Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
So, where did YOU mount your MSD? #2598403
12/29/18 03:26 PM
12/29/18 03:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
S
Shoozy Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
Shoozy  Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
S

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
Looking for ideas to keep it somewhat subtle

'72 Plymouth b-body, big block, Digital 6AL that doesn't really fit under the battery tray...


Old, tired, and sometimes broke down. Me, not my car...
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598409
12/29/18 03:39 PM
12/29/18 03:39 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,582
MI, usa
dvw Offline
master
dvw  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,582
MI, usa
MSD fits fine under a 1970 B body tray. Is a 72 that much different?
Doug

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598418
12/29/18 03:51 PM
12/29/18 03:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 11,543
chicagoland,usa
B
buildanother Offline
I Live Here
buildanother  Offline
I Live Here
B

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 11,543
chicagoland,usa
80 volare. In the plastic lined glove box.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598426
12/29/18 04:10 PM
12/29/18 04:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,894
Valencia, España
NachoRT74 Offline
master
NachoRT74  Offline
master

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 5,894
Valencia, España
on the shelf... and running the Rev-N-Nator.

( LOL, j/k I had to, sorry )


With a Charger born in Chrysler assembly plant in Valencia, Venezuela
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598571
12/29/18 09:45 PM
12/29/18 09:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,928
So Near, Yet So Far
topside Offline
I Live Here
topside  Offline
I Live Here

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,928
So Near, Yet So Far
On a '68 Road Runner and '63 & '64 Bodies, made a bracket to mount it vertically behind the left side of the grille on rad support (no added holes).
On 1 Duster, same but interior side of firewall near glovebox. On another, glovebox is a tray (behind door) to mount MSD & coil.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598576
12/29/18 09:55 PM
12/29/18 09:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,309
NJ, USA
B
bill440rt Offline
top fuel
bill440rt  Offline
top fuel
B

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,309
NJ, USA
‘68 Charger.
Under the driver’s seat. Ran the wiring following up the rocker and thru an unused hole in the lower firewall area.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598578
12/29/18 09:56 PM
12/29/18 09:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 653
Michigan
B
BlueRacer69 Offline
mopar
BlueRacer69  Offline
mopar
B

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 653
Michigan
I wouldn't mount a MSD if someone paid me. Nothing but junk. I've had 2 of them go south on me. Won't use them anymore.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: dvw] #2598614
12/29/18 11:43 PM
12/29/18 11:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,029
St. Charles, MO
wingman Offline
Uncreative Title
wingman  Offline
Uncreative Title

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,029
St. Charles, MO
Originally Posted By dvw
MSD fits fine under a 1970 B body tray. Is a 72 that much different?
Doug


Same place mine went.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598662
12/30/18 01:52 AM
12/30/18 01:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,343
Rancho Cordova, CA
Exit1965 Offline
master
Exit1965  Offline
master

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,343
Rancho Cordova, CA
I put my Accel box on the inside of the car, passenger side above where the passenger feet go. Not visible unless ducking under to look for it, and it stays cooler which I think may be better for it.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: wingman] #2598689
12/30/18 03:47 AM
12/30/18 03:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,363
Cotati, CA
Dave Hall Offline
top fuel
Dave Hall  Offline
top fuel

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,363
Cotati, CA
Originally Posted By wingman
Originally Posted By dvw
MSD fits fine under a 1970 B body tray. Is a 72 that much different?
Doug


Same place mine went.



A lot of room between the core support and headlights as well. I have mine in front of the batt. tray '73 Dart Sport. I need to make a blackout plate in front of it as you can see it through the grill. It is a marine 7AL-2 if that makes any difference. Been running in a number of different Dodge products since 1999. Starting with this one. You can just see the box at the bottom of the pic.

39530_1595923531746_7573068_n.jpg
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: wingman] #2598717
12/30/18 10:48 AM
12/30/18 10:48 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
S
Shoozy Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
Shoozy  Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
S

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
Originally Posted By wingman
Originally Posted By dvw
MSD fits fine under a 1970 B body tray. Is a 72 that much different?
Doug


Same place mine went.


Either of you have a pic? That was my first choice but I'm just not seeing it with the big plug on the digital 6A


Old, tired, and sometimes broke down. Me, not my car...
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: BlueRacer69] #2598842
12/30/18 03:58 PM
12/30/18 03:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,775
Motor City
6
6PKRTSE Offline
master
6PKRTSE  Offline
master
6

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,775
Motor City
Originally Posted By BlueRacer69
I wouldn't mount a MSD if someone paid me. Nothing but junk. I've had 2 of them go south on me. Won't use them anymore.


Have you contacted MSD (Now Holley)? We use thousands of their products ever year. Yes, there have been parts that have failed. We return them and they repair/replace at no charge and say there was nothing wrong with it. They don't want to have a bad name out there.


