MI, Lapeer
M
maximus Offline OP
super stock
maximus  Offline OP
super stock
M

MI, Lapeer
I am no electrical expert but I can wire up a car off diagrams. I have an electrical problem and need troubleshooting help. Please read carefully for all I have done so far. The car is a 1968 Hemi Dart clone and has been driven about 200 miles so far. The car ran fine until two days ago when I went to start it up. The fuseable link blew going from the starter relay to the bulkhead which sends power to the ammeter.gauge. The opposite side of the ammeter uses common power to the Alternator Battery post, the ignition switch battery post, the headlamp switch, horn relay and two fuses in the fuse box according to the diagram.

1) I had the alternator tested for grounding and it checked out fine.

2) I used test light between the bulkhead and the starter relay where the fuseable link would go, and no light, fine.

3) Turned the ignition switch to on position and test light went on, meaning a ground somewhere?

4) Disconnected the wires one at a time to feeds, first the alternator, then headlight switch, horn relay. Test light stayed on.

5) No blown fuses in fuse box so that is OK.

Question, can the ignition switch be bad? Is there a way to test it?

Where do I go from here?

The complete wiring system was checked for breaks or bad wiring before installing into the car. Everything was working fine. The car does have a MSD ignition installed if that means anything with the problem.

Car will start right up with new fuseable link, only for 5 seconds, at which time the link blows.

Wire going from starter relay is 10 gauge and fuseable link is 16 gauge. Other side of bulkhead is 12 gauge per diagrams.

Any help would be appreciated to solve this problem.

I HATE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS.

Last edited by maximus; 08/17/19 05:28 PM.
Re: Electrical Expert Needed ASAP [Re: maximus] #2688799
08/17/19 05:02 PM
08/17/19 05:02 PM
Grand Prairie,Texas
stumpy Online content
I Win