Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure #2706861
10/14/19 10:01 PM
10/14/19 10:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
D
Darrol Offline OP
member
Darrol  Offline OP
member
D

Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
Hi guys. I just rebuilt my first 727. it was slipping in all gears i thought because the guy i bought it off ran it out of fluid. It came apart and went back together really smoothly. new steels plates bands seals filter fluid. pump looked good. . . i put the old torque converter in. it went in as it should.both shafts engaged. had to pull the torque converter forward just a bit to bolt it up to the ring gear. so i'm pretty sure the torque converter is installed properly.
I have nothing in any gear. the only sound was the click of the linkage moving. So i quickly shut it off thinking no fluid pressure confirmed by checking cooling line pressure. I took the pan off and everything looked good. but im not that familiar with the 727. what am i missing? thanks.

Last edited by Darrol; 10/14/19 11:23 PM.
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Darrol] #2706901
10/15/19 12:52 AM
10/15/19 12:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,896
in a cattle trailer down by th...
G
Guitar Jones Offline
I Live Here
Guitar Jones  Offline
I Live Here
G

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 10,896
in a cattle trailer down by th...
Well it has to be filled with fluid in neutral. It will not charge the converter in park so there will be no cooler fluid flow either as that comes from the converter. It should say that on the dipstick to check in neutral.


I never learned to count my blessings, I choose instead to live inside my disasters.

The Scamp is sold, now just two old trucks and one new one.
'92 D250 Club Cab CTD, 47RH conversion, pump tweaks, injectors, rear disc and hydroboost conversion.
'74 W200 Crew Cab 360, NP435, D44, D60 and NP205 divorced transfer case. Magnum 5.2 MPI and NV4500 coming soon.
2019 1500 Long Horn Crew Cab 4WD, 5.7 Hemi!
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Darrol] #2706974
10/15/19 11:19 AM
10/15/19 11:19 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 33,583
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 33,583
Bend,OR USA
As already mentioned if you ran it in neutral and have no fluid movement then the pump drive tangs probably got broken off work scope
Mopar converters can be a real bear to get them to engage the pump drive tangs properly, the converter needs to drop down on them usually three different times, unless you get real lucky shruggy
It will have right at 3/4 inch from the front of the four converter lugs to the front edge of the tranny flange when fully engaged all the way in scope
I stand the tranny up so I can see inside the pump so I can align the drive tangs so they are straight up and down or sideways, your choice, and then align the drive slots in the converter hub and drop it in gently and slowly turn the converter both ways so it will drop down onto the drive tangs on the pump gear properly, it will thunk when it does that up
My race car has a Powerglide in it and it doesn't have these issues, it slides right in boogie

Last edited by Cab_Burge; 10/15/19 11:21 AM.

Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Cab_Burge] #2706991
10/15/19 11:46 AM
10/15/19 11:46 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
D
Darrol Offline OP
member
Darrol  Offline OP
member
D

Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
I guess its time to pull it again. down
Thank you.

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Cab_Burge] #2707060
10/15/19 03:58 PM
10/15/19 03:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
D
Darrol Offline OP
member
Darrol  Offline OP
member
D

Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
I got the transmission out. the torque converter lugs are exactly like you said. 3/4 inch from the front of trany flange. is there anything else that would cause the pump drive tangs to break? I can't think of anything else that would cause no pressure. It seems like a pretty simple system. but i can't seem to figure this one out.
I'm about to pull the pump out. i really hope i find something broken. I like fixing things. its not often i put things together and they don't work. Especially when they come apart and go together as planed. but this is my first 727 rebuild. I guess im doing it the hard way. hahaha.

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Darrol] #2707073
10/15/19 05:05 PM
10/15/19 05:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
D
Darrol Offline OP
member
Darrol  Offline OP
member
D

Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
I have the pump pulled. the pump drive tangs are good. shruggy I hate to put it back together without finding the problem. everything looks good. it air tested perfect. could it be in the valve body? I should have pressure if it was in there?
If the torque converter was bad i should still have fluid pressure as long as its turning the pump? I put my fingers in the torque converter to check the input shaft sleeve. it seemed really loose. how much movement should there be there?