1963 Belvedere 440 Max Wedge Tribute
1970 Charger R/T S.E. 440 Six Pack
1970 Challenger R/T, 528 Hemi
1970 Charger 500 S.E. 440 4 BBL
1970 Plymouth Road Runner 383
1974 Chrysler New Yorker 440
1996 2500 RAM 488 V-10 4X4
2004 3500 Dually Cummins 4x4
2012 Challenger R/T Classic.
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2598845
12/30/18 04:06 PM
12/30/18 04:06 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 5,283
Aurora, Colorado
451Mopar Offline
master
451Mopar  Offline
master

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 5,283
Aurora, Colorado
I must have gotten the good MSD6AL back around 1990. Still works fine.
I did think it went out on me once. Cooling the car at the track and got some water trapped around the magnetic pickup connection that was wrapped in electrical tape. I was using the points trigger. Anyhow, unwrapped the tape and dryed the mag pickup connection, and no more problems.
On The Charger, I had the box mounted on the inner fender in plain view so it would be easy to change the RPM limit pills.
On the Convertible, I mounted the CD box (Crane HI-6) under the battery tray.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: 451Mopar] #2598850
12/30/18 04:18 PM
12/30/18 04:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
C
cudatom Offline
super stock
cudatom  Offline
super stock
C

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
Originally Posted By 451Mopar
I must have gotten the good MSD6AL back around 1990. Still works fine.
I did think it went out on me once. Cooling the car at the track and got some water trapped around the magnetic pickup connection that was wrapped in electrical tape. I was using the points trigger. Anyhow, unwrapped the tape and dryed the mag pickup connection, and no more problems.
On The Charger, I had the box mounted on the inner fender in plain view so it would be easy to change the RPM limit pills.
On the Convertible, I mounted the CD box (Crane HI-6) under the battery tray.

I was thinking the same mi is from 89.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: 451Mopar] #2598855
12/30/18 04:25 PM
12/30/18 04:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 11,543
chicagoland,usa
B
buildanother Offline
I Live Here
buildanother  Offline
I Live Here
B

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 11,543
chicagoland,usa
Had 2 or 3 msd 6al boxes that were/are great. The best mopar ecu boxes seem to be the orig black boxes that are more reliable than any of the orange/ chrome whatever, so who knows. I also had a Crane hi-6 that was trouble free.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2599332
12/31/18 05:35 PM
12/31/18 05:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,702
Connecticut
FurryStump Offline
master
FurryStump  Offline
master

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,702
Connecticut
Glove box on an shelf. It does buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz though.


best of 11.79 @ 117 mph 68 340 S Barracuda Fastback F.A.S.T [IMG]http://i67.tinypic.com/2mnnnnt.jpg[/IMG]
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: FurryStump] #2599359
12/31/18 06:54 PM
12/31/18 06:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,580
Wichita
G
GY3 Offline
master
GY3  Offline
master
G

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,580
Wichita
Under the battery tray on my '63. Mounted the dial adjust rpm module on the framerail next to it.

I've used analog 6AL's for years and never an issue.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: GY3] #2599855
01/01/19 02:27 PM
01/01/19 02:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,366
Houston,Tx.
L
Lee446 Offline
pro stock
Lee446  Offline
pro stock
L

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,366
Houston,Tx.
Heat/vibration is always electronics biggest enemy. Mounting a control box in the engine compartment is not the most favorable environment for electronics, and not conducive to a long trouble free life. I don't use my glovebox, so I remove the cardboard liner and mount an aluminum plate to screw the MSD box on and run the wires thru the firewall to the distributor. Been running the same box since 1986. If you want to get the longest life and reliability from electronic devices, put them in the most favorable environment that you can.

Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2600044
01/01/19 07:05 PM
01/01/19 07:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
S
Shoozy Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
Shoozy  Offline OP
I have a foot fetish
S

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,654
Southern by Choice
Made up a mount and got it in, under the battery tray, out of the wet, but with some airflow. Can't see the LED, but since it fired right up I guess I don't need to at this point. Thanks for the ideas guys


Old, tired, and sometimes broke down. Me, not my car...
Re: So, where did YOU mount your MSD? [Re: Shoozy] #2600647
01/02/19 09:31 PM
01/02/19 09:31 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,413
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
D
David_in_St_Croi Offline
top fuel
David_in_St_Croi  Offline
top fuel
D

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,413
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Mounted it on the back side of the firewall where the heater box used to be. The RPM limiter chips are nice and accessible. Sort of out of the weather other than the cowl leaks.....

Last edited by David_in_St_Croi; 01/02/19 09:32 PM.

https://www.facebook.com/THENEWCDRA

Proud member of the liberal scientific elite
Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1