Moparts

1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop

Posted By: maximus

1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop - 01/23/19 08:15 PM

What would be need to convert a 68-69 Dart from a 2 door post car to a hardtop. I know the roof, windshield and side glass are different. Are the upper quarters different where they meet the roof line? Is the dutchman panel different? I read somewhere the doors are the same if you remove the post? Any input on this.
Posted By: tubtar

Re: 1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop - 01/23/19 10:07 PM

I am no expert , but I would guess that if you are not capable of doing the work yourself , it would be more cost effective to just track down a clean hard top.
Even one that needs work would likely be less hours and $$$.
Posted By: CMcAllister

Re: 1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop - 01/23/19 11:40 PM

After being involved in some restorations, I figured out that premium prices paid for relatively rust free sheetmetal and bodies that need less work is a good investment. Not getting any easier to find, at any price. I would think the project you are suggesting would be major and probably need donor parts from a hardtop car that could have been redone itself.

While on the subject of Darts, anyone ever use a 70 & up hardtop Dart shell, that needs quarters anyway, to build a '68/'69 Dart?
Posted By: maximus

Re: 1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop - 01/24/19 12:19 AM

Know for a fact at one time an original 68 Hemi Dart had the last foot cut off the quarters to weld on 70/71 quarter ends. This was done so he could run in the newer class back in the day. It was then switched back to the 68 rear during restoration. The car is shown today.
Posted By: polyspheric

Re: 1968 Dart conversion from sedan to hardtop - 01/24/19 04:15 AM

If you know anyone really good at this (adapting big panels from a similar car): he might try making a car that may be fictional (although I may have seen a really good fake):