Print Thread
Install problem with Ignitor III #1546881
12/12/13 05:50 PM
12/12/13 05:50 PM
Lavonia, GA
cjbill Offline OP
cjbill  Offline OP

Lavonia, GA
Helped a friend last night "try" to install an Ignitor III setup in his points distributor. I'm disappointed overall. The instructions were poor, stating to "use the original screws" to attach the Ignitor III plate to the distributor housing, but they were of different thread pitch. Now, there were screws included in the box, but no mention of using them if the originals didn't fit. I realize this isn't much of a big deal, but it is an installation inconsistency.

Next problem, which pretty much made it unusable, the arm of the vacuum advance is too long and interferes with the bottom Ignitor III plate. The Ignitor III plate can only install in one position due to the screw locations even after fiddling. I know I'm no master mechanic, but I just couldn't see a way to make it fit and work properly. I told him I was unhappy with the fitment and design of it, and suggested he return it to Summit.

It seems to be a really great idea, along the lines of their previous distributor upgrades, but at this point very poorly executed, at least for the B/RB Mopars. So, I can't recommend it, at least until some of these shortcomings are resolved. Maybe a conspiracy to get you to order their Billet Ignitor III distributors! Lol! Anybody else experience these issues? Install was on a Fury III 383 car.

Actually, I'm pretty glad I went with the Skip White distributor now, as I was having second thoughts about my decision.

ex-Ford guy, but Mopars nowadays
Re: Install problem with Ignitor III [Re: cjbill] #1546882
12/12/13 06:24 PM
12/12/13 06:24 PM
Baltimore/Denver
64Post Offline
master
64Post  Offline
master

Baltimore/Denver
What distributor?

Did you go directly to the Pertronix site and look for footnotes on compatibility?

Wrong part in box?

Re: Install problem with Ignitor III [Re: cjbill] #1546883
12/12/13 07:13 PM