sure you can find what you need on line

beer







Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1