Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
727 Trans #2460425
03/03/18 12:33 PM
03/03/18 12:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
J
jkwedge540 Offline OP
member
jkwedge540  Offline OP
member
J

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
Does anyone make a input shaft for a 727 to run a Turbo 400 toque converter. I read something on it a while back, but can’t remember where.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2460515
03/03/18 03:32 PM
03/03/18 03:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,349
NW Indiana
F
fbs63 Offline
pro stock
fbs63  Offline
pro stock
F

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,349
NW Indiana
The converter builder can use whatever core and put whatever you need in it. The problem is the GM cores are physically thicker than a 727 core. You will have to space the trans back from the motor 3/4" to fit a GM core.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2460727
03/04/18 02:56 AM
03/04/18 02:56 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11,784
aZLiViN
J
J_BODY Offline
I Live Here
J_BODY  Offline
I Live Here
J

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11,784
aZLiViN
Call Protrans. They do quite a few different shaft configurations iirc.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2460734
03/04/18 03:09 AM
03/04/18 03:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,276
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,276
Bend,OR USA
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy


Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge] #2460806
03/04/18 12:09 PM
03/04/18 12:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,349
NW Indiana
F
fbs63 Offline
pro stock
fbs63  Offline
pro stock
F

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,349
NW Indiana
There is a much larger selection of GM cores.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge] #2461366
03/05/18 09:42 AM
03/05/18 09:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
J
jkwedge540 Offline OP
member
jkwedge540  Offline OP
member
J

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
Hard to get a good toque converter to hold a lot of power with a 727. A lot of companies can’t or won’t do it .

Re: 727 Trans [Re: Cab_Burge] #2461368
03/05/18 09:50 AM
03/05/18 09:50 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 370
st.louis,mo.
69b1dart Offline
enthusiast
69b1dart  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 370
st.louis,mo.
Originally Posted By Cab_Burge
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy
727s are junk

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461527
03/05/18 03:51 PM
03/05/18 03:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 986
Michigan
T
Transman Offline
super stock
Transman  Offline
super stock
T

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 986
Michigan
Jkwedge540 - what engine power/torque are in your plans ?

Re: 727 Trans [Re: 69b1dart] #2461529
03/05/18 04:04 PM
03/05/18 04:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 878
Minn
S
SportF Offline
super stock
SportF  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 878
Minn
Originally Posted By 70b1dart
Originally Posted By Cab_Burge
Why do you want to do this confused work shruggy
727s are junk


Everybody is entitled to an opinion for sure. Have you personally had a 350 or 400 apart? I don't care for that design. That and my 727's have treated me well.

But, I probably am not making the power you are.

If I didn't like the mopar reputation and body styles so much, I'd be racing a whole Chevy, not just the trans.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461556
03/05/18 05:02 PM
03/05/18 05:02 PM
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 248
Missouri
J
jwb123 Offline
enthusiast
jwb123  Offline
enthusiast
J

Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 248
Missouri
very few quality converters are made now with OEM cores, most are using billet covers. At least the last couple I purchased were.

As mentioned 727's have a small dimension for the converter. My old model J converter used a ford cortina core for example.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461599
03/05/18 06:15 PM
03/05/18 06:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,475
MI, usa
dvw Offline
master
dvw  Offline
master

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,475
MI, usa
I've had no real issues running close to 900 mine with stock input/ouput. The stock front planet carrier is a maintenance item. With a brake we run the steel part. Aprox 850 running a brake with stock shafts and rear planetarys.
Doug

Re: 727 Trans [Re: dvw] #2461659
03/05/18 08:54 PM
03/05/18 08:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
J
jkwedge540 Offline OP
member
jkwedge540  Offline OP
member
J

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 199
usa,pa
I have and A&A with all the bells and whistles. Every converter company I talk to says they can not help me. Car is heavy with a lot of spray. I just want to try and use a 400 toque converter with the 727. Never really had and issue with the trans.

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461671
03/05/18 09:14 PM
03/05/18 09:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 367
Texas
R
RustyM Offline
enthusiast
RustyM  Offline
enthusiast
R

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 367
Texas
have you talked to FTI down in florida?

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461678
03/05/18 09:25 PM
03/05/18 09:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,276
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,276
Bend,OR USA
Originally Posted By jkwedge540
I have and A&A with all the bells and whistles. Every converter company I talk to says they can not help me. Car is heavy with a lot of spray. I just want to try and use a 400 toque converter with the 727. Never really had and issue with the trans.
up Thanks for answering, none of my own race motors make above 845 HP so I haven't had to deal with a converter made for above that HP yet.
My current bracket car had a Mikes Ultraglide with a 9 inch converter made for a blown B1 motor ran on Methanol in it when I bought it so I used it, it has worked well up
I may switch to a A-1 8 inch converter I have(per Al and Adams urging) as the current bracket motor barely cracks the 700 + HP numbers on a DTS engine dyno at 4300 ft. on E85 shruggy The first 1.27 60 ft. in that car without using the throttle stop reminded me to not sit up and lean forward when letting go of the trans brake realcrazy whiney
I do have a new car under construction that I was planning on using a older Pro Trans SS/AH 727 that I have with all the bell and whistles that came in them a long time ago, maybe it's time to call Dave and ask him if that is viable still or not now confused work Maybe it is time for a new state of the art Proflyte with converter made for the new car, hopefully the new 555 C.I. B1-MC motor will make north of 1000 HP on either E85 or straight Methanol luck

Last edited by Cab_Burge; 03/05/18 09:27 PM.

Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461731
03/05/18 10:46 PM
03/05/18 10:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 878
Minn
S
SportF Offline
super stock
SportF  Offline
super stock
S

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 878
Minn
Did you talk to M&M transmission in Missouri? http://mandmtransmission.com

Re: 727 Trans [Re: jkwedge540] #2461751
03/05/18 11:33 PM
03/05/18 11:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,166
Penna
7
70satelliteguy Offline
super stock
70satelliteguy  Offline
super stock
7

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,166
Penna
"Hard to get a good toque converter to hold a lot of power with a 727. A lot of companies can’t or won’t do it ."

"727s are junk "

Mt PTC converter has lasted 8 years without any problems. My 727 has a lot of A&A goodies and serviced regularly but I hardly consider it junk.

3560 lbs. 572 wedge,transbrake etc. . 900+hp + 300 Nitrous. Race weekly during the summer on motor and 4-5 heads up races on Nitrous.
Mike


Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics193,816
Posts2,261,744
Members25,802
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
1969 Plymouth Road Runner
by tomsjack. 03/21/19 03:37 AM
Where to stay in OKC
by carcrazyguy. 03/21/19 12:09 AM
Where to find w2 replacement valves
by viperblue72. 03/20/19 11:34 PM
Shock settings, radial to bias
by justinp61. 03/20/19 10:56 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1