Moparts

Low Friction Upper Control Arm Ball Joints, Opinions?

Posted By: moparAL

Low Friction Upper Control Arm Ball Joints, Opinions? - 01/18/18 04:49 AM

I am rebuilding my complete front suspension and came across this Afco 20034LF upper ball joints. They included a dust boot, did not require a preload adjustment, and low friction design. It specified circle track use. Could I use this for a street/autocoss application? Your thoughts?
Posted By: RylisPro

Re: Low Friction Upper Control Arm Ball Joints, Opinions? - 01/18/18 05:18 AM

I have never used any AFCO products before so I can't really comment. Where are they made? If they are good high quality parts I don't see a problem.

Personally I use Howe 22320 upper control arm ball joints

http://howeracing.com/index.php/precision-ball-joint-screw-in-upper-fits-k772.html
Pricey yes, but the quality is all there and buttery smooth.
Howe is the same company that builds the TA2 Challengers

Best of all Made in USA

Re: Low Friction Upper Control Arm Ball Joints, Opinions? - 01/18/18 05:53 AM

I have seen the Howe and QA-1 low friction ball joints (super cool)but they are really race pieces and require periodic preload adjustment and don't have dust boots.

Re: Low Friction Upper Control Arm Ball Joints, Opinions? - 01/18/18 07:44 PM

Admittingly I haven't even touched my ball joints as they have been on my car for 3 years since install haha! That's with two track days at Big Willow, two at Sonoma Raceway and one at Laguna Seca, with driving to and from each location and 3 years of street driving in between. So my Howe upper ball joints are probably all jacked up from all that mileage. I haven't adjusted or lubed them or anything as I have simply forgot about them until now haha!