Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install #2603132
01/07/19 10:18 PM
01/07/19 10:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
I am installing a Fitech fuel injection system on my 86 Dodge Ram.

I have removed all of the emissions related parts and installed headers.

Question is what all does the PCM control on this truck? can I disconnect it and remove unnecessary wiring and install orange box ECU with vacuum advance distributor and ballast?

I know there is probably an easier way going to points system or petronix but I already have everything mentioned brand new in box.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2603172
01/07/19 11:21 PM
01/07/19 11:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,690
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Magnum Offline
master
Magnum  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,690
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Fuel injection and points? Seems like an odd combination.

Not sure what all the PCM controls but I've removed it ALL on an 1987 Ram and also installed a 70's style 4/5 pin Mopar orange box electronic ignition and the truck still worked, including the charging system.

Moparmad, there is a truck section that you could post this question in too.

Last edited by Magnum; 01/07/19 11:22 PM.

69 Super Bee, 93 Mustang LX, 04 Allure Super
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2603174
01/07/19 11:25 PM
01/07/19 11:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
Thanks for the response and the heads up. I’ll post there also.

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2603185
01/07/19 11:43 PM
01/07/19 11:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Some Fitech control timing too. Which do you have, PN?


They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda] #2603194
01/07/19 11:58 PM
01/07/19 11:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
31003

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2603198
01/08/19 12:09 AM
01/08/19 12:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
that's not one of the ignition ones. You can run the orange box setup you mentioned. 86 is still lean burn system so the computer has minimal control over anything other than the engine, if you have an automatic it might control the unlock in the torque converter. Not a truck guy though, other than that I think there is nothing the computer does, but again, not a truck guy and it's been close to 20 years since I messed with a Ram.


They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda] #2603199
01/08/19 12:13 AM
01/08/19 12:13 AM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
The trans is my main concern. haven't found a good enough wiring diagram to let me know.

I do plan on changing to a 727 trans eventually(without electronic lock up) just don't have the funds now and need to get this truck up and running.

thanks for the reply.

Last edited by Moparmad; 01/08/19 12:14 AM.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2603325
01/08/19 10:22 AM
01/08/19 10:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,945
Fort Worth, Texas
3hundred Offline
master
3hundred  Offline
master

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,945
Fort Worth, Texas
No electronics in the trans, just hook up and adjust the kick down linkage.

Robert


'68 Fury Convertible
'69 300 Convertible
'93 Ramcharger 5.7 Hemi
'93 Ramcharger 318 sold
'01 3500 4x4 Cummins 6 speed
'13 300 S sold
'15 Durango 5.7 Hemi
'16 300 S Hemi
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: 3hundred] #2603366
01/08/19 12:45 PM
01/08/19 12:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
Thanks for all of the replies.

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604598
01/10/19 08:21 PM
01/10/19 08:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
WEEEELLLLLL CRAP! What now? took the wiring harness off of my truck to remove all unnecessary computer wires and after I have all but destroyed the harness, I see it has a relay for the lock up converter. now I have no computer and no wires to reconnect. what are my options, really didn't want to have to buy a new transmission right now.

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604614
01/10/19 08:55 PM
01/10/19 08:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,036
Arlington, Texas
B
bobby66 Offline
master
bobby66  Offline
master
B

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,036
Arlington, Texas
Can you just run 12 volts to the relay and control the lock-up with a toggle switch?


B
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: bobby66] #2604616
01/10/19 08:57 PM
01/10/19 08:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
I am not versed in the newer vehicles with lots of electronic components. I don't have a clue. I prefer to do it right, even if the only option is a tci 727 transmission or equivalent.

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604617
01/10/19 08:59 PM
01/10/19 08:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Works on all the early lockups

Lockup control


They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Supercuda] #2604619
01/10/19 09:01 PM
01/10/19 09:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
what does? the toggle switch?

I guess I could do the toggle switch for now and get a transmission later.

any other options anybody?

Last edited by Moparmad; 01/10/19 09:06 PM.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604626
01/10/19 09:08 PM
01/10/19 09:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,256
Calgary, Alberta Canada
a12rag Offline
top fuel
a12rag  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,256
Calgary, Alberta Canada
You should be able to just use a toggle switch to lock in the convertor when you hit cruising speeds on the highway . . . just remember to "unlock" the convertor when you slow down . . . am sure you will get the "feel" for it once you drive it a while . . .

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604672
01/10/19 10:45 PM
01/10/19 10:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Originally Posted By Moparmad
what does? the toggle switch?

I guess I could do the toggle switch for now and get a transmission later.

any other options anybody?


there is no toggle switch in that kit.

there is a vacuum switch that will unlock the T/C if you floor it. there is an oil pressure switch that will engage LU above a certain mph. that's is for controls, everything else is wires or fuse.

You don't have an OD version so that part is not applicable.



They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2604799
01/11/19 09:08 AM
01/11/19 09:08 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,914
ky.
K
kenworth_goose Offline
top fuel
kenworth_goose  Offline
top fuel
K

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,914
ky.
Why not just not use the lockup?

Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: kenworth_goose] #2604840
01/11/19 12:03 PM
01/11/19 12:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Supercuda Offline
About to go away
Supercuda  Offline
About to go away

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,821
up yours
Originally Posted By kenworth_goose
Why not just not use the lockup?


read the thread, it's answered.


They say there are no such thing as a stupid question.
They say there is always the exception that proves the rule.
Don't be the exception.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2605000
01/11/19 04:22 PM
01/11/19 04:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,073
Rio Linda, CA
John_Kunkel Offline
Too Many Posts
John_Kunkel  Offline
Too Many Posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 20,073
Rio Linda, CA
There's no reason to not just leave the trans electrics unconnected, it simply won't lock up.

If you want to energize the lockup with a toggle switch you have complete control. If you forget to turn the switch off when coming to a stop, it'll drop out of lockup when the trans drops out of 3rd gear.


I'm supposed to respect my elders, but its getting harder and harder for me to find one now.
Re: 1986 Dodge Ram Fitech install [Re: Moparmad] #2606700
01/14/19 11:49 PM
01/14/19 11:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
M
Moparmad Offline OP
member
Moparmad  Offline OP
member
M

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 43
Texas
what is the disadvantage of it not locking up except a little fuel mileage difference?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics194,539
Posts2,271,936
Members25,849
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
Engine Noise - How to post a Video to Diagnose?
by RSI700VIPER. 04/25/19 09:19 AM
AMD outer wheel houses
by Silverbullet2. 04/25/19 08:09 AM
340 block on my local CL
by FrankenScamp. 04/25/19 07:58 AM
Tuff wheels
by Choppintime. 04/25/19 05:58 AM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1