Moparts

Wheelstands: What's it Feel Like?

Posted By: Kudakidd

Wheelstands: What's it Feel Like? - 01/24/09 03:11 PM

I've been racing since 1971, but never had a Mopar that went quicker than 12.73 at 108 mph. I've always fantasized what it would be like to feel the launch and see some blue sky. And what about the feel and force you experience in the seat? Any of you 'heavy hitters' wanna tell us weekend warriors what's it like?
Posted By: MR_P_BODY

Re: Wheelstands: What's it Feel Like? - 01/24/09 03:37 PM

No heavy hitter here. For the longest time I didnt
know that the front end even came up on my car. It
come up easy and sets back down easy. I still dont
know where I look when the front end is up in the
air but I THINK I watch the wall while its up just
to make sure it stays that same distance, thats
why I would like to mount a camera in the car so I
can see where my head is watching. G forces on my
car are pretty good but it doesnt hit me like my old
ladder bar set up did... that hurt every pass(like
someone hitting me in the chest with a open palm),
this 4-link is smooth. I always love it when I get
back to my pit spot and people stop by and comment
on the wheel stands
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Wheelstands: What's it Feel Like? - 01/24/09 03:49 PM

my 63 plymouth max wedge going 10.30 with a 1.41 60 foot hits harder and higher than my 65 dodge going 9.20 with a 1.28 60 foot.
my 65 plymouth a990 hemi belvedere runs 10.09 and 1.39-1.40 60 foot and lifts the wheels pretty good.
its a great feeling when your planted into the back of your seat.

Attached picture 4969804-4726287-65hemiBelvederePINKS.jpg
Posted By: bonefish

Re: Wheelstands: What's it Feel Like? - 01/24/09 03:50 PM

i dont do huge wheeleis ,i actually have to launch soft to keep them around 4 ft. ifeels awsome and is a lot of fun but my goal is to increase my 60ft and keep it close to the ground. www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiEOEmpLO1U
Posted By: RADAMX