Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2459831
03/02/18 10:53 AM
03/02/18 10:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
Thanks for the replies.Sorry for no update there was a problem with the dyno so he cancelled. I've been trying to line up something else and I find out today if Saturday is a go. Beyond that I will not have time and will be forced to put it in the car without doing the dyno thing.

It's kind of a weird combo, I did it this way to limit it to 10.0's in my 3340lb car. Staying safe with pump gas is important to me as race gas is $20+/ gallon up here, and I make 300+ passes a year. Down the road I can crank it up to go faster.

Either way I will update with results when I get them.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2460248
03/02/18 11:58 PM
03/02/18 11:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,591
Canton, Ohio
S
Sport440 Offline
master
Sport440  Offline
master
S

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,591
Canton, Ohio
Great, Hope it works out for you this weekend. From Chucks post I under estimated the new combo it seems. You probably should be good on your current goals with this engine and more in it easily when you are ready. up

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2461341
03/05/18 04:43 AM
03/05/18 04:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
So I gave up on the dyno thing and bolted it in my car. It ran today, sounds mean. I will post performance when the weather starts to cooperate. Supposed to be at Pacific on the 18th but it snowed here today so we'll see. Thanks.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493476
05/08/18 02:13 AM
05/08/18 02:13 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
I finally got some runs on the car.Best run so far is a 9.82 at 134.5 but I'm running out of gear at 1100 feet so I have to make a gear change.It's going to go in the 70's at 136 when I get it all ironed out I'm sure.

https://youtu.be/WHi2FmarXe4

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493484
05/08/18 02:52 AM
05/08/18 02:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
Is 3340 the weight with driver? If so then you are making more than 650 hp. That is a little better than I was thinking with those parts. The heads must be pretty good even though they were not ported. Looks like a fun ride. You'll need some wheelie bars if you port the heads! Is the car legal for 9's?

Last edited by AndyF; 05/08/18 02:52 AM.
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493509
05/08/18 07:52 AM
05/08/18 07:52 AM
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 305
UK
rb446 Offline
enthusiast
rb446  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 305
UK
that is 1 cool launch....3340@134.5, I make it 667flyhp those heads are better than I thought...136 will be 687 up

Last edited by rb446; 05/08/18 07:53 AM.

1969 'Cuda 446ci, best 9.96@133.9 in 1990
1971 340 'Cuda, best 11.01@122.8 in 1987
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: AndyF] #2493530
05/08/18 10:39 AM
05/08/18 10:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
The car is 3340 with me in it, but in this video it had a 60lb weight under the front bumper to keep the front end down and it ran a 9.86! I have since got adjustable front shocks and it has allowed me to take the weight out and it runs 9.82 all day. The car is legal and I got licensed in it as well so I'm good to run it out.I'm sure there is more in it when I get it to pull past 1100 feet.With my current gears it wants to go through the traps at 6800 which is too many rpm's for this combo.My original plan was to run 10.0 so I didn't have to license, but now that's all shot to hell I will probably port the heads this winter and put a bigger cam in to see how fast it will go. No sissy sticks for me, lol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1Ox077nCq0

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493674
05/08/18 03:54 PM
05/08/18 03:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
The way that car is running I don't think I'd go crazy with a bigger cam. Get the heads ported and see how she does and then maybe add a little bit of cam. The problem with changing the cam a bunch is then it moves the torque curve and then you might need a different torque converter or different gears. Looks to me like you have that car really dialed in just as it sits. It launches hard and runs great.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493705
05/08/18 05:36 PM
05/08/18 05:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
Thanks Andy! The first 1000 feet is spectacular! 1.304 60 foot, 109.5 at the 1/8th but it stops accelerating at 1000’ so I’m trying different converters to get the tightest one I can find and then I’m going to have to do a gear change. My feeling is to should go a high 60 or low 70 at 136. I’m pretty happy with it, its deadly consistentl too. I built it to limit myself to 10.0’s so now I’m past that and legal I will want to go as fast as I can to make it all worth it. Lol

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493727
05/08/18 07:48 PM
05/08/18 07:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 18,980
State of confusion
T
Thumperdart Offline
I Live Here
Thumperdart  Offline
I Live Here
T

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 18,980
State of confusion
Way cool and great running car......... beer


72 Dart 470 n/a BB stroker street car `THUMPER`...Check me out on FB Dominic Thumper for videos and lots of carb pics......760-900-3895.....
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493775
05/08/18 09:59 PM
05/08/18 09:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,516
Frostbitefalls (Rocky&Bullwink...
G
gregsdart Offline
master
gregsdart  Offline
master
G

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,516
Frostbitefalls (Rocky&Bullwink...
IMHO you have the perfect combo, don't mess with it smile . Runs very consistant, low rpm, should be very reliable!!! If you want to go faster, look to removing weight rather than changing the motor or rpm you run. Guess why i think this way? whistling

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: tex013] #2493785
05/08/18 10:26 PM
05/08/18 10:26 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5,232
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Twostick Offline
master
Twostick  Offline
master

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5,232
Downtown Roebuck Ont
Originally Posted By tex013
.

Makes sense, in that I'd suspect that whomever is in charge of the calibration for those carbs probably isn't told the intended application is 500 cubes making 600++ HP. Yeah, the bigger engine would create more signal than the carb was originally tuned for, whereas a too-big carb would need to be richer to crutch the lack of signal. [/quote]

Spot on Brad , the too rich I encountered with the Modman and 440ci . Seen it a few times on the dyno , raw fuel/black smoke but AFR showing lean .

Tex[/quote]


Probably because it was misfiring. If it missed or half fired, all the oxygen that should have been used up during combustion but didn't goes roaring out the exhaust and right by the O2 sensor which has no choice but to do its job.

Kevin

Last edited by Twostick; 05/08/18 10:27 PM.
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: gregsdart] #2493809
05/08/18 11:29 PM
05/08/18 11:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 14,079
PA.
P
pittsburghracer Online work
"Little"John
pittsburghracer  Online Work
"Little"John
P

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 14,079
PA.
Originally Posted By gregsdart
IMHO you have the perfect combo, don't mess with it smile . Runs very consistant, low rpm, should be very reliable!!! If you want to go faster, look to removing weight rather than changing the motor or rpm you run. Guess why i think this way? whistling

M


Like Greg said concentrate on making the car lighter while still keeping it simple. Man you guys in other countries race fat cars. Even your A Body’s are heavy.


1970 Duster
Edelbrock headed 408
6.143@110.85 mph
9.73@135.05 mph shifting at 6700 RPM
422 Indy headed small block
5.982@112.56 mph
9.42@138.27

Livin and lovin life one day at a time




Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493848
05/09/18 03:07 AM
05/09/18 03:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
A
AndyF Offline
Too Many Posts
AndyF  Offline
Too Many Posts
A

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 25,383
Oregon
Originally Posted By 10sec440
Thanks Andy! The first 1000 feet is spectacular! 1.304 60 foot, 109.5 at the 1/8th but it stops accelerating at 1000’ so I’m trying different converters to get the tightest one I can find and then I’m going to have to do a gear change. My feeling is to should go a high 60 or low 70 at 136. I’m pretty happy with it, its deadly consistentl too. I built it to limit myself to 10.0’s so now I’m past that and legal I will want to go as fast as I can to make it all worth it. Lol


I thought about it some more and it might be cheaper and easier to do a cam change than a gear change. If you had a little bit larger cam then it will pull all the way to the stripe and you won't need to change the rear gear. You probably have enough data now to sit down with a cam guy and talk it over. My guess is that you need another 5 degrees of duration at 0.050 to pull to the stripe but if it was me I'd run it by Dwayne to see what he says.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493852
05/09/18 03:38 AM
05/09/18 03:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 18,980
State of confusion
T
Thumperdart Offline
I Live Here
Thumperdart  Offline
I Live Here
T

