Moparts

Subframe connectors, which way should we

Posted By: ZIPPY

Subframe connectors, which way should we - 07/30/03 06:28 PM

OK there are a couple different ways the subrame connectors can be done (with "realative ease") on the 69 B body/GTX in the sig pic.

We can go 2x2 and have Todd weld them to the subrames only, or 2x3 and run them to the floor where it drops down into the back seat footwell area. I have seen them done both ways, and either one looks good to me.

Which is the stronger of the two?

Does the 2x3+ welding to the floorpan add very much strength?

Gotta say I am not really worried about originality, even though it is a "real" GTX I want to do it as best I can. If that means cutting the floor, the sawzall is ready

On the other hand, if the extra 1" isn't going to add anything, why bother doing it that way?

Not being an engineer I have no idea which is better so please vote for your preference and feel free to post why you think it's better. Thanks.

Re: Subframe connectors, which way should we - 07/30/03 06:56 PM

For future roll bar installation, wouldn't the 2x3 coming through the floor be better?

That way the main hoop could run right through the frame connector, instead of sitting on a plate. Wouldn't it be stronger that way?

Help?
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Subframe connectors, which way should we - 07/30/03 07:01 PM

Hey Zip, I know mine is an ugly A body, but you can check them out Friday night. I bought them from Mancini, but don't remember the cost. Maybe you can get an idea anyway.

Re: Subframe connectors, which way should we - 07/30/03 07:07 PM

Zippy, the section modulus (SM) of 2 x 3 steel tubing will be 50% stronger than 2 x 2 providing the wall is the same thickness. The (RBM)resistant bending moment will be significantly improved with 2 x 3 as well. That deals with length x strength. Hope that helps.

Gene
Posted By: 65rbdodge

Re: Subframe connectors, which way should we - 07/30/03 07:09 PM