Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon #2576406
11/09/18 03:39 PM
11/09/18 03:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Pyper70 Offline OP
master
Pyper70  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Me and my buddy are gonna do it in his shop. I have the 3" deep Mopar brake booster in my 69 Charger. I remember there being a backing plate that goes between the firewall and the booster. I know it is painted between the mounting bracket and firewall. For those who have done it, does that bracket come off or does the unit get mounted directly to the firewall?

Will be nice to have brakes again. I have to STAND on the pedal to stop and thats because I installed the CH-28 Dual Quad manifold and the vacuum assist pump isn't helping much with the canister anymore.

From what i remember the factory disc brake setup is 1250lbs of pressure and this Hydratech unit put out 2100lbs. So the next gig is going to be figuring out a half roll bar for the shoulder restraints to be mounted upon.


Family owned 1969 Charger R/T DualQuad 440/727/GVO/3.55s
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Pyper70] #2576475
11/09/18 05:56 PM
11/09/18 05:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Black_Bee Offline
pro stock
Black_Bee  Offline
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Originally Posted By Pyper70
Me and my buddy are gonna do it in his shop. I have the 3" deep Mopar brake booster in my 69 Charger. I remember there being a backing plate that goes between the firewall and the booster. I know it is painted between the mounting bracket and firewall. For those who have done it, does that bracket come off or does the unit get mounted directly to the firewall?

Will be nice to have brakes again. I have to STAND on the pedal to stop and thats because I installed the CH-28 Dual Quad manifold and the vacuum assist pump isn't helping much with the canister anymore.

From what i remember the factory disc brake setup is 1250lbs of pressure and this Hydratech unit put out 2100lbs. So the next gig is going to be figuring out a half roll bar for the shoulder restraints to be mounted upon.


I put a Hydratech kit on my '69 Super Bee. The entire firewall mounting plate comes off and is replaced with a large aluminum plate that bolts to the same spot.

I've had mine installed for four summers now, and have no regrets. Like you, I had to absolutely stand on the brakes to get it to stop. After trying 3 different masters, I went with the Hydroboost and it definitely STOPS now.

beer


Paul
'69 Super Bee 383
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Pyper70] #2576684
11/10/18 05:13 AM
11/10/18 05:13 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Pyper70 Offline OP
master
Pyper70  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Exxxxxxxcellent.... That's what I want to hear... How did you deal with the lack of shoulder restraint and your new pedal power?

Do you have a harness now?


Family owned 1969 Charger R/T DualQuad 440/727/GVO/3.55s
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Pyper70] #2576834
11/10/18 06:07 PM
11/10/18 06:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Black_Bee Offline
pro stock
Black_Bee  Offline
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Originally Posted By Pyper70
Exxxxxxxcellent.... That's what I want to hear... How did you deal with the lack of shoulder restraint and your new pedal power?

Do you have a harness now?


I had already installed retractable 3-point belts front and rear. I got them from https://www.wescoperformance.com. "WELR-L" for the fronts, and "WELR" for the rear.

beer


Paul
'69 Super Bee 383
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Black_Bee] #2578085
11/13/18 08:55 PM
11/13/18 08:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Pyper70 Offline OP
master
Pyper70  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Originally Posted By Black_Bee
Originally Posted By Pyper70
Exxxxxxxcellent.... That's what I want to hear... How did you deal with the lack of shoulder restraint and your new pedal power?

Do you have a harness now?


I had already installed retractable 3-point belts front and rear. I got them from https://www.wescoperformance.com. "WELR-L" for the fronts, and "WELR" for the rear.

beer


I am assuming to install that on your Bee that you welded a threaded bracket to the roof above and behind the headliner?


Family owned 1969 Charger R/T DualQuad 440/727/GVO/3.55s
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Pyper70] #2578097
11/13/18 09:16 PM
11/13/18 09:16 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
Pyper70 Offline OP
master
Pyper70  Offline OP
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,856
Athens, Greece & Torrance, Ca
I think this is my option. By the looks of it the rear struts go in between the rear back and the rear bottom seat and anchor to the floorboard in front of the axle hump. I want to say I have seen the cross brace from left to right be swinging in and out with a quick-fastener so you can get passengers in the rear but I rarely carry passengers in the rear. My priority is two people up front

https://www.rhodesracecars.com/4-Point-Roll-Bar--68-70-CORONET-CHARGER-ROAD-RUNNER_p_8705.html


Family owned 1969 Charger R/T DualQuad 440/727/GVO/3.55s
Re: Installing my Hydratech Brake Booster soon [Re: Pyper70] #2578134
11/13/18 10:21 PM
11/13/18 10:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Black_Bee Offline
pro stock
Black_Bee  Offline
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,271
BC, Canada
Originally Posted By Pyper70
Originally Posted By Black_Bee
Originally Posted By Pyper70
Exxxxxxxcellent.... That's what I want to hear... How did you deal with the lack of shoulder restraint and your new pedal power?

Do you have a harness now?


I had already installed retractable 3-point belts front and rear. I got them from https://www.wescoperformance.com. "WELR-L" for the fronts, and "WELR" for the rear.

beer


I am assuming to install that on your Bee that you welded a threaded bracket to the roof above and behind the headliner?


With a '69, the front uses the existing three points that the factory used... both sides of the seat, and one up above the door where factory strap was. The seat belts I used have a drop arm that lowers the top to your shoulder.

For the rear, there is an existing location for a shoulder harness in the package tray. A rear shoulder strap was an extremely rare factory option back in 1969 and the pass through for the belt is already there, or just needs to be knocked out. The seat belt is bolted to the factory locations, and the retracting mechanism needs a hole drilled and a plate attached (welded or not) to bolt to. the strap is passed through the package tray, and it all looks like its factory installed from the inside.

It was all surprisingly easy to do, and certainly makes me fill a bit safer having my kids back there.

beer


Paul
'69 Super Bee 383

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics194,512
Posts2,271,700
Members25,849
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
Steering Column
by dart4forte. 04/24/19 02:29 PM
MATS, anyone here going?
by Rhinodart. 04/24/19 02:22 PM
Ever seen a paint daub with a stamped in date code?
by Alaskan_TA. 04/24/19 01:21 PM
70-71 Rallye Dash Switch Panel
by floyd. 04/24/19 01:13 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1