Moparts

Launch problems

Posted By: 68LAR

Launch problems - 07/17/16 04:44 PM

Bin fighting this all year. Only difference from last year is the flywheel. Last year and years before I had been running an aluminum wheel. Found it was warped over the past winter. Installed a steel wheel which is about 20# heavier. Now the car blows the tires off at launch. I've dropped my 2 step all the way down to 3K from 5K. I've dropped tire pressure down from 15 to 12 psi. I've loosened the rear shocks from 9 to 7. I can't get the car to plant or even control the amount of off line spin. I'm pretty confused at this time..

car weight with me in 3926#
slicks 29 12.50x15
gears 4.56
Rancho 9 ways out back
90/10 up front
Mopar SS springs

Any suggestion?
Posted By: humpty

Re: Launch problems - 07/17/16 05:56 PM

I'm no expert but I can see 20lbs of additional rotating mass at the flywheel driving the tires much harder at the initial hit exposing shortcomings in the suspension.

There is a lot of knowledge on this site so I'm sure you'll get lots of good info but the common thread is always get some video showing what's happening. I'm in the same boat and making progress thanks to this forum.

Take care.
Posted By: Cab_Burge

Re: Launch problems - 07/17/16 06:03 PM

How old are the tires and how many runs on them?
Posted By: sgcuda

Re: Launch problems - 07/17/16 06:43 PM

Yes. 20 pound increase is significant in a flywheel. Lots of extra inertia. You've already changed your shock settings and air pressure. It might be time for new tires, maybe a little wider, if you have the room. What clutch and trans are you running? Might need a little lighter clutch plate to allow some slip.

Re: Launch problems - 07/17/16 07:29 PM