Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... #1664864
08/28/14 04:45 PM
08/28/14 04:45 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
I am looking for an all in one fuse block with all the relay's for all the Pro Street stuff as well as the OEM stuff right to each componant.


'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664865
08/28/14 05:49 PM
08/28/14 05:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,845
Tampa
D
DusterDave Offline
top fuel
DusterDave  Offline
top fuel
D

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,845
Tampa


Gone to the dark side with an LS3 powered '57 Chevy 210
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: DusterDave] #1664866
08/28/14 10:57 PM
08/28/14 10:57 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Quote:

http://www.americanautowire.com/view-product/1970-74-barracudachallenger-kit/

Affordably priced, too!




I don't know...It has bulk head connector and my prostreet car no longer uses those....


'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664867
08/29/14 05:51 AM
08/29/14 05:51 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,890
North Alabama
M
Monte_Smith Offline
master
Monte_Smith  Offline
master
M

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,890
North Alabama
Try Painless............used a few of theirs, no problems

Monte

Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Monte_Smith] #1664868
08/29/14 11:21 AM
08/29/14 11:21 AM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,260
New Mexico
A
Adobedude Offline
pro stock
Adobedude  Offline
pro stock
A

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,260
New Mexico


2001 Dodge Dakota
408 All Motor
11.27 @ 117.83 mph
2017 NM Mopar Challenge Series Champion.
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Monte_Smith] #1664869
08/29/14 12:26 PM
08/29/14 12:26 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Quote:

Try Painless............used a few of theirs, no problems

Monte




Called them...Was not real happy with them over the phone...One size fits all attitude.


'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664870
08/29/14 12:30 PM
08/29/14 12:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19,301
State of confusion
T
Thumperdart Offline
I Live Here
Thumperdart  Offline
I Live Here
T

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19,301
State of confusion
Quote:

Quote:

Try Painless............used a few of theirs, no problems

Monte




Called them...Was not real happy with them over the phone...One size fits all attitude.




I`ve installed a few in the last couple of years and they`re ok but heard the Francis(sp)is one of the best from those in the know. One Painless we did actually had the rear lights wired wrong.


72 Dart 470 n/a BB stroker street car `THUMPER`...Check me out on FB Dominic Thumper for videos and lots of carb pics......760-900-3895.....
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Thumperdart] #1664871
08/29/14 12:50 PM
08/29/14 12:50 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
I was looking at the Francis ones, I did not have time to call them yet. I like what I read about those the best so far. My car has some stockish stuff, but other areas not so much, and its not going to be an easy find I think.

The Painless one had all the stock stuff built in like wiper motor, heater motor, etc...I don't need any of that, but I do need a lot of relay's built in for all the Prostreet stuff. Would prefer the relay's built into the main block.


'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664872
08/29/14 12:58 PM
08/29/14 12:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19,301
State of confusion
T
Thumperdart Offline
I Live Here
Thumperdart  Offline
I Live Here
T

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 19,301
State of confusion
We ended up cutting over 1/2 of the wiring out of the fuse/relay block for the same reasons.................didn`t need most of what the "basic" Painless kit came with and the Francis is supposed to be more versatile but again, just repeating what I heard.


72 Dart 470 n/a BB stroker street car `THUMPER`...Check me out on FB Dominic Thumper for videos and lots of carb pics......760-900-3895.....
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664873
08/29/14 01:43 PM
08/29/14 01:43 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 617
Corvallis,OR
540CUDA Offline
super street
540CUDA  Offline
super street

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 617
Corvallis,OR
The Ron Francis kits are made to suit. I went with them after not having the greatest experience with painless a few times. When you call them they will tailor the fuse block and circuits to your needs. Its pretty cool. I used the 24/7 setup, the kit for my truck was about $900.00. Set up for power windows, AC, fuel pumps,fans,stereo... all the usual hot rod stuff. Plus you will also get a schematic of YOUR system to keep for future reference.

8254945-lwrider.JPG (233 downloads)
Last edited by 540CUDA; 08/29/14 01:55 PM.

