07/15/11 03:05 PM
07/15/11 03:05 PM
n.e. pa.
65rbdodge Offline OP
master
65rbdodge  Offline OP
master

n.e. pa.
i`m in the middle of putting a 318/833 in my 47 desoto. it has an 88 dakota front clip which was originally a 4cyl. i`m using spool motor mounts and i widened the dakota mounting plates/ears/what ever you call them to accept the 318 spool mounts. it looks like the 318 would have dropped right into place if the ears were wide enough, but would have put the motor to far forward. am i correct in thinking i want the motor offset 1" towards the passengers side? do i want the bottom/sump of the oil pan to be level with front cross member? how many degrees do i want the motor to be tipped back? where on the motor do i set the degree gauge on to measure this? the perches are not welded on the rear yet but i think i want the same amount of degrees forward on the rear? this is my first time doing this, i`m a bit of a rookie!

Re: locating the motor? [Re: 65rbdodge] #1033009
07/16/11 08:59 AM
07/16/11 08:59 AM
Oregon
E
earlymopar Offline
pro stock
earlymopar  Offline
pro stock
E

Oregon
- I off set only if I need to for clearance issues.
- I locate the engine vertically as low as possible in the frame while still considering ground clearance.
- a 3 degree (back of the engine) downward tilt is correct. Most use the carburetor mounting flange on the intake manifold.
- the rear end actually tilts (yoke end) upward by the same 3 degrees.

- EM

Re: locating the motor? [Re: 65rbdodge] #1033010
07/16/11 03:50 PM
07/16/11 03:50 PM
Indiana
P
Pentastar440 Offline
mopar
Pentastar440  Offline
mopar
P

Indiana