Moparts

Roller or Flat Tappet

Posted By: ozymaxwedge

Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 06:34 AM

Hey guys,
Have shat a roller lifter in my 528 indy headed wedge, it's in a 95% street 5% strip Barracuda, 600 rwhp , 4500+ stall, 3.7 gears and 28" tire.
Now Im guessing the cam will be stuffed as well so was thinking maybe I just go for new solid flat tappet cam and lifters like my other engine.
The roller cam that's in there was originally for the strip with a small shot of N20, 285 290 112lsa and 727 lift.
Have to add a set of springs if I go new roller as they are on there way out but if I go for the flat tappet idea I have springs.
So with this info what do you think I should go for ?
Fell free to suggest cam specs if your keen.
cheers
Posted By: hemi-itis

Re: Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 06:49 AM

I have been using roller lifters in the street for 20 years. What failed with your lifter? How old was it? Have you lashed them regularly,,at least 4 times year? What spring pressure were you using?

Re: Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 07:02 AM

Have not pulled the top off yet, only a valve cover and there is a 1/2" of lash on #7 EX, push rod straight and adjuster is sweet.
I guessing the roller is gone ? Springs were 240lb and 630lb when new but think they are more like 200lb now. Yeah they are about 8 years old.
Posted By: Biginchmopar

Re: Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 07:31 AM

Roller cam, hydraulic roller

The flat tappet cams scare me, to many go flat.
Posted By: hemi-itis

Re: Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 07:46 AM

With rollers,when you lash and find one needs an adjustment make note.heck,if that lifter is loose Next time you check than you know the lifter is going away.Rebiuld ALL the lifters,not just the loose one!
Posted By: DaveRS23

Re: Roller or Flat Tappet - 02/19/18 04:44 PM