PRH 540,T-ram,-1's tagged and insured. 9.24et 146.13mph 1.30 60'3300#s
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664874
08/29/14 02:03 PM
08/29/14 02:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,224
Arlington, Tx.
B
BJS racing Offline
top fuel
BJS racing  Offline
top fuel
B

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,224
Arlington, Tx.
Quote:



The Painless one had all the stock stuff built in like wiper motor, heater motor, etc...I don't need any of that, but I do need a lot of relay's built in for all the Prostreet stuff. Would prefer the relay's built into the main block.




That is the hardest thing to find is a harness set up that will have everything the way you want it when you have a Pro Street application. I am sorry we didn't have everything you were looking for in one package. I don't really know anyone that has everything you were looking at with out having way more than you need. There is only one other option that I know of that we offer other than what you and I talked about yesterday. Our 10144 harness would possibly be a little closer but it doesn't have the turn signal wiring in it.
http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/p.php?s=10144&sb=Go%21

The only thing I could say is just about anywhere you go you are likely going to have to have either way more than you need or have to put two different part numbers together to get every thing to work like you want.


Back in the swing of things at Painless again! Great to be back!
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664875
08/30/14 03:14 AM
08/30/14 03:14 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
C
cudatom Offline
super stock
cudatom  Offline
super stock
C

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
This was a problem I am having w/my Belvedere. I bought the painless dash mount 4 toggle system but was not happy w/how they had the start button wired(hot all the time). I changed that and the fuel pump circuit so that I have to flip one switch before either are hot.
Then I find out my factory harness(headlights and taillights)was jacked and now I need to get a 4 circuit set up(headlights, taillights, breaks and turn signals). Yeah try locating that. On Tuesday I will call Auto Wiring Solutions(they have a 4 circuit) and see if this will work.

Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: cudatom] #1664876
08/30/14 10:18 AM
08/30/14 10:18 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 16,214
north of coder
moparx Online content
"Butt Crack Bob"
moparx  Online Content
"Butt Crack Bob"

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 16,214
north of coder
without sounding like azzz, maybe with only needing 4 circuits, just wire it from scratch ? i have done 5 projects like that using a couple of "universal" type schematics,[with way more circuits than you need] and although it took some time to do, it was quicker and cheaper in the long run after you figure in the cost and time combining 2[or more] kits from different manufacturers to get just the right combination of circuits with the correct wire gage and relay combo[s]. just my experiance and opinion.

Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: moparx] #1664877
08/30/14 08:47 PM
08/30/14 08:47 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Quote:

without sounding like azzz, maybe with only needing 4 circuits, just wire it from scratch ? i have done 5 projects like that using a couple of "universal" type schematics,[with way more circuits than you need] and although it took some time to do, it was quicker and cheaper in the long run after you figure in the cost and time combining 2[or more] kits from different manufacturers to get just the right combination of circuits with the correct wire gage and relay combo[s]. just my experiance and opinion.





A lot of my factory wiring that is still stock is just quiting on me. So I need it re-wired right to each and every componant...I can't take all the factory stuff just quiting all the time. The bulbs look like flash cubes some days.

My prostreet stuff is all wired with weather pack connectors and relays and has been working good, but its a mish mash of an ARC switch panel and divorced relay's and just a mess with the factory wiring under the dash...Would like to make eveything one unit for power for eveything..

Last edited by Dragula; 08/30/14 08:49 PM.

'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664878
08/30/14 09:42 PM
08/30/14 09:42 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,260
New Mexico
A
Adobedude Offline
pro stock
Adobedude  Offline
pro stock
A

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,260
New Mexico
That's how mine was...A combination of stock and after market. I finally pulled out every wire from bumper to bumper, kept the pigtails for the lights and ended up with this. A few more wires/cables have been added, but you get the idea. I have separate relays for the big AMP items (Fuel pump/fan etc...) close to the source



2001 Dodge Dakota
408 All Motor
11.27 @ 117.83 mph
2017 NM Mopar Challenge Series Champion.
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Adobedude] #1664879
08/30/14 10:43 PM
08/30/14 10:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,845
Tampa
D
DusterDave Offline
top fuel
DusterDave  Offline
top fuel
D

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,845
Tampa
Quote:

That's how mine was...A combination of stock and after market. I finally pulled out every wire from bumper to bumper, kept the pigtails for the lights and ended up with this. A few more wires/cables have been added, but you get the idea. I have separate relays for the big AMP items (Fuel pump/fan etc...) close to the source





Now THAT is a clean and easy to service electrical system! Excellent job!


