Moparts

B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential

Posted By: moparniac

B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 12:01 AM

What does a fully set fo B1 originals flow... how much HP can I get out of them on pump gas 11.5 to compression.... mid 260's solid roller

Do they require special rockers / special headers and intake? is 500 cubes enough for the heads...

thx

thinking about next years setup already and want to plan ahead..
Posted By: LA360

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 12:36 AM

I'm not an expert, but have done some research for a friends engine.
They use their own specific rocker
They require a specific piston as the Valve position is different to standard BB Mopar.
B1 originals will over 400cfm when ported properly
Specific Header flanges and Intake has to be used. For RB block Intake Spacers are required
AL...
Posted By: Brian Hafliger

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 12:42 AM

Here's a link to a post I did last year.
https://board.moparts.org/ubbthreads/show...e=0&fpart=1

Brian
IMM Engine & Dyno
Posted By: Bob_Coomer

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 01:33 AM

Diff pistons,diff rockers,diff headers, diff intake, diff pushrods. You would be better off building a new motor from the get go for B1 Stuff..
Dont you want to try to maximize your current combo first? The secret to going fast isnt just throwing new parts at it, you probably know this by now..
Posted By: gregsdart

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 02:19 AM

If you have a well built shortblock, you can get very close to B1 performance with a set of fully ported 440-1 heads, and need only change the valve notchs (maybe need them larger) rather than change pistons. Headers would also be more likely to fit.
Posted By: CH3NO2

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 02:26 AM

Quote:

Brian
IMM Engine & Dyno

That is nice work Brian. Steve
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: B1 Head Flow Numbers / Potential - 05/25/09 02:53 AM

Quote: