Moparts

Clutch fan recommendation needed

Posted By: 6PAX

Clutch fan recommendation needed - 11/12/23 04:20 PM

I'm trying to choose a clutch fan for my 69 Dart and have several options available. Just got the engine in the car so it hasn't been driven yet. My engine is a 400/470 with 10.8 cr, Eddy heads, 727 and 3.73 gears. My radiator is a 3 core 22" factory radiator. I have a 195 degree thermostat installed. I have 3 fans with clutches to choose from. One is a factory 7 blade and clutch from a 67 GTX. The second is a factory 7 blade with aftermarket clutch (not sure of brand) from a 72 340 Duster and the third is the Mopar Performance 5 blade fan/clutch package. Which would you think would provide the best cooling?
Posted By: JohnRR

Re: Clutch fan recommendation needed - 11/13/23 04:53 PM

Originally Posted by 6PAX
I'm trying to choose a clutch fan for my 69 Dart and have several options available. Just got the engine in the car so it hasn't been driven yet. My engine is a 400/470 with 10.8 cr, Eddy heads, 727 and 3.73 gears. My radiator is a 3 core 22" factory radiator. I have a 195 degree thermostat installed. I have 3 fans with clutches to choose from. One is a factory 7 blade and clutch from a 67 GTX. The second is a factory 7 blade with aftermarket clutch (not sure of brand) from a 72 340 Duster and the third is the Mopar Performance 5 blade fan/clutch package. Which would you think would provide the best cooling?

Have you tried to put any of them in there? The spacer used with a fixed fan is only 5/8" thick on a BB A body , if your engine and radiator are in factory locations there is not a lot of room. I imagine the factory would have put in a clutch fan if there was room ?

Re: Clutch fan recommendation needed - 11/13/23 06:01 PM

I tried test fitting all of them and they all fit fine. Just trying to decide between the 5 blade and the 7 blade.
Posted By: rickraw

Re: Clutch fan recommendation needed - 11/13/23 07:00 PM