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 18,980
State of confusion
I like to over cam and my low 6 mid 9 second street driven Dart runs a .680-.660 Isky solid roller w/276-281 @ .050 w/standard port window home ported RPM heads at 12.1.1 comp and it's perfectly street-able and makes ok power...........I agree, step that puppy up.......... boogie drive


72 Dart 470 n/a BB stroker street car `THUMPER`...Check me out on FB Dominic Thumper for videos and lots of carb pics......760-900-3895.....
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493924
05/09/18 12:34 PM
05/09/18 12:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,656
Shelby Twp. Mi
HardcoreB Offline
master
HardcoreB  Offline
master

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,656
Shelby Twp. Mi
This is a nice package altogether, thanks for chronicling. It's probably as good a 'bang for the buck' as any mopar. I'm guessing Indy rockers?... and well within the limitations of those. I was kinda surprised of the performance but hearing the heads are better than they used to be helps clear things up.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2493925
05/09/18 12:46 PM
05/09/18 12:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
T&D rockers

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2494001
05/09/18 04:01 PM
05/09/18 04:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,267
Bend,OR USA
C
Cab_Burge Offline
I Win
Cab_Burge  Offline
I Win
C

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 32,267
Bend,OR USA
If it was my decision on your parts I would send the heads out this coming winter and have them CNC ported and have the 2.25 intake valves installed to allow more RPM from then on work
Are you sure it isn't running out of fuel at the 1000 mark?
I've seen so many drag cars( of all brands shock) that have those issue with no other signs of lost of fuel delivery work
If you can't jet it up enough to slow the MPH down in the 1/4 mile your running out of fuel, not fuel pressure, fuel volume scope work
One of my newer Holley HP 1050 Dominator carb. had one .110 needle and seat in the front or rear and the other one was a .120 seat, I could not jet that carb. up enough at the 1/4 mile track to slow my old pump gas Duster down confused Once I changed it to .120 on both fuel bowls I could work shruggy
Lots of gremlins out there runaway shruggy

Last edited by Cab_Burge; 05/09/18 04:14 PM.

Mr.Cab Racing and winning with Mopars since 1964. (Old F--t, Huh)
Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2494057
05/09/18 05:57 PM
05/09/18 05:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
10sec440 Offline OP
pro stock
10sec440  Offline OP
pro stock

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,249
Mission BC
I don’t think it’s fuel related I have an Innovate AFR gauge and its in the low 12’s and consistent. With the small cam its a torque combination and it drops off after 5900RPM. I’m at 67-6800. If I shift 1-2 and 2-3 at 5800 it ET’s the same as shifting at 6500 but shifting at the lower RPM makes the top end even worse because I’m not as far down the track.

Re: Guess my Dyno numbers [Re: 10sec440] #2494060
05/09/18 06:06 PM
05/09/18 06:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 14,442
Valhalla... eventually
B
BradH Offline
I Live Here
BradH  Offline
I Live Here
B

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 14,442
Valhalla... eventually
Is the engine laying over before the 1320 like the valve train is going unstable at the RPM required to run it out? I wouldn't think it should be falling on its face above 6000 unless there is "something" wrong at higher RPM.

Are you recording the AFR ratio across the full RPM range? If so, do the AFR #s go wonky around the same time as the engine stops pulling hard?


Testing... testing... 1... 2... 3...
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Advertisement
Forum Statistics
Forums32
Topics193,767
Posts2,261,198
Members25,797
Most Online1,424
Jun 20th, 2018
Moparts Newest Topics
Low pressure power steering hose - OE style?
by 70gtx440dana. 03/19/19 03:46 PM
"Curse of Oak Island" ... loses #7
by kidmopar. 03/19/19 02:55 PM
FCA bad behavior
by 360view. 03/19/19 02:26 PM
TFI type coil bracket idea
by ZIPPY. 03/19/19 01:51 PM

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1