Last edited by Darrol; 10/15/19 05:58 PM.
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Darrol] #2707078
10/15/19 05:51 PM
10/15/19 05:51 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,506
Lincoln Nebraska
R
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track
RapidRobert  Offline
Circle Track
R

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 35,506
Lincoln Nebraska
I'll defer to John & Transman but I would now think valvebody (not much left to choose from) as far as potentials.


live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: RapidRobert] #2707335
10/16/19 05:13 PM
10/16/19 05:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,706
Memphis
HemiRick Offline
master
HemiRick  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,706
Memphis
How much fluid did you put in it? I dont see this mentioned anywhere,,,,,I always put in 6 qts then run it for a min. and add more takes about 12 qts. to be full....I think


Take care,
Rick
68 Coronet R/T 440 & 68 Charger 528 Hemi,and 5 Challengers! 6 cyl, 318, 360, 383, 451
Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: HemiRick] #2707355
10/16/19 06:23 PM
10/16/19 06:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,208
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
master
TJP  Offline
master
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,208
Omaha Ne
Originally Posted by HemiRick
How much fluid did you put in it? I dont see this mentioned anywhere,,,,,I always put in 6 qts then run it for a min. and add more takes about 12 qts. to be full....I think


Good question wink Depending on the depth of the pan I usually start with 3 or 4 then add accordingly stopping at the 1 pint mark as the fluid will expand when warm. Total capacity will vary depending on converter size etc. twocents beer

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: TJP] #2707374
10/16/19 07:04 PM
10/16/19 07:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,235
Michigan
T
Transman Offline
pro stock
Transman  Offline
pro stock
T

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,235
Michigan
If you have it apart this far I would verify the regulator valve is free and not stuck out, and check the tc valve.
If the clutches and bands pass air pressure test (use 30psi) then likely you didn’t have enough fluid or the vb is your culprit.

A stuck tc valve won’t allow the converter to fill and you won’t have cooler flow.

You should have stuck a gauge on it before you yanked it. You need converter charge and line pressure.

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Transman] #2708586
10/20/19 02:47 PM
10/20/19 02:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
D
Darrol Offline OP
member
Darrol  Offline OP
member
D

Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
kelowna
I decided not to be cheap. new pump. new torque converter. valve body rebuild. Im not pulling the transmission out any more to see whats wrong. it cost me less in parts than seeing a therapist. hahaha. It works great. thanks for all your advise. up

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: Darrol] #2708630
10/20/19 05:44 PM
10/20/19 05:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,208
Omaha Ne
T
TJP Offline
master
TJP  Offline
master
T

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,208
Omaha Ne
Originally Posted by Darrol
I decided not to be cheap. new pump. new torque converter. valve body rebuild. Im not pulling the transmission out any more to see whats wrong. it cost me less in parts than seeing a therapist. hahaha. It works great. thanks for all your advise. up


Thanks for the feedback and glad it's fixed beer

Re: 727 fresh rebuild. no fluid pressure [Re: TJP] #2708760
10/21/19 07:04 AM
10/21/19 07:04 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 11,859
north of coder
moparx Offline
Dreaming of implants
moparx  Offline
Dreaming of implants

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 11,859
north of coder
glad it's fixed as well, although it would have been nice to know what the problem really was.
beer


Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Moparts Newest Topics
2014 Saleen Challenger
by Neil. 11/13/19 11:01 AM
1971 Cuda Option Costs?
by lrtexpress. 11/13/19 10:42 AM
Ever seen eBarf ads "disappear" w/o a trace?
by BradH. 11/13/19 10:38 AM
SST Releases The New A41X For 4WD Applications
by Rustymuscle. 11/13/19 10:24 AM
Moparts Recent Posts
"Early Retirement Packages"... any takers?
by rocksmopar. 11/13/19 02:32 PM
Big Chief
by CMcAllister. 11/13/19 02:28 PM
WIW 70 duster set up for BB?
by topside. 11/13/19 02:22 PM
Stu Harmon General Forum
by 69_SIX_PACK. 11/13/19 02:18 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1