Gone to the dark side with an LS3 powered '57 Chevy 210
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Adobedude] #1664880
08/30/14 11:18 PM
08/30/14 11:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
C
cudatom Offline
super stock
cudatom  Offline
super stock
C

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,059
Massillon, Ohio
Quote:

That's how mine was...A combination of stock and after market. I finally pulled out every wire from bumper to bumper, kept the pigtails for the lights and ended up with this. A few more wires/cables have been added, but you get the idea. I have separate relays for the big AMP items (Fuel pump/fan etc...) close to the source





Very nice and what I was planning on doing. I will keep the pigtails and run a new harness. I find that the factory harness has wires running all over the place. Jumping from one group of wires to another. By removing it all and starting from scratch makes for a neater set up. Also makes it nice to get everything from one place, relays, wires, fuse block. For someone that doesnt do a lot of wiring its nice to talk w/someone that does and discuss what you have, what your plans are and what results you want.

Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Adobedude] #1664881
08/31/14 12:40 PM
08/31/14 12:40 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Dragula Offline OP
I Live Here
Dragula  Offline OP
I Live Here

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11,852
Taxes & Virus's R-US, NY
Quote:

That's how mine was...A combination of stock and after market. I finally pulled out every wire from bumper to bumper, kept the pigtails for the lights and ended up with this. A few more wires/cables have been added, but you get the idea. I have separate relays for the big AMP items (Fuel pump/fan etc...) close to the source






Pretty much what I want to do....An entire system all in one spot, ignition, fuse box, relay's, circuit breakers, and Arc switch panel, aftermarket gauges, etc All with wire lables as I intend to purchase a labeler...What is the big power distribution block at the bottom lower left? I will need at least three I think. One for high power direct connection, a switched and one for all the grounds.


'70 Cuda,...605 Hemi Street Car (6.20 best pass, 1.33 60ft)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYw6RA-k5Bk (6.25 at 108.75mph from inside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zQEb9uxFng (6.25 at 108mph from outside car)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCvfzsC4NgM (9.9)

'66 Barracuda AWB Stretched nose Blown Hemi Car
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664882
08/31/14 03:39 PM
08/31/14 03:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,890
North Alabama
M
Monte_Smith Offline
master
Monte_Smith  Offline
master
M

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,890
North Alabama
I wire a lot of cars and I think you are way over thinking this deal. Wiring a car from scratch is actually pretty easy if you have an understanding of how things work, have some patience and mostly have a PLAN.

For relays and stuff, MANY companies have very nice relay centers already set up and you just terminate from there. I personally use the ones from "Leash" electronics. You can order with any mix of ground or hot relay outputs if desired. It is potted, fused and ready to go.

For a ground, you can do your own "floating" ground setup. Take a strip of fairly thick copper, about an inch wide and six inches long. Put several 3/8 and 5/16 holes in it. These will be your ground lugs. Now mount the strip to the chassis on rubber isolators. The ground cable comes from battery to strip and all items ground to strip. A "to the chassis" ground system is actually one of the poorest setups you can have, yet people continue to do it and wonder why they have wiring issues.

I wire most everything with the "floating" setup I described above, but especially on EFI cars, where clean grounds and RFI noise are big concerns

This is a dragster bulkhead I wired a couple years ago with a nice Painless relay and fuse center. We spread the stuff out over the bulkhead, that in case of an issue it would be easy to look at and diagnose

Monte

8256838-WarrenHeaps3.jpg (201 downloads)
Re: Need a Pro Street Wiring Harness for a Cuda.... [Re: Dragula] #1664883
08/31/14 04:06 PM
08/31/14 04:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 52,968
Romeo MI
MR_P_BODY Offline
Master
MR_P_BODY  Offline
Master

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 52,968
Romeo MI
Sure looks nice ... but WHY put all the relays there..
relays should be near the draw and run a small trigger wire

Page 1 of 2 1 2






Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1