Moparts

Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank?

Posted By: AndyF

Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank? - 11/25/15 09:38 PM

I know the Super Stock guys use that combo, just wondering if anyone on here is doing the same. I'm curious about rod bearing recommendations, etc.

I think I'll use a 4 inch stroke with the Honda journal size for the next stroker engine I build. Haven't decided on the rod yet, maybe aluminum.
Posted By: fourgearsavoy

Re: Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank? - 11/26/15 02:22 AM

Andy I've been building Honda and Toyota engines for over 30 years and if you get factory bearings you will need to know the exact size of the journal because they are select fit twocents

Gus beer
Posted By: sgcuda

Re: Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank? - 11/26/15 02:54 AM

I just purchased a set of big block aluminum rods from a member here with SBC journals and BBC wrist pin holes. Going to offset grind my Eagle crank for a little more stroke.

Re: Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank? - 11/26/15 03:30 AM

From what I can tell a lot of what people call "Honda journals" are actually using a Quad 4 type of rod bearing. Clevite sells a variety of bearings that fit the 2.015 rod big end with a 1.889 rod journal.

I looked around a bit and Crower, Oliver and Carrillo all sell rods with the 2.015 big end. Carrillo sells a Mopar big block as well as a Hemi rod with the 2.015 big end and a 0.927 wrist pin. The rods are listed as NHRA SS legal.
Posted By: biff426

Re: Anyone running Honda journal on Mopar BB crank? - 11/26/15 04:43 AM