Moparts

383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo

Posted By: 61 NYer Convt

383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 12:27 AM

Ok guys. Im new to turbo stuff. I know how they work but thats about it. Do you think twin turbos could be used on a 383 with the sonoramic dual quad cross ram? I just bought a 61 New Yorker 2 door hardtop that I was thinking on doing this to. I really want to use the sonoramic intake and I really want twin turbos. any advice would be awesome.
Posted By: 72sat

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 02:47 AM

it can be done,but it will require alot of plumming.check this site for know how. http://www.theturboforums.com/smf/index.php
Posted By: furious70

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 03:28 PM

I don't know what the 61 front subframe looks like but it might not be that bad. You might be able to use the 62-65 B body rear dump logs flipped side to side to face forward, mount the turbos there, run the downpipe under all that, and run the cold side up and back to each carb. Would be cool looking for sure!
Posted By: Mr.Yuck

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 06:21 PM

you can make anything work, it's just how deep are your pockets
Posted By: NANKET

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 06:46 PM

It would look great, but the turbos would over ride the somoramic effect of the manifold, not really worth the trouble. There is enought plumbing on a factory set up before adding any turbo. The control arm mount is near the front exhaust ports so not much hope of backwards manifolds fitting.
Posted By: Mr.Yuck

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 07/28/11 07:15 PM

Quote:

It would look great, but the turbos would over ride the somoramic effect of the manifold, not really worth the trouble. There is enought plumbing on a factory set up before adding any turbo. The control arm mount is near the front exhaust ports so not much hope of backwards manifolds fitting.

what about rear mount turbos?
Posted By: jcc

Re: 383 Sonoramic Twin Turbo - 08/20/11 12:00 AM