Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#2436499 - 01/17/18 04:03 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
scratchnfotraction Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 05/29/03
Posts: 15013
Loc: Florida
I sure do miss moms 82 5th ave

Top
#2437122 - 01/18/18 06:43 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
5thAve Offline
master

Registered: 01/19/03
Posts: 2618
Loc: Posts: 4034 - Register...
Did you try changing the ECU? I always have one or two good ones around for situations like this. Ditto for coils. The only thing that can really go bad in the distributor is the pickup with that plug coming off it, whcih you can you replace.

It's not a very complicated system, I wouldn't bother changing to points. That's like throwing out the tv remote and getting up to change the channel because you don't want to change the batteries.

Top
#2437185 - 01/18/18 08:53 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
DarrenS Offline


Registered: 05/06/04
Posts: 565
Loc: Courtenay, B.C.
These intermittent firing problems can usually be traced back to a loose wire or bad ground...

I've had a bad ignition switch do it as well.

Top
#2438531 - Yesterday at 03:51 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: RapidRobert]
dfixer Offline
member

Registered: 01/02/18
Posts: 22
Loc: Texas
Dang! Well the Cardone dist came in; it had no cap, no rotor and no vacuum module and the counter kid said that was all they offered. However, an older gentleman at the counter next to me overheard the conversation, asked what I was trying to do and told the kid to look under Dodge trucks starting from '62. When he got to '77 there it was and they could have it for me by 3 PM that afternoon.

Today, to be sure nothing was out of place, I got out the breaker bar and inch and a quarter socket and got it to TDC before putting in the new dist. I set the pickup gap at .008. While waiting on the dist to come in, I also purchased a new starter relay and I put that in too today. All that said and done and I got the same result - cranks but will not start. I am right back where I started. I have never had this much trouble trying to get a car to start. I have it on the charger right now, since I have just about run the battery down.

Top
#2438560 - Yesterday at 04:43 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
RapidRobert Offline
Circle Track

Registered: 11/20/03
Posts: 33026
Loc: Lincoln Nebraska
the symptoms sure definitely point to the dist (not triggering the ECU) but I wonder if it IS the ECU (what 5th ave said).
_________________________
live every 24 hour block of time like it's your last day on earth

Top
#2438616 - Yesterday at 05:50 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: RapidRobert]
dfixer Offline
member

Registered: 01/02/18
Posts: 22
Loc: Texas
Well I did take some of your earlier advise and bought another ECU for the glovebox and this one is chrome, so I guess I could give it a try. I did have my helper try to start it while I drug the zigzag across the intake and that hasn't changed - it still tries to start.

I am beginning to second guess everything. Is it some of the old wiring, maybe something to do with the tilt steering, or the ignition switch, perhaps a new key and from there it's time to check the tire pressure. Oh well, all part of the fun of supporting an elderly car.

Top
#2438622 - Yesterday at 05:56 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
GMP440 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 02/25/03
Posts: 1300
Loc: Florida
This may have been addressed in an earlier post; have you checked the voltage going to the distributer? What is the voltage coming from ignition 1 and 2?


Edited by GMP440 (Yesterday at 05:57 PM)

Top
#2438628 - Yesterday at 06:11 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
GMP440 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 02/25/03
Posts: 1300
Loc: Florida
Just read this post:

dfixer
"So I put the dist. from the conversion kit back in and checked it with the zigzag connector drag test with the coil wire in the dist cap and it still tried to start and still gave me spark on the spark plug :"

If you're getting spark at the spark plugs, then you have ignition.
Is it possible that the engine was turned without the distributer in?
If that's what happened, then you're timing is way off and causing a no start condition. Make sure you're number one piston is at top dead center on compression stroke and rotor at the number one tower.

Top
#2438684 - Yesterday at 07:07 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: RapidRobert]
dfixer Offline
member

Registered: 01/02/18
Posts: 22
Loc: Texas
Well I think the word BINGO my be in order. I changed out the ECU and the 5th started up. I didn't run it long. I want to get everything back together and dressed out, but it ran long enough to make me feel we have found the problem. RR I think you probably hit on it early on when you said, ". . .it wouldn't be orange would it?" There is one thing, that pentastar connector doesn't want to go all the way down, the way it did on the orange ECU. The smaller end goes down but the larger end sits up some; feels like it is just barely on. I pushed pretty hard but it didn't want to go any farther down and I didn't want to over do it. Wondering if a new harness is in order and if that may have had something to do with it all along. At this point, the harness and ballast resistor are the only things left from that conversion kit.

Darkness and rain are overtaking me. Weather predictions look good for tomorrow, so hopefully my 5th and I will be on the road again before days end. I will let you know how it goes and thanks again to you all.

Top
#2438696 - Yesterday at 07:21 PM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
GMP440 Offline
pro stock

Registered: 02/25/03
Posts: 1300
Loc: Florida
Excellant. It's running. I would not change anything out. It's running. Sometimes it best to leave well enough alone. The plug will go in. You have to tighten the screw that goes into the plug. That's what holds the plug on.

Top
#2438923 - Today at 08:55 AM Re: '84 Chrysler 5th Avenue conversion from computer to ecu [Re: dfixer]
scratchnfotraction Offline
I Live Here

Registered: 05/29/03
Posts: 15013
Loc: Florida
add a extra ground wire to the ecu mounting bolt. it needs a good solid ground.

I do agree that running the points dist is going backwards in a way... but! when your on side of the road it is a sure fire way to get it to run back to the shop for more trouble shooting.

when you spend cash you don't have on stuff and have the hassle of tracking down crap from china and not mopar made in usa parts then to have it all NOT work is frustrating.

so I don't mind going backwards sometime if it will get me 2 steps forward in the long run. so 1 step back(points dist) and 1 step forward converting back to a more reliable elect. system(points conversion) 2nd step forward for the long run is longevity & reliability with first out lay of cash.

you can also buy the pertronix conversion to replace the leanburn system or the ecu style dist. or Mallory or firecore or MSD or ??? they all work fine too but cost $$.

I just suggest the points so it cranks/runs on the fist outlay of cash. this is way less frustration.

glad you got it going.

just file the info away for when the stock stuff crashes again as they always seem to do.

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Advertisement
Sponsored Link
Forum Stats
25,081 Registered Members
32 Forums
185,735 Topics
2,159,397 Posts

Most users ever online: 882 @ 03/05/17 10:15 PM
Moparts Newest Topics
3/8 vs 1/2 inch oil pickup. Do I even need 1/2?
by Charger446
01/22/18 10:50 AM
1969 Daytona wing Stabilzer bar
by 1964hemi
01/22/18 10:26 AM
WIW - 1971 Superbee hood
by Montclaire
01/22/18 10:05 AM
71 RR 440-6 R.I.P.
by jeff968
01/22/18 09:54 AM